11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nothing wrong with these... but nothing spectacular either. I used some of the best Greek EVOO available (it is phenomenal!), which is why I wanted to try them for Easter dinner. MEH. They were just okay. No reason not to make my regular ones with sour cream, chives, and bacon. Thanks, though... the whole reason I have been a member of Zaar all these years is to try new recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tia Mouse April 23, 2012

I followed the recipe as directed and was very pleased with the result - they were creamy and delicious. My hubby said he preferred my "regular" mashed potatoes. I thought these were nice for a different approach to mashed potatoes. Made for the Groovy GastroGnomes, Family Picks ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady June 08, 2009

Mixed reviews from the table tonight, three did and three didn't care for these. I think it was just the change of pace my guests weren't prepared for. These went very well with Chicken Barcelona With Food Processor. made for the Bodacious Brickhouse Babes, ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive May 20, 2009

These were delicious and easy to make! My family loved them and ate them up! The only problem I had was getting my potatoes to cook with the lid on so I just boiled them regularly. I used some olive oil with thyme leftover from another recipe which gave them some more flavor. Made for Dining Daredevils, ZWT5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomsawyer May 19, 2009

We served Braised Lamb Shanks With Mushrooms and Pasta over these potatoes yesterday. They were perfect for such a saucy dish. I did not even notice there was no cream and butter! We used red skin potatoes and a potato masher instead of a ricer. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny May 18, 2009

5 stars. These potatoes came out so smooth! They have a lovely mellow olive oil taste. For the salt I used sea salt. I mashed mine by hand and using a good quality virgin olive oil which is important for this recipe. I wanted them as is but I'm sure they would be very good with roasted garlic mashed/riced in. I served this with Chicken With Green Olives and a salad which made a wonderful meal. Thanks! Made for ZWT5 for Cooks With Dirty Faces.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat May 15, 2009

Great basic no-butter-no-milk recipe for "straight-man" potatoes that could be adapted easily by the addition of the herb of your choice and/or cheese and/or garlic. I would reduce oil to 1/4 cup. Made as Bonus Recipe for March 2009 Veg*n Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL March 27, 2009

Simply divine - and divinely simple! This will be my mashed potato recipe from now on - healthier than the heavy cream and butter recipes. I used a mixer and I added 4 cloves of garlic. SO Good. THANKS a bunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wickedgood@Maine January 24, 2009

Tried this recipe last night, everyone loved it. Used mixer instead of ricer, came out great. Did have to salt & pepper more. Thanx very much. Mags

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
russell761 November 08, 2008
Olive Oil Mashed Potatoes