161 Reviews

This is a wonderful soup!! All who tried it raved. I made exactly as the recipe was written with one exception, I used fat free half and half. It turned out wonderful. Thank you Anne for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu January 24, 2013

Delicious! I was very happy and impressed with my olive garden imitation. I think it tasted just as good as OG's and my boyfriend said it tasted just like it.. YAY! I used half and half, and added it after the gnocchi boiled for its first 4 minutes at the simmering point and let it simmer for 15 minutes til it thickened up. Didn't have a problem with separation. I also used 1 whole carrot and 1/2 a medium-large onion. It was so good, and it really warmed us up even though we are in spring and it's warm enough outside lol. I couldn't wait til winter to make this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thirdsplease January 11, 2013

This recipe is delicious and everything I hoped it would be. I am more of a broth person, so I actually only put in one chicken breast and 8oz mini gnocchi; but kept the portions of everything else the same. I didn't need the cornstarch because I used heavy whipping cream instead of the half-and-half. I added the cream at the very end before serving... I took a whisk and stirred while I slowly poured the cream in. No separation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lkl7255 December 29, 2012

This is such a delicious soup recipe. We loved it. None of us have had it from OG so we can't compare, but we don't need to delicious! I especially loved the spinach in this. I couldn't find potato gnocchi so I just used dried gnocchi (barilla brand) and it was still good. I think I will take the advice of another reviewer and add the gnocchi first and then add the cream. Thank you so much for this GREAT soup recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 19, 2012

I personally choose pasta fagioi from OG, but my daughter LOVES the chicken & gnocchi soup, so thought I would try it. Per some suggestions, i only used (2) chicken breasts and that was plenty. Before serving to my family, i felt it was missing something, a spice. My husband insisted i try poulty seasoning, but i found adding more salt /pepper worked. ( i had used unsalted broth).
Now my daughter & her boyfriends comments, were this is a very hearty soup, OG is less veges/meat/gnocchi and more broth. So, on that note she preferred it over OG. In fact so much that she took the whole pot home and left us with enough to fill (2) bowls.

My only suggestion to others is, season alot more and definatly add the creams after the gnocchi.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mom Tracy November 15, 2012

We really liked this soup! I can't compare to OG because I've never had it but this was a real nice hearty dinner soup. Served with some dinner rolls this makes a great weeknight dinner. I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for the great recipe Anne G........

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender October 28, 2012

I made this for my family today and they loved it! The gnocchi make this soup so filling! It's perfect for a sunday dinner. I did make this in my crockpot. 15 minutes before I was going to serve the soup I turned my crockpot on high and added the gnocchi, spinach, and 1/2 & 1/2.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakingmom13 October 21, 2012

As suggested in other reviews, I cooked the gnocchi until light and fluffy. Sauteed the vegetables, along some diced, thin slices of red and green pepper in a dab of butter and a couple splashes of olive oil. Substituted shredded bacon-crusted turkey breast deli slices for the diced chicken. Despite using only skim milk to cut calories, the soup was delicious. I also thought this soup is as good or better than OG's. Thanks for posting this recipe Anne.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stir crazy October 19, 2012

Very good recipe. I was surprised at how well it turned out and how similar it was to Olive Garden's Chicken Gnocchi Soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wondringsoul October 04, 2012
Olive Garden Style Chicken and Gnocchi Soup