8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Pretty good stuff. A few changes I made: used hazelnuts instead of walnuts (didn't have any) and spread in a cast iron skillet to bake instead of a loaf pan (it cooked faster that way). Sprinkled the top with some extra rosemary and a generous pinch of kosher salt. Good stuff on a cold spring day like today.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex May 17, 2003

Great recipe! Really quick to pull together and it's moist and tasty to boot :) I did alter it a little bit, more out of necessity than anything. I had no whole wheat flour, so I used all-purpose; I had no nuts, so I used a full cup of chopped black olives; since i had was adding extra olives, I double the rosemary. Next time, I might put in 2 tsp. instead of a 1/2 Tbsp. because it was still a tad too subtle (for me).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTL~cook January 28, 2009

This is a very flavourful quick bread. I too found that the olive oil (for me) was too much. We had it toasted this morning for breakfast. DH just loves it. So will be making again. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvcook'n December 08, 2008

We loved this bread. Quick, easy and tasty. I used 1/3 of a small can of drained black olives. I really liked that the recipe called for olive oil instead of butter. I served it with Ellie Kreiger Nutty Sweet Potato Soup and it was an excellent combo. Ellie is from the Food Network Channel.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen's Krazy Kitchen November 15, 2008

Used ripe black canned olives. Came out with a very strong olive oil taste. Other people said they enjoyed it, but it was too strong for me. If I made it again, I might try to cook with less olive oil or substitute half. Seems like a great base recipe maybe even substitue olives for jalepeno's/ red roasted peppers. (btw it went along well with spag. sauce)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shmmr27 February 21, 2005

i don't believe i have not reviewed this incredible, delicous bread. easy and olivey and we love it. i always use kalamata olives because i love the strong flavor. i make it at least once a week and it usually lasts through one meal. yyuumm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears December 15, 2004

Nice simple preparation and hearty flavor. I too used kalamata olives since the recipe didn't specify and this is what I had on hand. I found them to be a bit too overpowering and think I will use basic black olives on the next go 'round.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ December 14, 2004

Wow - this was soooooo good! My husband and I brought it to a potluck dinner. Six of us ate the entire loaf! We will definitely make this again as it was quick, easy, and delicious. The quality of the olives is important - we used kalamata olives.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teej April 08, 2004
Olive Quick Bread