158 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really, really good. I used 5 boneless, skinless chicken thighs and half milk, half cream but otherwise made it as the recipe states, adding the milk/cream after the gnocchi was cooked. Our family of four ate the whole pot and the teenagers asked me to make more next time! Printed out and in my "use often" cookbook. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoodGrubCook April 10, 2014

This is delicious - our new favorite soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue February 05, 2014

Awesome! Add the cream after the gnocchi is cooked (if you boil the cream when the recipe says it will separate) I used a non fat cream. Made with fresh warm biscuits on the side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teriffic January 24, 2014

This was okay. Not horrible but certainly not great. My husband orders the Chicken and Gnocchi soup nearly every time he goes to Olive Garden and he wasn't impressed by it. I've never had it and simply wasn't impressed. We won't be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
insulin resistant carb addict January 22, 2014

It has been a while since I last had this at O.G. but this flavor tasted wicked close to what I remember at the restaurant. Only differences I can really note are similar to what others have said; it's very hearty, more chicken than what is in O.G. I also don't remember O.G. having the carrots and celery? This was very easy to do and well worth it. I did as others suggested and used 1.5 cups half & half and .5 cups heavy cream, I also added 2 large dollops of sour cream, I used store bought chicken stock, store bought vacuum sealed gnocchi and 2 freshly baked chicken breast. I also used about 1/2 the thyme and boiled the gnocchi in the stock before I added the cream. Didn't do that till the end where it says to turn it down to simmer for 10 min. I did not need to use any cornstarch, it was perfect in thickness. I will definitely make this again. Changes I might make in the future (though I may not even bother), maybe use a little less celery and carrot. (I used a rather large stalk of celery.) And I bet you could get away with a little more stock. It was plenty creamy and my feelings wouldn't be hurt to have a little more broth to chunk ratio. If I do that I may need the cornstarch at the end. 2.5 ladles full filled my husband up and I had 2. Made a little garlic bread and I don't think I'm going to need to eat till tomorrow. Excellent & easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sowy1 January 18, 2014

This is my favorite soup of all time. It's super easy to vegetarianize too. I didn't add the half and half until the very end so it didn't separate. I've used both frozen and fresh spinach, both work great. 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danakscully64 December 14, 2013

Perfect for a quick and delicious meal, I also add fat free half and half toward end and I use an Italian Herb grinder to add a little extra. I am so happy I discovered this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn November 12, 2013

Excellent. I added mushrooms because I had some that needed to be used. I cooked the gnocchi in the chicken broth after sauteing the celery, carrot and onion. After the gnocchi were cooked I added the cornstarch to thicken it... and added the half and half at the very end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge October 25, 2013

Good recipe. My husband loves it. I did add some onion powder and another clove of garlic. Very filling. I had mine with a salad. My husband had a hoagie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeSha S. October 24, 2013
Olive Garden Style Chicken and Gnocchi Soup