173 Reviews

If you change the t table spoons cream cheese to 8 ounce pack of cream cheese its better the Olive Gardens. Also if you are adding sea food such as Crab meat, shrimp, or Samon I think 2 oz. for clam juice would round out this dish. Its so good I put it on our menu once a week and sell out each time.

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barry Barton October 18, 2001

I enjoyed this dish very much. My husband used to work for the olive garden, so he knows the alfredo sauce when he tastes it. I used preshreaded parmesan cheeze and put it in just before i took it off the heat and it melted fine. i also used just a touch more cream cheeze so it wouldn't be too thin which worked. personally i thought it had too much of a cream taste. i may next time try a little buttermilk. Good recipe, but it needs a little tweeking if you ask me.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
regan moore June 20, 2001

I agree with Barry Barton, I added 8 oz cream cheese and it was outstanding! I changed it up quite a bit though--used 1 cup butter, 4 cloves minced garlic, 1 1/2 cups freshly grated parmesan cheese, and added half & half (fat free) to replace the heavy cream. It is outstanding. I also added some nicely season grilled chicken breast that I cut into bite sized pieces. Great recipe to make to take from and make your own.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna (Grandmereb) March 07, 2010

This was absolutely delicious! I made it for me and my boyfriend last night and we both loved it. I did how others suggested and put in 8 oz of cream cheese instead of 2 tbs and i think it worked perfectly. Next time i think i will add more garlic though, and maybe some red pepper flakes. It needed a little bit more of a kick.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anjellybelly13 September 03, 2011

Delicious, however I did make a few changes. I used 1 1/2 c. half and half and 4 oz. of lite cream cheese and only 1/4 c margarine. All other ingredients I kept the same. Put it all in microwave for about 5 min. So good and so easy. Next time I thinks I'll add some broccoli and chicken.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scotty & Callie's Mom June 30, 2010

WOW!!!! My husband and I visited Olive Garden last week and I ordered the Fettuccine Alfredo, and while it was pretty good, THIS recipe is SO MUCH BETTER! I did add more cream cheese and extra garlic powder (also didn't have fresh parmesan, just the Kraft stuff) but WOWOWOW I loved it! I ate the ENTIRE amount over two days. I plan on making it again today, adding chicken, for dinner. Amazing, THANK YOU!! Would give it TEN stars easily!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KidzChaos September 26, 2012

my family loved it; thank you for a great recipe! i will definitely be using this again and again. After reading the comments, i decided to go with 8 oz of cream cheese instead of 2 tablespoons. delicious.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef amelia bedelia March 15, 2010

AMAZING! Tastes just like Olive Garden! In my opinion, it tastes even better re-heated for later, when the butter separates a little...yum! When I make this next time, I think I will add more cream cheese as others have recommended although I think the consistency was pretty good as it was. I will also use more minced garlic (well, I added minced garlic instead of garlic powder) to give it more more of a flavor kick. But I am seriously glad I found this...it's the only dish I ever order at Olive Garden and now I can have it whenever I want; THANK YOU!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jseg048 August 19, 2013

This was an awesome meal. I had no idea that alfredo sauce would be so simple. It was creamy and had great flavor. I'm making it again tonight for my bf and his family, to change it up I'm adding in crispy, diced bacon.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VanillaPotter March 17, 2010

This is a great dish. I changed it up a little by using a fresh clove of garlic, minced and like <br/>Barry I amped up the cream cheese to 8 oz but I use the herb and garlic cream cheese instead of the plain........Delicious!!!! it added the flavour and consistency the original recipe was lacking....Enjoy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmm632 November 17, 2013
Olive Garden Fettuccine Alfredo