94 Reviews

The flavor of this soup was along the lines of Zuppa Toscana from Olive Garden. The only reason I gave it four instead of five stars is because the ratio of sausage to soup seemed different from the Olive Garden kind. If you are a meat lover the soup seemed a little heavy on the sausage so that wouldn't be a problem. I just prefer a little less meat and more broth. It was still quite good though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chief cook and bottlewasher February 11, 2009

I love this soup!!! My co-worker and I go crazy over the Olive Gardens Zuppa Toscana and eat it regularly. This soup is truely a winner! I am even eating it the next day for lunch as I write this review...tastes great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xatannerx December 16, 2008

As is, this recipe does not match olive gardens, but it's a good start. I added a TBS or so of seasoning salt, some sea salt, ground black pepper, butter, and red pepper flakes. Then I stirred in some grated Parmesan and Romano cheese and also sprinkled some on top. With those additions, I would say it's a near perfect match to Olive Garden's recipe. Oh, also, I left out the bacon. I can't really recall bacon being in the actual Olive Garden Soup. So instead I sauteed the onions in sesame oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staceykosha November 25, 2008

Great Soup! Used chicken stock instead of h2o and base and milk instead of cream. Will make again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lifestorybooks November 21, 2008

I loved this, tasted so close to the real thing. I do leave out the kale cuz I don't like it. The only thing I didn't like was the bacon in it. I love bacon but it made it a little too greasy for my taste. Will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chels1411 November 11, 2008

I love Olive Garden Zuppa Toscana - and I love to make soup - so I had to try this. I sort of tweaked this in combo with another recipe - but it is great!! I used chicken Italian sausage and half and half instead of heavy cream - I also doubled this. Left out the bacon - couldn't justify a recipe with sausage and bacon. Very tasty - better than OG in my opinion!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixiesmom October 27, 2008

I wish there was a way to rate this a 10 star! IMHO this was superior to my favorite Olive Garden soup. I followed the recipe exactly with only additional potatoes, chicken bullion/water, and cream. I was going to make some crusty garlic bread with this, but after one taste, decided to skip the bread and just fill up on the soup. FANTASTIC!!! It will be a weekly meal in my house. Thank you, Leslie O.!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pena.denise October 23, 2008

My BF and I love soup, and this one from OG is excellent! Warms you inside while giving off lots of great flavors from the mix of ingredients. I love that it has kale in it, that is so good for you. I added extra for more nutrition. Great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LouLouIzSpoiled October 07, 2008

So easy to make and so good!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kal's Mommy October 06, 2008
Olive Garden Zuppa Toscana