91 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this but it was really salty - and I love salt...I'm going to wait to rate it until I make it again and am sure it's not my error.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz December 03, 2009

Great! Used turkey Italian sausage and homemade chicken stock intstead of water and base. This was better than Olive Garden.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
909692 October 11, 2009

My entire family loves this recipe. Thank you. I did make a few changes. Used fat free cream instead of heavy cream. Chicken stock instead of the chicken base. I added 1 cup of frozen corn, 2 cup of fresh sliced mushrroms. I never have leftovers .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haskell.catherine July 29, 2009

I love this soup and recipe. Ours turned out very salty so I think I will cut back on the chicken base a bit next time. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Beauchamp July 19, 2009

I have used this exact recipe for years, it is the best. I noticed another posters comment on looking like salad/casserole. Upon first glance it is rather full looking. However, as with any soup once it simmers all your veggies shrink and add more broth to your soup, so do not sway from the recipe to quickly, it is wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Uniqleeme May 28, 2009

The concept is great, but the ingredient amounts need some adjustments. When i put this all together per the measurements I had what resembled a cross between a salad and a casserole. I pulled out about half of the kale, added 2 cups of chicken broth, 1/2 c cream, 1 T garlic powder & 1 T Italian seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OneBusyMomma April 18, 2009

The flavor of this soup was along the lines of Zuppa Toscana from Olive Garden. The only reason I gave it four instead of five stars is because the ratio of sausage to soup seemed different from the Olive Garden kind. If you are a meat lover the soup seemed a little heavy on the sausage so that wouldn't be a problem. I just prefer a little less meat and more broth. It was still quite good though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chief cook and bottlewasher February 11, 2009

I love this soup!!! My co-worker and I go crazy over the Olive Gardens Zuppa Toscana and eat it regularly. This soup is truely a winner! I am even eating it the next day for lunch as I write this review...tastes great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xatannerx December 16, 2008

As is, this recipe does not match olive gardens, but it's a good start. I added a TBS or so of seasoning salt, some sea salt, ground black pepper, butter, and red pepper flakes. Then I stirred in some grated Parmesan and Romano cheese and also sprinkled some on top. With those additions, I would say it's a near perfect match to Olive Garden's recipe. Oh, also, I left out the bacon. I can't really recall bacon being in the actual Olive Garden Soup. So instead I sauteed the onions in sesame oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staceykosha November 25, 2008
Olive Garden Zuppa Toscana