Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Time Waldorf Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Time Waldorf Salad

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 11, 2003

      A simple recipe without some of the frills you sometimes find in a Waldorf salad -- but really delicious. I like this version better than any I've had. The proportions of ingredients are just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      This is exactly how my grandmother made waldorf salad...if she could afford it she would also add grapes...this is comfort food with lovely memories of my grandmothers kitchen. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      I read many different recipes and settled on this one because of its simplicity. I was skeptical that such a basic list of ingredients could work, but I figured if the flavor wasn't right I could always adjust and add the other (some questionable!) items that many of the other recipes suggested (mini marshmallows...pineapple...banana...yogurt...dried fruit...sugar...splenda...etc.). I was amazed at how simple, perfect, fresh, and tasty this recipe came out. I did use 1Tb lemon juice on my diced apple to keep it from browning as I wasn't sure mayo would do the trick on its own. And since I do like sweetness, but didn't want to add sugar or artificial sweetener, I did add 1 cup grapes, halved. Bottom line: If you are looking for a very easy, very delicious, simple and traditional Waldorf salad, this is it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      YUM-A-Liscious! Made with organic apples and celery. I have not had this in years. It is such a good fall salad. I added about a tsp of lemon juice just for the zing! Thanks so much for posting this and reminding us of simple goodness!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      This is a delightful salad with a wonderful combination of flavours. I think the key to this salad is simply to use the freshest possible ingredients, (preferably organic) and it will turn out fabulous and far superior to any other Waldorf versions with dressings and spices and what have you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2004

      As simple as it gets and the ingredients are in just the right proportion. I seasoned lightly with a little salt. Thanks for a good classic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      Had forgotten how good a simple Waldorf salad can be! I drizzled about 1 tablespoon of lemon juice over the apples when I added the mayo to cut the thickness of the mayo. Dh already called for the leftovers in his lunch-pail tomorrow.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      I used this as a base recipe. I added some vanilla lite yogurt and a dash of lemon juice to the mayo. I used pecans instead of walnuts. I also added grapes, marshmallows, and dried cranberries to it. Turned out very tasty,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I like the simplicity of this recipe. It is very easy to put together and is also very delicious. i added a little Greek yogurt to the mayonnaise and also added some dried red currants. I am serving this dish with dinner tonight (our son and family are coming over) but DH & I could not resist sampling it at lunch time. Thanks Darlene, for such a nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      It doesn't get much easier or better than this recipe. Mom fixed it for Thanksgiving this year and we all devoured it. The combination of flavors and textures are really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      Good, my Mom put sliced bananas in as well. Try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2003

      Yum-my!! Made this for Thanksiving and almost ate the whole thing myself! Followed the recipe exactly and then added some raisins. I loved it. Just like my Grandma used to make. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Time Waldorf Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.6
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    73%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 229.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes