13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this is a fantastic recipe, I made this with my Kittencal's Easy Gnocchi and plan on making it again next time with fresh chopped ripe Roma tomatoes, I increased the chili flakes way up, I didn't have fresh basil handy when I made this so I used 1-1/2 teaspoons dried and sauteed with the garlic mixture, thanks for sharing Cooks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz March 21, 2009

Delicious! Although I had far too much sauce for my pasta, what a shame! Guess I'll freeze it and save for another day :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne October 06, 2012

Wonderful, a new favorite simple dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare December 18, 2011

Delicious! Much to my dismay, the store didn't have gnocchi so I substituted cheese tortellini which actually worked out well. I also cut down on the butter a bit since it seemed excessive. The sauce was already rich and creamy and flavorful so no need to add cream. The consistency was just wonderful. I think this would be great in any recipe calling for tomato sauce. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast December 06, 2011

This was wonderful! I felt like I was eating out, except, I had to cook the meal, then serve and then clean-up! Well maybe it wasn't like eating out, but it was soooo good! No leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanaJulie May 27, 2010

This was such a fresh tasting excellent dish! I took Kittencal's advice and used 1 1/2 tsp dried basil since I didn't want to spend the high price on fresh. I used fresh tomatoes from my garden, and I was surprised I didn't need to add any cream. I also added 1/2 pound hot Italian sausage at the end. This was so good! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes August 24, 2009

Delicious! We did add the cream and it was smooth, spicy, rich and flavorful. This will be made time and again. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawnee TX March 22, 2009

This was very good. I added some cream to the sauce to combat the tartness and a little extra garlic for personal preference. I made it with a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, so I added the cheese and butter directly into the skillet with everything else. I also added some dried basil to the simmering sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mosma August 14, 2008

Since there is no recipe for the gnocchi I made that portion of the recipe from our Easy Potato Gnocchi, and I am only rating the sauce for this recipe. I chopped the garlic, used 28 oz chopped tomatoes (therefore omitting the need to later puree), and also added 1 tsp of Italian seasoning. When it was done, it needed only 2 Tbsp butter. It was quite tart so I stirred in 2 tsp of sugar and this helped smooth it out to an outstanding pasta sauce. I left out the parmesan cheese to use as an accompiment. This sauce enhances gnocchi perfectly. A definite keeper, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu July 13, 2008
Olive Garden Gnocchi With Spicy Tomato and Wine Sauce