Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old World Sauerkraut Supper Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old World Sauerkraut Supper

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2003

      This came out wonderful! It looked so easy, I had my husband put it on while I was at work. He used 2 lbs. of kielbasa and 1 lb. of hot dogs and it worked out great. It was cooked on high for about 4 1/2 hours, which I think was a bit too long, because the meats got a little too soft, but it could not be avoided...no one was home to turn it off! I think if we let it go for 3 hours or so, it would have been perfect. The sauerkraut was absolutely delicious and the caraway was not overpowering at all, which was what I expected. I think the apples disapeared during cooking, but the potatoes were very good also. We had this with potato and cheese pierogies. Thanks for sharing this delicious dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2004

      I left out the potatoes, (lower the carbs), and also the apples. I just love sauerkraut, but not with apples. But...other than that, I followed the recipe. This was very, very good! The caraway seed was just right. And the kraut with the sausage AND bacon......YUM! Thanks, Ann for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2003

      I had an odd hankering for sauerkraut and chose this recipe to make...it was a smart move. I added a chopped onion, which I cooked a little bit after the bacon got almost crisp; then I added the rest of the ingredients to the pan and cooked it on top of the stove for around 21/2 to 3 hours on the lowest setting. Instead of cooking the potatoes with the sauerkraut, I made some mashed potatoes to serve alongside. I'm not usually a fan of caraway, but it was delicious in this recipe. This is a wonderful, fail proof dish that will be saved in my cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Yum! This is good stuff! It does make a lot of juice, so I'll probably skip the water next time - I think they'll still be plenty of juice. Otherwise, I put in 4 potatoes (2 just didn't seem like enough) and I used Lean Turkey Bratwurst instead of Polish- to reduce the fat. Really delicious! Not too strong or sour - more like a sweet and sour - like how German Potato Salad is. I made this w/ a dark soda bread -- and it went great together. My hubby isn't normally a huge fan of sauerkraut dishes, but he got a generous 2nd helping of this - I think it's b/c the little bit of sweetness in it that did it for him - versus just regular sauerkraut.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      A very good meal on a fall evening.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      Very good dish! I fixed it in the morning and had it after work with almost no work. The sauerkraut wasn't as crisp as we like it so I may skip the water next time, but thought the apples/sugar addition was great for those that are iffy on sauerkraut--it got rid of a lot of the sour taste usually associated with sauerkraut dishes. Thanks for sharing this easy-to-make dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      I thought that this dish was fantastic! I didn't have any bacon on hand so I just left it out and I did not miss it at all. I cooked it on high for about 3 hours, the apples were soft and the potatos were cooked perfectly. Thanks for a recipe that I know I will make many more times.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      Something just wasn't right with this recipe...(Maybe the caraway seed?) the dish had a unpleasant smell and taste....Other then that I picked this recipe to make because I've made other recipes with sausage and kraut which have turned out great!..next time NO CARAWAY SEED.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      The taste of this is very good! My only comment is make sure you have a large crock pot! I thought mine was a large crock pot, but all the ingredients wouldn't fit, so I had to freeze some for a later date.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      Excellent! I added chopped onions and extra potatoes. Also, I didn't have bacon thawed, so I put a couple tblspoons of olive oil in pan, added real bacon bits (30% less fat) to flavor the oil and then mixed in the flour which is a bit healthier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      Great flavor, wonderful smell as it cooks. Since it's just the two of us, I reduced the sausage to 2 lbs. and added in 3 extra potatoes. Worked out just fine. The apples disintegrate while cooking and add such a nice flavor accent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2004

      This was delicious Miss Annie, I made it tonight for dinner. I made mine on top of the stove on low heat, and used Italian sausage instead of Polish (that was all i had in my freezer), I added just a couple of potatoes towards the end of cooking time which was roughly about 3 hours, what a wonderful meal, we enjoyed it very much I just love saurkraut!...I too (as Karen) had this with Uncle Bill's perogies that I made on the weekend, so yummy! I will be making this again Miss Annie, thanks so much for posting...kittencal:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2003

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old World Sauerkraut Supper

    Serving Size: 1 (387 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 689.1
     
    Calories from Fat 477
    69%
    Total Fat 53.0 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 18.9 g
    94%
    Cholesterol 124.8 mg
    41%
    Sodium 2305.2 mg
    96%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites