175 Reviews

If you change the t table spoons cream cheese to 8 ounce pack of cream cheese its better the Olive Gardens. Also if you are adding sea food such as Crab meat, shrimp, or Samon I think 2 oz. for clam juice would round out this dish. Its so good I put it on our menu once a week and sell out each time.

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barry Barton October 18, 2001

I enjoyed this dish very much. My husband used to work for the olive garden, so he knows the alfredo sauce when he tastes it. I used preshreaded parmesan cheeze and put it in just before i took it off the heat and it melted fine. i also used just a touch more cream cheeze so it wouldn't be too thin which worked. personally i thought it had too much of a cream taste. i may next time try a little buttermilk. Good recipe, but it needs a little tweeking if you ask me.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
regan moore June 20, 2001

I agree with Barry Barton, I added 8 oz cream cheese and it was outstanding! I changed it up quite a bit though--used 1 cup butter, 4 cloves minced garlic, 1 1/2 cups freshly grated parmesan cheese, and added half & half (fat free) to replace the heavy cream. It is outstanding. I also added some nicely season grilled chicken breast that I cut into bite sized pieces. Great recipe to make to take from and make your own.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna (Grandmereb) March 07, 2010

This was absolutely delicious! I made it for me and my boyfriend last night and we both loved it. I did how others suggested and put in 8 oz of cream cheese instead of 2 tbs and i think it worked perfectly. Next time i think i will add more garlic though, and maybe some red pepper flakes. It needed a little bit more of a kick.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anjellybelly13 September 03, 2011

Delicious, however I did make a few changes. I used 1 1/2 c. half and half and 4 oz. of lite cream cheese and only 1/4 c margarine. All other ingredients I kept the same. Put it all in microwave for about 5 min. So good and so easy. Next time I thinks I'll add some broccoli and chicken.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scotty & Callie's Mom June 30, 2010

WOW!!!! My husband and I visited Olive Garden last week and I ordered the Fettuccine Alfredo, and while it was pretty good, THIS recipe is SO MUCH BETTER! I did add more cream cheese and extra garlic powder (also didn't have fresh parmesan, just the Kraft stuff) but WOWOWOW I loved it! I ate the ENTIRE amount over two days. I plan on making it again today, adding chicken, for dinner. Amazing, THANK YOU!! Would give it TEN stars easily!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KidzChaos September 26, 2012

my family loved it; thank you for a great recipe! i will definitely be using this again and again. After reading the comments, i decided to go with 8 oz of cream cheese instead of 2 tablespoons. delicious.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef amelia bedelia March 15, 2010

Excellent! It really did taste like what they serve at the Olive Garden. This recipe makes a lot of sauce and it is very filling. I should have either halved the recipe or saved it for a night when I was having company over for dinner, because I don't think it will taste very good as leftovers since the sauce will thicken in the fridge. (I'm gonna try anyways though, and maybe add some milk to the sauce when I reheat it tomorrow). I tried to use up some of the extra sauce by making garlic bread to dip into it. Also, I modified the recipe like many other reviewers did by adding the whole 8oz package of cream cheese. Thanks for the recipe! Next time I have people over for dinner I will be making this again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG January 23, 2009

AMAZING! Tastes just like Olive Garden! In my opinion, it tastes even better re-heated for later, when the butter separates a little...yum! When I make this next time, I think I will add more cream cheese as others have recommended although I think the consistency was pretty good as it was. I will also use more minced garlic (well, I added minced garlic instead of garlic powder) to give it more more of a flavor kick. But I am seriously glad I found this...it's the only dish I ever order at Olive Garden and now I can have it whenever I want; THANK YOU!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jseg048 August 19, 2013

YUM. I have been making fettuccine Alfredo for years and this recipe is so much better and more fool proof than mine. This pasta reheats nicely the next day with a splash of cream. Should note: This recipe does NOT work with cream that is less than 18% mf.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen Clary February 11, 2013
Olive Garden Fettuccine Alfredo