156 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was awesome! I made one major change which was to sub peas for the spinach only because I didn't have any. I did what other people said and added the cream at the end and I felt mine only need one cup instead of 2.. Also did not need the cornstarch as it thickened up nicely on it's own

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee January 24, 2013

I made this today and it was delicious. I did follow the suggestions made by a previous reviewer. I added the gnocchi before the cream and also did 1.5c of fat free half & half and .5c of cream. It turned out sooooo wonderful. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you for the great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslieslove4cookin January 03, 2013

Just made this and it was delicious! Only difference I made was used 3 cups of 1/2 and 1/2 and 3 cups of chicken stock to make it a little more creamier. Also added some fresh grated Locatelli cheese on top to add some salt to the flavor. Would definitely recommend trying. Very easy to make...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EdwardLeto November 15, 2012

Just as good as Olive Garden! I made my soup with whole milk instead of half-and-half and frozen spinach instead of fresh. Now if I can just figure out the salad dressing... Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover March 01, 2010

This soup is DELICIOUS! Not exactly the same as OG, but since the closest OG is 100 miles away, it's definitely an acceptable substitute! I left out the celery since my hubby hates it, and used half a package of frozen spinach instead of fresh. At first I thought it was a bit heavy on the thyme, but I let it sit for a few minutes prior to serving, and the flavors melded perfectly. We sprinkled a bit of parmesan on the top of each bowl also. Even most of the kids loved this one, and they're hard to please! Great recipe, thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryMomof6 January 27, 2010

I basically made it the same way. Only I took the Chicken out after cooking it and added 1/2 the Half and Half and Chicken Stock and put that in a blender with 2 tbsp of Cornstarch and pureed it. I just went to OG and there were no diced veggies in the soup. I added this to the chicken and poured the remaining 1/2 and 1/2 and chicken stock in and then the Spinach and Gnocchi. It tastes WONDERFUL and the Kitchen smells just the same. Not a big time, Thyme person, would either omit or a few specks, not a tsp. Very good recipe and tastes very good and like OG.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matthew Schorfheide February 24, 2009

Followed the recipe exactly except used the suggestion of heavy cream instead of half and half - hoping I wouldn't have to mess with the starch. Still felt it needed the starch though. It came out delicious!!! I was so proud of myself. I used 3 chicken breasts but think I would cut it down to only 2 next time. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HatesTooCook February 01, 2009

Good soup! I used whole milk and frozen spinach, since that was what I had on hand. I also used an extra clove of garlic. I didn't add the corn starch. I think next time I will try it with the half and half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue M. January 09, 2015

This soup is so delicious!!!!! Was a huge hit the first time I made it and everyone says it's better than Olive Garden! It will definitely be a regular request in my family! I followed the recipe with only a few exceptions only based on what I had (like canned chicken instead of cutting up chicken). It came out perfectly without twewking anything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmbecker08 December 31, 2014

very good, and exactly like the olive garden recipe! i did home made gnocchi b/c they are much softer! thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherilyn Hanson December 28, 2014
Olive Garden Style Chicken and Gnocchi Soup