Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Olive Garden Style Chicken and Gnocchi Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Olive Garden Style Chicken and Gnocchi Soup

    Average Rating:

    147 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 147

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2009

      My family and friends request this all the time...they are say its just as good if not better than the OG...I do make a few changes...I use 1.5C fat free half and half and .5c cream....have tried several ratios but this seems the best to keep it low cal and true to taste...i also boil the gnocchi in the soup before I add cream and H&H ...otherwise it seperates. ..use fresh thyme instead of dried too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      My husband and I LOVE this soup! We haven't even gone to Olive Garden since I started making it. I did make a couple of small changes to suit our preferences - but nothing major. I cook the gnocchi a little longer than indicated because my husband likes them super fluffy and cooked through. I also add the heavy cream and spinach right before I serve it. We found the cream seperates a bit if you add it when the recipe calls for it. If you use heavy cream you don't have to use the cornstarch. I serve it with french bread or garlic breadsticks. I can have this soup on the table in about 35-40 minutes - easy and quick.....can't ask for anything more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      I've made this recipe so many times I can't even count. I always follow the recipe to the best of my ability.. (more or less veggies/chicken here and there). it comes out a little bit different every time but is always delicious... I love it! I've noticed many of the reviews say to add less chicken to make it more like the real thing (Olive Garden), but I happen to like it with more chicken that way I can have it as a meal instead of an appetizer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      I actually work at the Olive Garden and I don't really like this soup..it is my least favorite. However, my boyfriend absolutly LOVES it..so i found this recipe about a year ago and have made it ever since!!!! It is WAY better than Olive Garden's, and I am not the only person who has said that. I made it for my family one night and the next day we all went and ate at Olive Garden and they compared soups and said that mine was better. I make this once a week and I never get tired of it!!! Awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      Mrs. VodkaAndTonic needs to remember not to post when she's had a few V&Ts. The recipe does not say to 'boil' - it says to 'bring to a boil' - that means to stop before boiling begins. It isn't neccesary to boil milk/cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      I have not tried this as yet but I do know the Olive Garden only uses the dark meat for this soup.
      Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      This taste just like Olive Garden's soup but, BETTER!
      Everyone enjoyed this at my house. I did double up on the veggies, along with my homemade gnocchi. So good on a cold day. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      I made this recipe for a covered dish dinner at my house. Normally we go to the Olive Garden, but we all have finance problems these days so we're saving money. This recipe was so close to the real thing that one of the boys thought I went and bought bowls of soup! I'll be making this again for sure :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      I just tried making this tonight and my family says it's a HIT! Daughter said it was exactly like the restaurant. This is a keeper! I had all of the prep done before and it was a snap to put together. Might try to figure out how to do in a crockpot someday, but still an easy recipe to pull off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      20 something on a budget. This is a recipe i'll be keeping around. I couldn't find Gnocchi at the store i went to, so i omitted it. I also forgot to buy corn starch, and didn't take it off the heat fast enough so it curdled just a tiny bit. But it tasted heavenly! My sister took all my leftovers! and now my parents are begging me to make more.

      I can't think of a better way to deal with rainy - march Seattle. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      This turned out great!! I added a bit more veggies and used matchstick style carrots instead of shredded. Used the frozen gnocchi, which next time I will use my daughter's homemade gnocchi. Might have to double the batch!! Everyone loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Great Soup! Added additional broth. Add the half and half last to keep it from separating. The "missing" ingredient identified by the reviews is SOUR CREAM. Add about 8 ounces immediately before serving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      Y-U-C-K. I followed this recipe EXACTLY and it tasted nothing like the Olive Garden's. I followed the cooking instructions exactly and made no substitutions. I didn't use corn starch because mine was already thick. There was TOO MUCH chicken! At the Olive Garden, it's a light creamy broth with soft gnocci dumplings and a few bites of chicken. This was more like chicken and dumplings consistency. When I first tasted it, I noticed that it was missing something. I added more pepper and thyme. Still missing something, I added some garlic powder (Olive Garden's has a very garlicky taste). Nothing I added helped. Neither the flavor nor texture were there. I will not make this again and I do not recommend it to anyone else.

      Chicken stock $2.99
      Chicken $3.80
      Gnocci $2.50 (on sale)
      Heavy cream $3.50
      Vegetables about $3

      It cost me about $16 to make this and I ended up throwing it away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      Loved this recipe!!! Followed the recipe exactly. Everyone gobbled it up and is begging for more. It's July, so I'm going to have to wait until the weather cools, but you can bet this will be our "go to" soup all autumn and winter long. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      I took the advice from other reviewers and used less chicken breasts. I doubled the recipe and used the 4 chicken breasts. Since I doubled the recipe I used 2 cups of heavy whipping cream and 2 cups of 1/2 & 1/2 and did'nt need to do anything to thicken it. I also used celery seed and that came out fine. My gnocchi from the store wasn't as fluffy as Olive Gardens. Anyways it tasted awesome! I was licking the bowl when I was done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I followed the directions exactly and the cream separated leaving me with a gritty looking soup. So disappointing! The soup still tasted good but it was not visually appealing. I will try the recipe again and try Chef #549586's suggestion wait to add the cream until after the gnocchi has cooked. I didn't think this tasted that much like OG's soup but it is still a very good recipe. I poached the chicken and diced it. I think I prefer it that way over the rotisserie chicken which I often use in soups. The poached chicken was more tender. I also used a bag of prewashed fresh spinach and used kitchen shears to cut the spinach into small pieces. You can cut it in the bag, no messy chopping board!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      This is a great recipe. I made some changes based on other reviews but pretty much stuck to the basics here. One thing I noticed is people had issues with the soup separating. So, I used a technic other milk based recipes call for. I started with butter, olive oil, onions, celery. As soon as the onions got translucent, I added the minced garlic and 1/8 cup of flour (I halved the recipe) until is was incorporated and stuck to the vegetables. Then, I took heavy cream and incorporated very slowly (kind of in batches) until I used the full amount the recipe calls for. Then, I added the chicken stock, salt, pepper, thyme. I let that thicken a little and added the remaining ingredients. I had no problems with separation. The soup tastes wonderful and since it is just me eating here, I know I can warm this up again tomorrow for dinner! Eat away my friends! EAT AWAY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      I've made this twice now and its awesome each time. I reserve the cream until its just about done to keep it from getting funky but otherwise followed the recipe. Even my 10 month old was demanding his share as I finished making it. Will remake again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      This was very good. I did leave out the spinach.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      This was awesome! I made one major change which was to sub peas for the spinach only because I didn't have any. I did what other people said and added the cream at the end and I felt mine only need one cup instead of 2.. Also did not need the cornstarch as it thickened up nicely on it's own

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Olive Garden Style Chicken and Gnocchi Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 236.8
     
    Calories from Fat 136
    57%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 60.7 mg
    20%
    Sodium 240.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    potato gnocchi


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites