9 Reviews

This leaves your hands VERY soft and smooth! So easy to put together too. I used liquid castile soap and added about an extra teaspoon for a little lather.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi April 10, 2003

I have used something very similar to this one....it is truly excellent for the sensitive skin. Olive oil can go rancid over a year of opening, so smell first before you use this. I put this in an lovely pump container that sits on my sink. I also have a pump at the kitchen sink as my hands are in water all the time....this helps re-hydrate them and leave them soft and smooth! Lovely product!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl September 15, 2009

Have been using this about a year,it is just wonderful.I used to by expensive cleansing creams...but no more.. they are not this good.I know, my face has less wrinkles,because of this lotion. I found that mixing it with my"Braun" works very well, it does not separate.and I put it in a pump bottle. I thank you so much...Sarafish

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dolores in paradise January 31, 2006

I like how soft my skin feels after using this this evening. I doubled the lavender castile soap I used as per other reviews but I don't think I will next time. I also used rose water instead of plain water. While my skin is usually dry, when using this in the summer sometimes my skin would seem oily. I have just made up some more but this time I used coconut oil instead of olive, since it's a lighter oil with many good properties for the skin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vyrianna June 04, 2010

I think this is a wonderful recipe! I use castile soap and double the amount. Also I use lavender water instead of plain water. This is a good gentle cleanser for any skin type.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jewelsf February 16, 2009

I want to try this -- but am confused on the "bath soap" - is this liquid bath soap or bar soap? Everything else I get -- and can find easily. And I like the idea of adding vitamin E.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AzureLynn January 29, 2009

I cannot rave about this stuff enough! I added quite a bit of soap to it, like 1/2 a cup (next time will use Dr. Bronner's castille but didn't want to wait til I got the store to make it!) so that I could use it for a body soap. I have an oily face but dry everywhere else and this has been awesome on my skin! I have even used it as a shaving lotion and it works wonderfully. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixieglenn November 27, 2006

I love this stuff! I used Dr. Bronner's unscented castile soap and substituted rose water for plain water. The result was a very pleasant smelling cleanser (roses are preferable to olives, scent-wise for cleansers, in my opinion). The scent was just enough to mask the olive oil smell. Like another reviewer, I also added a teaspoon or so more of the soap for a little more lather. This cleanser helps dissolve and lift off makeup and dirt, even concealer. It leaves my skin so moisturized and silky that I don't need a moisturizer. I've used it as a body cleanser in the shower and it's great for that also. Unlike a lot of recipes for skin care, this is shelf-stable enough that it doesn't have to be in the refrigerator and so travels easily and stores conveniently in the bathroom. Thanks so much for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
No MSG! August 09, 2006

I wonder how I missed this recipe for so long! This is great! I don't like the smell too much of the olive oil, though, but this did leave my skin very soft! I too used an extra tsp. of liquid soap. I used Palmolive's Almond Milk nourishing liquid hand soap. This was very easy to make too! Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani July 23, 2003
Olive Oil Facial Cleansing Lotion