175 Reviews

This is so good. I made this for our dinner tonight along with an Italian lettuce salad and garlic bread. The sauce is very rich, but its great alfredo. I took the advice of other reviewers and added double the garlic powder and 8 oz. of cream cheese. I plan on making this again, maybe adding chicken or shrimp to change it up a bit. Thank you so much for sharing this with us, its delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 07, 2010

I, like others, added 8oz of cream cheese and doubled the garlic salt to 2 tsp. I sauteed some mushrooms and added them into the sauce. It was awesome! Very comparable to the original.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ecrad17 January 03, 2010

I didn't have fettuccine on hand so I tried to substitute with spaghetti noodles. At the same time I also strayed from the recipe and instead of 2 tblspns I used 8oz of cream cheese. So in the end it had a very, very cream cheese taste to it so if your going to use spaghetti go with less cream cheese. After a while though (stirring it over and over in the noodles) it did taste pretty good. I can't wait to retry this with the right noodles.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SemiBeginner November 18, 2009

I use the whole 8 oz of cream cheese. It makes all the difference!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariposa13 May 26, 2009

Wow! I really enjoyed this sauce. I was scared at first that it would not turn out right as it looks that way when you add the cream cheese to the butter but it turned out wonderfully creamy. I added mushrooms and spinach to the sauce as well as I was having a dinnerparty and wanted to make "more" (quantity-wise) of the sauce and give it something extra. It turned out wonderfully and I thank you so much for posting the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
#823189 April 13, 2009

My 18 year old son & I made this together. We followed suggestions and used the 8 oz cream cheese & 1 cup each of heavy cream and half & half. The family loved it. Easy to make & made that much better by doing it with my son.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri R February 14, 2009

OMG!!!! This recipe is unbelievable! I don't know how a few ingredients could turn into THIS in only 20 minutes! Everyone was RAVING! Bravo!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StampAcademy January 13, 2009

It was not quite like the Olive Garden. It was very liquid, while their's seems to be thicker. I may try adding more parmesan while it is cooking. The parmesan didn't melt in very well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicole Huddleston May 16, 2001

Used the full 8 oz of cream cheese as other reviewers suggested and cooked minced garlic in the melting butter. It was great. Husband loved it and said it was better than the OG Alfredo I used to make. Definitely a repeat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTinTX0319 May 18, 2016
Olive Garden Fettuccine Alfredo