27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is perfect. Our whole family loves this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate.1980 December 28, 2007

This is so good it's not even funny! This is probably one of the best recipes I've ever made.. It is a bit time-consuming, but we were in no rush for dinner, so I just put it all together as instructed. I do like being busy-in-the-kitchen, and this one definately fulfills that urge (hmm, that didn't quite sound right,lol).. I might consider some short-cuts next time, though.. store-bought garlic alfredo sauce maybe, that would considerably cut the time.. anyhow, 5 stars from me, thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steve in FL October 09, 2007

I never had Olive Garden's Chicken Caprese so not sure if it tastes like Olive Garden's or not but this had mixed ratings in our house. My 8 year old said yuck after his first bite and wouldn't eat more (and he is not a picky eater), everyone else had one plate but didn't go back for seconds. It wasn't bad but just not to my family's liking I think.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol October 08, 2007

YUmmy in my tummy!@!! THis was a definent winner. Was really tasty and also had many nice colors. Looks just as good as it tastes. Will impress the guests.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iamaudra September 01, 2007

I have a cherry tomato plant that is producing masses of glorious little gems right now, so I thought I would substitute those for the Romas. I also used fresh basil from my garden. I could have eaten the tomatoes and basil combination by itself, it was soooo good! I did not really read the recipe too carefully the first time b/c I did not notice it said 1 c of oil. I realized later it was to pan fry the breasts in, but I did not use anywhere near that amount. I pounded my chicken breasts fairly thin and cut them into thirds, then dredged them into the flour mixture and pan fried them in a about 2 TBS of vegetable oil. When I assembled the dish, I placed the tomato basil mixture on top of the pasta and ran that under the broiler for a few minutes to roast the tomatoes. It really did bring out the flavors!!! I finished the assembly as directed and my BF and I promptly devoured it!!! I thought the sauce was a little heavy for us, but we don't usually indulge like this often so it was a treat!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl August 02, 2007

I made this last night using fat free half and half so I am not giving a star rating. I think the sauce is a bit thick (either way) for delicate angel hair. I used fresh basil and fresh mozzarella, I like the way the fresh mozzarella melts. I think I would prefer the sauce more if it were a garlic and olive oil sauce then topped with the tomatoes basil and mozzarella. That is what I think of when I think of Caprese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jules127 April 10, 2007

I wish I could give this more than five stars. This is, by far, the best thing I've ever made on RecipeZaar. It was even better than the restaurant version! It's a little bit complicated, but the reward when you sit down to eat and everyone at the table is silent from stuffing themselves... it's phenomenal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babyparentingguide March 26, 2007

EXCELLENT! (SHORT CUT: I used a can of del monte diced tomatoes and basil instead of the plum tomatoes and fresh basil leaves. I also fried the chicken on the stove instead of puting it in the oven- to save time, though it did give a more crisp effect)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tbout84 October 27, 2006

Very delicious recipe. We all enjoyed it. It was so nice and creamy. I used fresh basil from my garden and used canned plum tomatoes that I cored and chopped. This is a keeper for sure! Thanks for a great recipe. UPDATE EDIT: Wow.. this isn't just good with chicken. I made it with ravioli, too. It's delicious! The sauce is wonderful to have on hand in the freezer ready to go. I have doubled the sauce (with the tomato mixture mixed right in with the cream mixture) and put in zip style bags and freeze it! This sauce really gets thick. When reheating I just add skim milk to thin to desired consistency. I cooked the ravioli until almost done and then tossed in pan with sauce to coat and finish off. Mmmmm Better than an expensive restaurant. Wow! Try serving a few ravioli on a small plate for a hot appetizer before your Italian dinner. Garnish with fresh basil leaves and a shave of Parmesean.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge October 06, 2006
Olive Garden Chicken Caprese