17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very close to Olive Garden's! It's not *exact*, but I suspect they add glucose and goodness knows what else. I added just a pinch of sugar, and it balanced out the acidity beautifully. I used homemade mayo instead of miracle whip. If I could I'd rate this as a 4 1/2, but I gave 5 stars because it's really very close to the original and it's excellent as a stand alone dressing recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rusticgirl November 19, 2009

Quite good. Maybe not Olive Garden but still a good solid dressing. I replaced the Miracle Whip with Mayo, as I cannot stand the taste and I omit the water.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JHOmade January 10, 2011

Almost the same, but I still really liked it. I won't buy store brands again. I did add a pinch of sugar. So over all it is a really good recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
n_manges September 26, 2010

We love Olive Garden so I thought I would try this. I was not disappointed. This was good and different from the salad dressings we usually use. Thanks for the recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFitz June 01, 2009

Made this according to direcions and loved it, so much better then the bottled dressings I use, but not exactly like Olive Gardens, but really close.' I have gotten special requests to make it again by my 6 year old grand daughter, who love Olive Gardens Salad.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gumshoo April 16, 2010

Tastes great. I live in the UK so never been to Olive Garden (not sure if they have any here). I didn't have white wine vinegar and due to people adding sugar I substituted it with white balsamic. I didn't feel I had to add anything to it at all to sweeten it up and the balance of flavours are good. I mixed my own Italian seasons (a pinch of basil, marjoram, thyme, oregano, rosemary) didn't have garlic salt, so ground a pinch in and used garlic granules. Will definitely make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halobec May 06, 2013

Pretty good salad dressing, not sure if it is a true copy of Olive Garden's, been a while since I've been there, but good in it's own right. I doubled the recipe and got a lot! Didn't need the water. I might try mayo instead of Miracle Whip next time. Thx for posting . . . Janet

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski March 22, 2010

This was really good! I did leave out the lemon juice..I was out, and I added a pinch of sugar. It made quite a bit...used an entire bag of salad mix and it was still pretty saturated. I think this is as close as it's going to come to Olive Garden and I'll take what I can get. Totally beats bottled italian dressing with parmesan cheese, which is what I have been substituting with! Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2SpiceItUp March 14, 2010

I didn't think that this was a great copy cat recipe but thought that the flavour was good. I do not buy Miracle Whip so I substituted mayonaise - that may have made the taste closer??? I thought that I should add a pinch of sugar when I tasted it but it did not make that much difference. The rest of the family enjoyed this recipe and I'll make it again with white balsamic vinegar to cut the tanginess and add some sweetness.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee January 22, 2010

This was easy and delicious. It was better than bottled dressing. I used Duke's Light Mayo instead of Miracle Whip and added a pinch of Splenda.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Fannie December 29, 2012
Olive Garden Salad Dressing - Food Network Kitchen's Copycat