Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Widow Walker's Ziploc Omelettes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Widow Walker's Ziploc Omelettes

    Average Rating:

    133 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 133

    Sort by:

    • on August 17, 2009

      Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe! The kids (ages 4 & 7) made omelettes with us this past weekend and had a blast. I was looking for a way to get them to eat eggs (aside from hardboiled egg whites) and maybe try a few new foods. Our spread included diced tomatoes, onions, red bell pepper, mushrooms, grated cheddar cheese and crumbled bacon. Using permanent marker (and supervision) we had the oldest write our names on each of the ziplock bags while the youngest counted and handed us two eggs at a time for each omlette. Both made their own omelettes as well as ours (we told them what items we wanted). Our 7 year old stuck with lots of cheese and bacon while our 4 year old surprised us by adding in cheese, bacon, tomato and even at the protest of her older sibling... Onion! The cooked omelettes slid out of the ziploc bags with ease and not only did they look impressive (better than any pan cooked omelette I've made in awhile), they tasted great too! Both of our kids ate their omelettes exclaiming that theirs tasted 'better' then the other, because... they made it :). I found it unnecessary to add milk to keep the eggs moist, they were plenty moist and fluffy on their own. Just a few notes I'd like to add of my own: I did most of the prep work the evening before to save time and placed everything in their own small tupperware container. Going forward, we will use diced ham instead of bacon - it's just easier and there's less work involved. I'll be dicing left over vegetables from other meals to keep in the freezer that we can use later on in our 'omelettes". I always seem to have that extra half an onion or crown of brocoli that doesn't get used but sits in the fridge past its prime - just seems like an easy way to use them up. Regarding cooking in Ziploc bags - it's safe. Ziploc does not use BPA in it's plastic products and they are also Dioxin free. The emails circulating claiming that Ziploc's own site warns against cooking in their storage bags are false (I checked their site to confirm if this was true and found that Ziploc addresses that email as 'misleading' and goes on to explain the criteria needed in order to form dioxide - neither of which is likely to happen from your microwave or boiling in water since you need the combinations of both chloride and temperatures of 1,500 deg F). Just be sure to keep an eye on the bags and try and keep them away from touch the sides of the pan during cooking. Our bags held up just fine, no melting or softening of the plastic. Water also does not need to be at a rolling boil to cook in. Turn it down to medium heat before adding the ziploc bags.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      We love these - whether cooking one omelet, or setting out an "omelet bar" and allowing guests to design their own. As to the danger in using Ziploc bags, that is an URBAN LEGEND. If you are still worried, now you can buy SC Johnson's Zip and Steam bags, made specifically for cooking foods.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS TO YOUR HEALTH! BEWARE! On ziploc's website they DO NOT RECOMMEND cooking ANYTHING in ziploc bags!!! In fact, there have been many health warnings about cooking food in plastic, and ziploc bags were not designed for food to be cooked in them. The plastic from the bags leeches into your food and you are essentially eating plastic. Plastic toxicity is one of the many causes of illnesses of diseases such as cancer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      i have to be honest. i cook, a LOT. i cook eggs, a LOT. but, i've admittedly NEVER crafted a conventional omelet. NOW I NEVER HAVE TO! this came out, perfectly! well, perfect-tasting, as mine left much to be desired, aesthetically..but! i sourced this recipe, specifically, so as to cook a filling for a breakfast burrito, and this worked better than i could have even imagined! i added some cheese and meats to mine, sprinkled a flour tortilla with a little more grated cheese .. rough chopped my omelet, et voila! delish! thank you, and thank you mrs. walker!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      I want to thank Candycorn 1234, for her informative post. My DIL made these up for us on a camping trip years ago, and they were delicious and fun. Since we're all still here and doing just fine, and I'm 65, I believe Candy----to be correct. (I'm too lazy to check out the web site myself) LOL I'd forgotten about that cooking technique until I just now came across this recipe. My only suggestion would be, to NOT use generic bags. Thanks Pot Scrubber, for the reminder of my fun time, and thanks again Candycorn1234.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      This is super fun for my 4yo. The first time we made them, though, I used an off brand freezer bag. The omelets turned out okay, but the bags started to split near the end of the cooking time. The next time I used real Ziploc brand and the bags were much sturdier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Wow! My 30-year-old totally dug these! ...oh wait - that's me. Hehe. I put chopped ham, chopped mushrooms, and a chopped slice of American cheese in mine. I don't ever remember doing these in girl scouts (though we could have - we cooked all kinds of things unconventionally, usually involving de-barked tree branches and fire...LOL), but I am always making omelettes like this now! I ALWAYS have trouble turning them so they look nice, timing when to put the veggies in, overcooking them, and...well, you name it. These come out fluffy and restaurant-style looking (13 minutes cooked it perfectly). Plus, you can make a bunch at once if you have family or company over staying the night! I might start carrying a Bowie knife too, but always asking for my husband to cut stuff with his knife is working good so far. ;) Thanks for this AWESOME recipe/method!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Very good, my 3-year-old loved it. I draped the edge of the bag over the pan and it melted, so make sure the whole bag is in the water and you'll be fine. I also needed 5 extra minutes for my omelette than the exact 13 minutes. Probably because I added peppers and tomatoes and their juice made the egg take longer to cook. My daughters' cooked perfectly in 13 minutes. What a great way to cook omelettes without any extra fat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      This is straight from www.ziploc.com's FAQ section.

      I have read an email that warned consumers about the alleged dangers of using Ziploc? Brand products in the microwave. Is this information true?
      In 2002, we became aware of an email that was being widely circulated, which warned consumers about the alleged dangers of using plastics in the microwave. This email claimed that the combination of fat, high heat, and plastics releases dioxin into the food and ultimately into the cells of the body, thereby increasing the risk of producing cancerous cells. We researched these claims and it is clear that the information is misleading, and unnecessarily alarms consumers.

      Ziploc? Brand products are 100% dioxin free. You also should be aware that dioxins can be formed only when chlorine is combined with extremely high temperatures, such as 1,500?F, which even the most powerful consumer microwave ovens are unable to produce.

      Our Ziploc? Brand products can be used with confidence when label directions are followed. All Ziploc? Brand Containers and microwaveable Ziploc? Brand Bags meet the safety requirements of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for temperatures associated with defrosting and reheating food in microwave ovens, as well as room, refrigerator, and freezer temperatures.

      Like all Ziploc? Brand products, Zip%u2019n Steam? Bags are dioxin free. Additionally, they are specially designed for microwave use and meet the safety requirements of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for temperatures associated with cooking food in the microwave when label directions are followed.

      Please help us alleviate consumers' concerns and share these facts with those who forwarded this misleading e-mail to you, and to whom you may have sent it. Thank you for giving us a chance to set the record straight.
      Can I use Ziploc? Zip%u2019n Steam? Bags to cook on the stove?
      No. Ziploc? Zip%u2019n Steam? Bags are designed ONLY for use in the microwave. Do not use in a conventional oven, under browning elements, or on the stovetop. Ziploc? Zip%u2019n Steam? Bags are not designed for boiling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2012

      Wanted to do something different on a Friday morning at work. Everyone brought what they wanted and everyone tried it. It was a great success. If you add a lot of ingredients you want to go to 15 min. I have already heard of many doing it at home. Try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      Oh, this is fantastic! I love this!!!!! Made this evening, only adding salt, pepper and sharp cheddar cheese. Cooked as recipe instructed. It made a marvelous night time snack! Thanks Pot Scrubber for sharing this delightful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      There is not much that I can say that other's haven't! 5 stars and a BIG thank you for this novel recipe! Perfect for my low carb diet! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Really good. Didn't have much on hand so only used eggs, red pepper, onions, and cheese. Cooked exactly as directed and had lovely, fluffy omelettes! Next time will use ham, mushrooms, and probably a little garlic pepper. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      I tried this over the weekend for my sports team. I brought along one of those portable ovens and boiled the water in it. We used bacon bits, onions, salsa, red pepper, cheese and ham (no milk). The girls and parents all made their own, we cooked about 6 at time. It took a bit longer, I think because it the water wasn't quite hot enough. We had leftover ingredients, so we all did it again the next morning. It was a big hit with girls and parents alike. **I really like the one I made on day 2, we rolled them in tortillas after they were cooked - delicious** Thanks for sharing this recipe, I know we will use it at every time we stay at a hotel from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      I know it is all the rage to boil food in Ziplocks lately, but Ziplock says that they are NOT safe for boiling. However, the Food Saver (sealer) bags say they can be simmered, so I think that would be a safer alternative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      Actually polyphenols are naturally occurring anti-oxidants typically found in all plants and are generally regarded as extremely healthful and thought to decrease the risk of many cancers. There are virtually NO polyphenols present in polyethylene bags.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      I wanted to make a comment that Ziploc and Reynold's both do not recommend using their bags for boiling. Hopefully there would be no ill effects but the bag will melt slightly in boiling water (even the freezer bags) and plastic could leech into your food causing potential carcinogens. I found this article at sacbee.com that claims Rival Seal a Meal one-quart vacuum storage bags and Food Saver VacLoc Vacuum Packaging Bags are both safe for boiling, it will say so on the box. These are a lot more expensive ($8-$10) but worth it for the fun! Also worth it because I don't want to get stuck with cleanup! I'm going to use this recipe when I go camping with 10 of my closest buddies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      It looked really pretty but I did not like the taste. It was very dry. Also it was still slime like after 13 min. I has to microwave it for 30 seconds. I will not be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      Great recipe!! Super easy and delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      Not sure why but ours did not slide out of the bag like an omelette. We ended up scooping them out onto plates, looked more like scrambled eggs. They tasted good, though. If anyone can tell me what I did wrong that would be awesome. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Widow Walker's Ziploc Omelettes

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 554.8
     
    Calories from Fat 351
    63%
    Total Fat 39.1 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 15.5 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 435.0 mg
    145%
    Sodium 1351.5 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 32.2 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites