158 Reviews

This is such a delicious soup recipe. We loved it. None of us have had it from OG so we can't compare, but we don't need to delicious! I especially loved the spinach in this. I couldn't find potato gnocchi so I just used dried gnocchi (barilla brand) and it was still good. I think I will take the advice of another reviewer and add the gnocchi first and then add the cream. Thank you so much for this GREAT soup recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 19, 2012

I personally choose pasta fagioi from OG, but my daughter LOVES the chicken & gnocchi soup, so thought I would try it. Per some suggestions, i only used (2) chicken breasts and that was plenty. Before serving to my family, i felt it was missing something, a spice. My husband insisted i try poulty seasoning, but i found adding more salt /pepper worked. ( i had used unsalted broth).
Now my daughter & her boyfriends comments, were this is a very hearty soup, OG is less veges/meat/gnocchi and more broth. So, on that note she preferred it over OG. In fact so much that she took the whole pot home and left us with enough to fill (2) bowls.

My only suggestion to others is, season alot more and definatly add the creams after the gnocchi.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mom Tracy November 15, 2012

We really liked this soup! I can't compare to OG because I've never had it but this was a real nice hearty dinner soup. Served with some dinner rolls this makes a great weeknight dinner. I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for the great recipe Anne G........

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender October 28, 2012

I made this for my family today and they loved it! The gnocchi make this soup so filling! It's perfect for a sunday dinner. I did make this in my crockpot. 15 minutes before I was going to serve the soup I turned my crockpot on high and added the gnocchi, spinach, and 1/2 & 1/2.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakingmom13 October 21, 2012

As suggested in other reviews, I cooked the gnocchi until light and fluffy. Sauteed the vegetables, along some diced, thin slices of red and green pepper in a dab of butter and a couple splashes of olive oil. Substituted shredded bacon-crusted turkey breast deli slices for the diced chicken. Despite using only skim milk to cut calories, the soup was delicious. I also thought this soup is as good or better than OG's. Thanks for posting this recipe Anne.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stir crazy October 19, 2012

Very good recipe. I was surprised at how well it turned out and how similar it was to Olive Garden's Chicken Gnocchi Soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wondringsoul October 04, 2012

This was pretty good, however I think the flavors would marry better if they were in a crock pot. Very easy to make and makes a ton of soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deejer12 September 12, 2012

I made this almost exactly as written, except i had to cook my chicken first since i didnt have any already done. I cooked it in a teaspoon of poultry seasoning, a teasp of garlic powder and some pepper and water to cover which i then used as my stock. Everything else was as written and very very delicious. It took me a little time since i had to cook the chicken first but boy was it worth it and i was so proud at how it turned out almost exactly like olive gardens! hubby and son loved it too! thanks for a keeper anne!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KISS THE COOK April 29, 2012

This soup tastes amazing! I didn't have fresh spinch so I steamed some frozen spinch and stirred it into the soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oceansdust March 16, 2012
Olive Garden Style Chicken and Gnocchi Soup