Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old World Italian Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old World Italian Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2009

      The aroma that filled our kitchen today was tantalizing! This robust sauce certainly was worth the wait. This is different than any other sauces that we've tried...for us it was very "fruity" in flavor. I'm not sure if it was the combination of herbs or the brand of tomatoes - all in all it was extremely delicious and very hearty. Ours was not at any point thin and coated the pasta perfectly. Your "old world" description is appropriate but we would even venture to call it "out of this world". Thanks FarahC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      Best spaghetti sauce ever!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Excellent recipe! I made without water and with canned chopped tomatoes that I pureed in the blender. The texture was perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      I LOVED it!!! Simply terrific recipe. Goes great with your meatball recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      My DH said I hit it out of the ball park with this recipe. He LOVES Spaghetti Sauce and has eaten it a lot. He says this is THE BEST of all the sauces he has eaten. I am not a red sauce fan but now I am!!!! I will not ever try another sauce. This is the 2nd time in a month I have made it. I put it in the crock pot minus 1 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes. I added homemade Italian sausage from Sunflower Market. This sausage has little grease, so I broke the sausage into little pieces and just threw them in without cooing them. I add only 1/2 TBLS of sugar, didn't want a sweet sauce. Added a tsp of Worcestershire Sauce, a tsp of Marjoram and Fennel seed. Then threw in a pinch of Baking Soda. I now have put this recipe in a special place so I will always know where it is. If you love spaghetti sauce this is a MUST TRY!!! It really does have an old world flavor to it. You won't be sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      It is still cooking, and has been ''tasted'' by both of us, over the course of the afternoon. Yum, yum! I halved the recipe easily--used fresh basil and some fresh tomato cut tiny. I agree with one of the other raters that the sauce was plenty thick! In fact, I added a little water. A KEEPER!! THX!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      This sauce had a great flavor. It really did taste like an Old World recipe! It was neither too sweet nor bland. It was not spicy, but it was not flat either. I was glad you warned it would be thin. It was indeed very runny. Only the tomato chunks stayed on top of our spaghetti. But, the flavor was so wonderful I didn't care. I had to make alterations for my ingredients and lifestyle. First, I used a crockpot. I had to substitute tomato paste and water for the tomato puree. I only had cans of whole tomatoes instead of crushed, so I put those in the blender. I was out of basil, so I used parsley. We don't have any wine in the house, so I substituted cranberry juice. The cranberry juice was put in much sooner than wine would have been so it would meld with the other ingredients. I couldn't believe how authentic it tasted. I was frightened to use a fruit juice, but I recommend it heartily. Yum. We had premade, frozen non-Italian flavored meatballs, and they went well with the sauce too. I don't think we could have served anything that would have detracted from its flavor. This made a TON of sauce. I ended up storing the leftovers in 4 freezer bags. Each had a one-gallon capacity, and I think they were 1/4 full. I tried to divide into portions similar to what we used for dinner that night. This would be great for making batches to freeze, or it works well for huge families. Maybe it was so runny because I had to substitute for the crushed tomatoes. I might have had more juice. I didn't know if I was supposed to drain them or not. I ended up reducing the water to accommodate the extra juice from the canned tomatoes. Maybe if I had not used that juice, mixed my own puree and used an alcohol substitute that wouldn't have evaporated, I wouldn't have had such a runny sauce. That is the only reason I ranked this a 4. It was so sloppy it splashed on my shirt, face, arms and table.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      This was one of the best sauces ever! So flavorful and fantastic. Everyone who had this raved about it! Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      I really loved this! Mine wasn't a bit runny, though. The only things I did differently were to make my own puree from a can of whole tomatoes, and I cooked it in a large deep skillet. Oh, and added a carrot and habanero. It was actually so thick I stopped cooking it after two hours. Excellent! Thank you for a great meatless sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old World Italian Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (260 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 158.6
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    29%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 1.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 647.1 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    21%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites