Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Olive Quick Bread With Cumin and Oregano Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Olive Quick Bread With Cumin and Oregano

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2007

      I got around to maki8ng this today. It was easy to prepare andI didnt have a mess to clean up after, just 1 bowl. I have the same thing happen it didnt brown on the top .Maybe I didnt put enough oil on the top. All that being said It was very good and we polished the loaf at suppertime but kept 1 slice to take for lunch tomorrow. I will make it again for sure .Hubby was very impressed with mine but he didnt see what it should have looked like. brenda

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      I was very happy this recipe turned out as well as it did. Next time I will try fresh oregano from the garden (once it starts growing again.) Used a combination of kalamata olives and some Spanish olives stuffed with garlic and pimientos. A few posters mentioned the bread was "crumbly" but that is the nature of quick breads. Also, the type of flour used may require a little bit more liquid. I shaped the bread by lightly kneading on a floured surface, brushed with olive oil and added only a 1/2 cup of walnuts. I personally wouldn't omit the walnuts, they added a nice crunch to the bread. I will try baking the bread next time in a preheated cast iron skillet. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      I made this for KelBel's cookathon and so glad I found it. Such a delicious earthy bread, the seasonings go so well with the olives and walnuts. The perfect partner to pasta night. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      I have made this bread quite a few times, and I thought I had reviewed it. And I see I didn't. Well, I love this bread with chili. It is so good for dipping in the chili. I make it when my DDIL comes to town, because DH hates olives and won't even try it. So in the winter when she is here, we have Vegetarian Chili and this bread. It is kinda our thing. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      I thought this bread was very good, but definitely different than I expected - this was my first time making a savory quick bread, and I forgot how dense and crumbly quick breads can be compared to yeast breads! I followed the recipe almost exactly except I added even more walnuts (I wouldn't suggest omitting them either as other reviewers said, they provide wonderful crunch and flavor!), and the spices were perfect. Because of its dense texture it was a little heavier than I would have liked for an appetizer or side dish, but still tasted great. It didn't keep at all - we ended up throwing out what we didn't eat the next day as it became dry. Eating it warm definitely gives the best results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      Perfect bread! Smelling wonderful from the spices and the olives. I added some thinly sliced red bell pepper instead of the walnuts. Baked the bread in a 9x9 inch baking pan. It baked in exactly 40 minutes, nice golden crust, moist inside, no problem with crumbling. It cut beautiful in nice slices. Thanks so much for posting, this will surely be made again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      Mine didn't come out moist or lovely. I cooked it for the correct amount of time, but when I tried to cut into it the whole loaf just crumbled. I'm still trying to find out what went wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      This is Great! It's unique and tasty. The herbs are not to strong and the olives salty taste is perfect in this. I used almond stuffed green olives and they are simply perfect in this. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is because it wasn't baked in the 40 mins and in baking it till it was golden and done the outer crust became became dry and rather crumbly. The inside was moist and lovely though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Olive Quick Bread With Cumin and Oregano

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.7
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    27%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 30.7 mg
    10%
    Sodium 425.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites