Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Olive Garden Zuppa Toscana Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Olive Garden Zuppa Toscana Soup

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2011

      Best recipe of this soup ever. I am kind of a novice in the food cooking game but I have ventured in a lot of recipes over the last couple of months. I would have to say if you blindfolded me and put this recipe infront of me and not the actual Olive Garden kind I would have never even noticed the difference. I think next time I will rinse and strain the meat before adding it because I cooked my own sausage instead of using precooked meat. I also carmalized the onions and garlic with the meat and added some to the soup. I also precooked the potatos to a firm but cooked stage before adding the rest of the ingrediants. Very delectible with homemade cheesy breadsticks. I give it 5 stars....Keep the good recipes coming!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      After eating at Olive Garden, I went to the store and bought kale and Johnsonville Franks Mild Italian Sausage, knowing I had this recipe at home. I took the casing off of 3 sausage links and cooked it with the onions and bacon, draining when done. Instead of bouillon and water, I used 4 (14.5 oz.) cans of chicken broth. I also used half 'n half for the cream. I added all ingredients but the kale and cream in step 2 and simmered for over 30 min. I added the kale and simmered for 10 min. before adding the cream. The taste was ALMOST like Olive Garden's. It was only missing the spicy heat. Although it was definately delicious, I will use Hot Italian Sausage for sure next time. Thanks Sheri77 for letting me enjoy this soup at home! Update: The Johnsonville Hot Italian Sausages DID make it just like Olive Garden's. It's Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      We Loved Loved Loved this recipe... We were craving the OG soup but were short on cash.. I used 3 LARGE Potatoes.. 3 cups Kale and 5 Spicy Sausage links... ( Next time I will chop up the sausage a little more) also added more boullion than what was called for... it was soo hearty and delicious. No more wasting $10 per person anymore! This is going to be a staple in our home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      DELICIOUS!!! We love the Olive Garden version of this soup and this is definitely comparable. The hubby also loved it. This is something we will be making on a regular basis! Here's what we did different: we used Italian sausage along with crushed red pepper. (Bob Evans brand in the tube and just made about 3/4 of the tube) We also used the whole carton of heavy cream (so little was left at the end, we didn't want to waste it.) I also simmered it a little longer than 15 mins to make sure the potatoes were done and I added the kale a little early too so it would wilt more. I shared this recipe with my mom and she is going to make it tonight too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      All I have to say is.............I'm in heaven. This soup is amazing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Excellant! We use Jimmy Dean sausage instead of links & chicken soup base instead of bouillon (I always sub the soup base paste for anything that calls for bouillon -much better flavor). Love the recipe, Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Wonderful, this soup did not last long in my house, the only change I made was using turkey sausage. Simple and quick to make. Will make this again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      This is the definition of comfort food. My family raved and my husband said this is a keeper! Things I did differently: I used chicken soup base rather than bouillon. I did not have any heavy cream so I put in about 1/2 c. milk (that's all I had). I will probably make it without the milk or cream next time. I served it with home made corn bread with fresh ground corn meal. Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      My husband came home while I was in the middle of making this... smelling it from the door, he insisted on tasting and then refused to let me add the cream, declaring that it was perfect. We ended up having a creamless soup, but it was very tasty this way as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      i made this tonight and both wife and i loved it! it honestly tasted better than going to OG to get it! this is one i definately will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      Another great version of OG's soup! This one being quicker and easier! All I had on hand was ready made bacon, so I through in 2 because they are already partially cooked and therefore shrunk! I also used spinach because the store was out of kale, and loose sausage (Bob Evan's Italian), and 1/2 and 1/2. Even the kids loved this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      excellent! sorry it took me so long to write a review for it... the only thing i did different was use skim milk instead of heavy cream to cut back on calories!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      This receipe is EXCELLENT. My Wife did an excellent job and followed the receiped to the letter, as I watched her make it. It did taste better than the restaurant! When I do eat it at the restaurant now, I can now tell when it's off.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      DH made this for dinner tonight; it was very yummy! He made a few alterations: turkey bacon instead of pork, ground turkey seasoned with Italian herbs and crushed red pepper instead of the sausage, chicken broth instead of bouillion and water, and mustard greens instead of the kale. Also, he cooked the whole package of turkey, which was more than the recipe called for, so it was a lot chunkier than the original. It was delicious, and I'm sure we'll make this again (although maybe not too often, considering how rich it is!). Thanks for posting, sheri77!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      I was out of bacon, so I added a couple drops of liqiud smoke to give it the subtle smoky flavor the bacon would have given it. THIS IS AN OUTSTANDING RECIPE!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      This is absolutely delicious! I increased the number of potatoes to 4 and used the entire sausage (about 2 cups) to make the soup thicker for my husband's preferences. I also put the chopped kale into the pan with the sausage as it finished cooking to help the kale wilt down and absorb even more of those yummy flavors. Since I'd increased the amount of ingredients, I also put an entire cup of heavy cream in. WONDERFUL recipe and I'll be making it again and again! Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      I had to revise my comments here. This was the recipe that brought me to the Zaar and ,sheri77, for that I am forever thankful. I have now made this several times and I make it a bit different than the recipe calls for. My husband like his soup a bit hardier than this so I add 2 Large potatoes instead of medium. I use the entire pack of sausage (about double what the recipe calls for). I usually also use the Mild Italian Sausage links. I add a little more water/broth (To compensate for the extra meat and potatoes). And I use the entire container of heay cream (comes out to about 1 cup). Also, the directions simmer for 15 minutes but I always simmer for much longer (until the potatoes are actually done). And I also go longer on the 5 min simmer so the flavors can incorporate and the kale (Which is what I use) can wilt more. This is still an excellent recipe! The above changes just make it better for me. I also serve the soup with New York brand Garlic Bread sticks. (closest you can store buy to OG's Bread sticks) Thanks again for bringing me to the Zaar and a wonderful recipe to boot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      My kids love the Tuscana soup @ OG so I tried this today. Made a double batch, added 1 stick of butter (1/2 per batch) and about a cup more of water per batch. Sliced the potatoes instead of cubes.(that's how OG does it) It is rich but we actually like it better!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      This didn't taste the same as Olive Garden's Toscana Soup to us. Something just wasn't quite right. In my opinion there was too much sausage, so if I were to make it again I would cut down on the amount of sausage I use. It was a very rich and filling soup but just not quite what we were hoping for.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      Excellent recipe. I made this as one of our Christmas Eve soups and it was loved by all. I used Kale for the greens and more of them. So good. Thank you for sharing the recipe for one of my favorites from O.G.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Olive Garden Zuppa Toscana Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (318 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 258.7
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    61%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 62.5 mg
    20%
    Sodium 76.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    link sausage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites