161 Reviews

Very good soup. Deducted a star because I followed recipe as written and my cream separated. My soup had gritty texture and looked unappetizing. Flavor was there so I will make this again, but will add cream after the gnocchi is cooked and heat is reduced.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pasharain November 24, 2014

This was a very tasty soup that my family really enjoyed. We made just a couple of changes (more because it was what we had on hand) we used skim milk instead of the half and half, added more onion, carrot, and celery, and added the milk toward the end of the process instead of at the beginning. We also made homemade gnocchi. My family has requested that this soup go into the menu rotation and doubled (so my son can eat it for breakfast). ;) Thank you for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dayla October 18, 2014

I love Olive Garden's soup and my family loves this recipe. A few people have said it tastes like it is missing something. I don't think it is missing anything but it would be even better after sitting overnight to let the flavors blend. I use chicken thighs instead of breasts and I think that is closer to the original.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie V. October 14, 2014

I followed the recipe exactly and I thought it tasted exactly like the OG version. It's a definite keeper. My family finished it to the very last drop.<br/>The only possible change would be to cook the gnocchi a little bit beforehand. I added the cornstarch and to me I think the texture was perfect. I can't imagine not having that extra thickening in it. So I recommend you add that rather than leave it as optional.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsLuTu May 02, 2014

i like the soup but i dont like Gnocchi. As a suggestion i use the packaged miniature ravioli which tastes great in this soup.instead of the Gnocchi.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pogobuff_12144744 March 23, 2014

This was very good. I did leave out the spinach.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita Seals February 15, 2013

This was awesome! I made one major change which was to sub peas for the spinach only because I didn't have any. I did what other people said and added the cream at the end and I felt mine only need one cup instead of 2.. Also did not need the cornstarch as it thickened up nicely on it's own

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee January 24, 2013

I made this today and it was delicious. I did follow the suggestions made by a previous reviewer. I added the gnocchi before the cream and also did 1.5c of fat free half & half and .5c of cream. It turned out sooooo wonderful. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you for the great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslieslove4cookin January 03, 2013

I've never had gnocchi before or gnocchi soup and this is now my favorite soup. I used extra carrots and celery. I had some leftover corn and mushrooms, so threw those in. Didn't have fresh spinach, so used a box of frozen. Really delicious. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbrnr January 10, 2016

This was a very good soup. I had never bought, prepared, nor tasted gnocchi. I ran across a package and decided to go for it using this recipe. I took advice from the reviewers to add the cream last and I had no problem with separation. I had to use a Mexican cream and thickening was not an issue. And only half the amount was sufficient. Husband gave the dish 4.5 stars...and it's very rare he likes new dishes. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisea916 December 11, 2015
Olive Garden Style Chicken and Gnocchi Soup