158 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This taste just like Olive Garden's soup but, BETTER!
Everyone enjoyed this at my house. I did double up on the veggies, along with my homemade gnocchi. So good on a cold day. Thanks for a great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetp December 18, 2010

I made this recipe for a covered dish dinner at my house. Normally we go to the Olive Garden, but we all have finance problems these days so we're saving money. This recipe was so close to the real thing that one of the boys thought I went and bought bowls of soup! I'll be making this again for sure :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather_mae October 22, 2010

I just tried making this tonight and my family says it's a HIT! Daughter said it was exactly like the restaurant. This is a keeper! I had all of the prep done before and it was a snap to put together. Might try to figure out how to do in a crockpot someday, but still an easy recipe to pull off.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mella7 September 04, 2010

Loved this recipe!!! Followed the recipe exactly. Everyone gobbled it up and is begging for more. It's July, so I'm going to have to wait until the weather cools, but you can bet this will be our "go to" soup all autumn and winter long. Thanks for posting!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allyjo210 July 16, 2010

I've made this twice now and its awesome each time. I reserve the cream until its just about done to keep it from getting funky but otherwise followed the recipe. Even my 10 month old was demanding his share as I finished making it. Will remake again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*Sarah*~ September 28, 2013

Just made this and it was delicious! Only difference I made was used 3 cups of 1/2 and 1/2 and 3 cups of chicken stock to make it a little more creamier. Also added some fresh grated Locatelli cheese on top to add some salt to the flavor. Would definitely recommend trying. Very easy to make...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EdwardLeto November 15, 2012

This turned out great!! I added a bit more veggies and used matchstick style carrots instead of shredded. Used the frozen gnocchi, which next time I will use my daughter's homemade gnocchi. Might have to double the batch!! Everyone loved it!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommersr March 05, 2011

Y-U-C-K. I followed this recipe EXACTLY and it tasted nothing like the Olive Garden's. I followed the cooking instructions exactly and made no substitutions. I didn't use corn starch because mine was already thick. There was TOO MUCH chicken! At the Olive Garden, it's a light creamy broth with soft gnocci dumplings and a few bites of chicken. This was more like chicken and dumplings consistency. When I first tasted it, I noticed that it was missing something. I added more pepper and thyme. Still missing something, I added some garlic powder (Olive Garden's has a very garlicky taste). Nothing I added helped. Neither the flavor nor texture were there. I will not make this again and I do not recommend it to anyone else.

Chicken stock $2.99
Chicken $3.80
Gnocci $2.50 (on sale)
Heavy cream $3.50
Vegetables about $3

It cost me about $16 to make this and I ended up throwing it away.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.GoodCookin February 14, 2011

I took the advice from other reviewers and used less chicken breasts. I doubled the recipe and used the 4 chicken breasts. Since I doubled the recipe I used 2 cups of heavy whipping cream and 2 cups of 1/2 & 1/2 and did'nt need to do anything to thicken it. I also used celery seed and that came out fine. My gnocchi from the store wasn't as fluffy as Olive Gardens. Anyways it tasted awesome! I was licking the bowl when I was done.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kris10 Marie June 17, 2010

Just as good as Olive Garden! I made my soup with whole milk instead of half-and-half and frozen spinach instead of fresh. Now if I can just figure out the salad dressing... Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover March 01, 2010
Olive Garden Style Chicken and Gnocchi Soup