547 Reviews

This soup was good but the recipe is a little confusing, you should read the other reviews before attempting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoreWithLessMom January 10, 2012

Wow. And Wow. Can't get over how great this was. I used ground italian sausage (Johnsonville--I'd use freshly made next time from the meat dept). The bacon is definitely a must. Don't leave that out. It changes the whole taste. It was way better the next day---so don't over-season the first day. It seemed bland the first day, but I'm so glad i didn't over-season because the 2nd and 3rd day was outstanding. I will be making this again and again. Thanks so much!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KadesMom September 26, 2011

Love, love, love this recipe. I make it whenever I can without burning myself out on it. Instead of using italian sausage links, I use ground italian sausage and brown it in a skillet. Afterwards I pat it down with paper towels so there is no grease (not a big grease fan). I also add the kale in with the sausage so it is cooked through without being too done and add twice the bacon (we do love bacon). Sooo good. I am salivating just thinking of it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mirespada June 02, 2011

I love this soup! My daughter who doesn't like potatoes and my son who doesn't like soup thinks this soup is so yummy. I did add more potatoes than the recipe calls for but the outcome was delicious. Thanks for sharing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NinnyMommy July 21, 2010

This is a fantastic base recipe. Full disclosure, I have never had this at the Olive Garden, so I was never aiming for a taste memory. I follow the basic recipe, with a slight change in order of of cooking. I crisp up 3 pieces of bacon, and set them aside on paper towels, and then REALLY brown a half a pound of spicy Italian sausage in the bacon grease. I remove the sausage and add the onions to the grease and fond that has developed, and get a good color on the onions before adding the garlic for a minute, and then the potatoes. I add one quart of low sodium stock, and put the sausage back in, and simmer until the potatoes are soft, at which point I mash a bit of the potatoes to thicken the soup. If it seems too thick, I will add a little water, but that has only happened one time. I easily double the greens (I've used both kale and Swiss chard, I imagine spinach would be fine too), maybe even triple, I've never used less than 5 cups of chopped whatever greens. At the last minute, I add half a cup of heavy cream. It is so delicious, and easy, and I can cram a boatload of greens into my son in the process. Thank you for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChristineLA January 20, 2015

Absolutely delicious! Four stars from me, though, too much water! I have made this several times since the first attempt, using only two cups water vs. one quart as the recipe calls for, an extra potato (all large), and three slices real bacon, diced up. Perfect!! With these adjustments, I consider the recipe a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisMonie January 13, 2012

As my favorite soup EVER, I made my own copycat version of Zuppa Toscana a few years ago. This is very close to my own, but I added a few extra ingredients:

1. Crushed red pepper - this is somewhat dependent on how hot of Italian sausage you are using.
2. Instant mashed potatoes - to make it a thicker soup (a personal preference)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kreitzek October 08, 2011

My Husband and myself made this last night after a serious craving for the real thing hit (and being that our local O.G is usually packed and has terrible service). And OMG it was delicious we could not tell the difference between the real thing and our version. For our family of 3 we got two meals out of it and only spent $20.00, and that's with buying breadstick ingredients. Thanks a million, now i just have to try making a lower fat version.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jen85635 September 21, 2011

My boyfriend made this soup and we loovvvvved it! it tastes just like olive gardens(which is our favorite) and he's actually making it again right now! We used the exact recipe as above, but we also added some red hot chili peppers, to give it more of a kick!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayrenee March 03, 2011

A great soup for sure. Lots of compliments. I used 5 potatoes with skin on and mashed them up a bit to give it more body. I was noticing the sodium content on the health label though... 98% of daily allowable. Where does all the salt come from?

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sensfancook January 11, 2011
Olive Garden Copycat Zuppa Toscana