14 Reviews

This was one of the most distinguished and satisfying lasagnas I have had. The variety of cheeses combined with a stove-top cream come together in a flavorful burst of palate-pleasing surprises! The actual prep time and cook time of this recipe was far easier than I had expected and the ingredients should all be readily available anywhere. I chose to omit the marina sauce and just go for a cheese lasagna with only the sun dried tomatos. However, a few of my guests adore marina, so all I did was serve a side bowl of marina sauce with the lasagna and those who desired the marina could simply drizzle their servings. A wonderful recipe. Thanks so much!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aric Ross March 05, 2003

A marvelous dish with excellent flavour. I took heed of the fact many commented on the lack of white sauce and doubled the recipe. I had just enough. This will become a special treat in my house. I found another recipe site with this recipe and found that the recipe calls for 1 1/2 cups of fontina to be devided evenly and spread between the layers of the lasagna with mozzarella. http://www.grouprecipes.com/35633/olive-garden-5-cheese-lasagna.html. I only gave it 4 instead of 5 stars because in my heart healthy home this recipe is going to be a once in a while dish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby, Sarah & Eli's Mom February 22, 2010

Very good. Kids gobbled it up, too! NOTE THAT THE FONTINA CHEESE ISN'T IN THE INGREDIENT LIST. It was delicious even without! :) Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WJKing October 29, 2008

Excelent lasagna dish. didnt have enough of the cream sauce for the top though so added marinara to the top so it didnt dry out. overall delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boiler77 December 25, 2007

Used 1 tbsp. of aged asiago in place of fontina (scaled to 2 servings). It was too cheesy according to Kevin & felt it could have had some chicken possibly to through off the extreme chessiness. Served with Pilsbury breadsticks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dragngirle April 01, 2007

Sorry to say, I found this recipe overpowering and much too saucy. Also, the directions were vague at points and included references to ingredients not listed. If I were a better cook, I might have been able to overcome or anticipate these problems but, alas, I know my limitation. From other reviews though, I think many people like this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha Mazz December 29, 2006

Very good lasagna!! This is the best sauce ever, I use it for other pasta dishes as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angela_cavaletto November 21, 2006

This recipe is fantastic! I made it using the type of lasagna noodles you don't have to precook and just doubled the cream sauce to make sure it did not dry out. It was so quick and easy this way and tasted great. If you must have meat, I would suggest you replace the marinara with a hearty meat tomato sauce, but either way this is yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 November 13, 2006

This took me forever to make and turned out a bit too cheesy. The directions were a little confusing, as mentioned, too. The 5-star rating threw me off a little..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
@DRiENNE September 13, 2006
Olive Garden 5-Cheese Lasagna (Copycat Recipe)