Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Olive Garden Style Chicken and Gnocchi Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Olive Garden Style Chicken and Gnocchi Soup

    Average Rating:

    153 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 153

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2014

      It has been a while since I last had this at O.G. but this flavor tasted wicked close to what I remember at the restaurant. Only differences I can really note are similar to what others have said; it's very hearty, more chicken than what is in O.G. I also don't remember O.G. having the carrots and celery? This was very easy to do and well worth it. I did as others suggested and used 1.5 cups half & half and .5 cups heavy cream, I also added 2 large dollops of sour cream, I used store bought chicken stock, store bought vacuum sealed gnocchi and 2 freshly baked chicken breast. I also used about 1/2 the thyme and boiled the gnocchi in the stock before I added the cream. Didn't do that till the end where it says to turn it down to simmer for 10 min. I did not need to use any cornstarch, it was perfect in thickness. I will definitely make this again. Changes I might make in the future (though I may not even bother), maybe use a little less celery and carrot. (I used a rather large stalk of celery.) And I bet you could get away with a little more stock. It was plenty creamy and my feelings wouldn't be hurt to have a little more broth to chunk ratio. If I do that I may need the cornstarch at the end. 2.5 ladles full filled my husband up and I had 2. Made a little garlic bread and I don't think I'm going to need to eat till tomorrow. Excellent & easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      This is my favorite soup of all time. It's super easy to vegetarianize too. I didn't add the half and half until the very end so it didn't separate. I've used both frozen and fresh spinach, both work great. 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      Perfect for a quick and delicious meal, I also add fat free half and half toward end and I use an Italian Herb grinder to add a little extra. I am so happy I discovered this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2013

      Excellent. I added mushrooms because I had some that needed to be used. I cooked the gnocchi in the chicken broth after sauteing the celery, carrot and onion. After the gnocchi were cooked I added the cornstarch to thicken it... and added the half and half at the very end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      Good recipe. My husband loves it. I did add some onion powder and another clove of garlic. Very filling. I had mine with a salad. My husband had a hoagie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      This recipe was a success! I made my own potato gnocchi, tripled the recipe (I love sharing with family and friends) and because of the reviews added the cream last, careful to not reach a full boil so that the cream doesn't separate. Even picky eaters in my family love this, until I accidentally added too much pepper. I wish I hadn't done that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      I tried this using potato gnocchi from Aldi. The gnocchi was very heavy, not soft and fluffy like OG's. Theirs are little pillows of deliciousness. Next time I make itty bitty dumplings and it was AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2013

    • on May 19, 2013

      Ummmm....WOW! I was skeptical when I read the title, because I love The Olive Garden's chicken gnocchi soup. But this recipe is SO much better that the O.G. version! My family and I couldn't get enough. This recipe is easy to follow and sure to please even the pickiest eater. You won't be dissappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      This will become a family staple, It is a little different then Olives Gardens but a great soup and quite similar. I added the 1/2 and 1/2 with the Gnocchi and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      I made this tonight using homemade gnocchi (Homemade Gnocchi) and served it in homemade bread bowls. It was a huge hit. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      YUMMY!!! I made just as directed with one small change.... I used evaporated skim milk instead of the half and half and it was DELICIOUS!! Even my kids liked it alot!! Thanks for a yummy AND EASY recipe, not to mention quick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      This is a wonderful soup!! All who tried it raved. I made exactly as the recipe was written with one exception, I used fat free half and half. It turned out wonderful. Thank you Anne for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      Delicious! I was very happy and impressed with my olive garden imitation. I think it tasted just as good as OG's and my boyfriend said it tasted just like it.. YAY! I used half and half, and added it after the gnocchi boiled for its first 4 minutes at the simmering point and let it simmer for 15 minutes til it thickened up. Didn't have a problem with separation. I also used 1 whole carrot and 1/2 a medium-large onion. It was so good, and it really warmed us up even though we are in spring and it's warm enough outside lol. I couldn't wait til winter to make this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      This recipe is delicious and everything I hoped it would be. I am more of a broth person, so I actually only put in one chicken breast and 8oz mini gnocchi; but kept the portions of everything else the same. I didn't need the cornstarch because I used heavy whipping cream instead of the half-and-half. I added the cream at the very end before serving... I took a whisk and stirred while I slowly poured the cream in. No separation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      This is such a delicious soup recipe. We loved it. None of us have had it from OG so we can't compare, but we don't need to delicious! I especially loved the spinach in this. I couldn't find potato gnocchi so I just used dried gnocchi (barilla brand) and it was still good. I think I will take the advice of another reviewer and add the gnocchi first and then add the cream. Thank you so much for this GREAT soup recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      I personally choose pasta fagioi from OG, but my daughter LOVES the chicken & gnocchi soup, so thought I would try it. Per some suggestions, i only used (2) chicken breasts and that was plenty. Before serving to my family, i felt it was missing something, a spice. My husband insisted i try poulty seasoning, but i found adding more salt /pepper worked. ( i had used unsalted broth).
      Now my daughter & her boyfriends comments, were this is a very hearty soup, OG is less veges/meat/gnocchi and more broth. So, on that note she preferred it over OG. In fact so much that she took the whole pot home and left us with enough to fill (2) bowls.

      My only suggestion to others is, season alot more and definatly add the creams after the gnocchi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      We really liked this soup! I can't compare to OG because I've never had it but this was a real nice hearty dinner soup. Served with some dinner rolls this makes a great weeknight dinner. I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for the great recipe Anne G........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      I made this for my family today and they loved it! The gnocchi make this soup so filling! It's perfect for a sunday dinner. I did make this in my crockpot. 15 minutes before I was going to serve the soup I turned my crockpot on high and added the gnocchi, spinach, and 1/2 & 1/2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      As suggested in other reviews, I cooked the gnocchi until light and fluffy. Sauteed the vegetables, along some diced, thin slices of red and green pepper in a dab of butter and a couple splashes of olive oil. Substituted shredded bacon-crusted turkey breast deli slices for the diced chicken. Despite using only skim milk to cut calories, the soup was delicious. I also thought this soup is as good or better than OG's. Thanks for posting this recipe Anne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Olive Garden Style Chicken and Gnocchi Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 236.8
     
    Calories from Fat 136
    57%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 60.7 mg
    20%
    Sodium 240.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    potato gnocchi


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes