9 Reviews

Very good stew! The allspice and paprika is wonderful in this! I did add my vegetables after 1 hour of meat simmering and then simmered for an additional 45 minutes. There was only about 1 1/4 cups of hot liquid so use only half of the cornstarch/water mixture. Thank you Sweets Lady for sharing. Made for PRMR.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal July 17, 2011

I liked the flavour of this dish, but there was far too little liquid - is there an error in this recipe?

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Atomic Girl Cooks! January 29, 2008

I love this stew! I always double the liquid, cornstarch, and spices because we like lots of gravy. I also add a pack of mixed vegetables. I'm cooking this today and will add diced red potatoes this time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Delicia August 22, 2015

I ADORE this recipe! It does end up with too little liquid at the end, so either enjoy it thick or add more water. I make this without the celery because my husband doesn't like celery, and I use 2 bay leaves, and 1 dash (make sure you don't use any more than one shake of the shaker) of allspice (haven't tried it with cloves). I ALSO make this with russet potatoes because I don't like red potatoes in a stew, they make everything taste sour. LOVE it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikidust January 12, 2009

We enjoyed this stew but I got the "why are you messing around with stew when it was great before?" No sense of adventure. I am not sure what threw him off. I thought it was quite lovely. I did add in some peas to make it look prettier. I also thickened it with flour as that is what I prefer. *Update: As my husband was heating the leftovers today I mentioned that I thought he hadn't liked it. Turns out it was 'spicy' which came from my liberal turn of the pepper mill (my falult). I guess this is a solid 5 star after all!! Thanks for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV July 20, 2008

GREAT STEW, thick & satisfying, the way I remember the stews my mom used to make! Don't think she ever cooked with garlic or bay leaves OR worcestershire sauce either, for that matter, but the addition of those in this recipe sends this stew right to the top ~ Definitely a keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders cooking game]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 15, 2008

Anything that DH literally scrapes the pot to make sure he gets it all is 5 stars in my book! It came out perfect and I omitted the sugar. It's very easy to make. Thanks very much for a stew that I'll use as my standard from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia February 28, 2008

This is a wonderful beef stew recipe. We all enjoyed it. Thanks for posting. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu February 02, 2008

I have Paula Deen's cookbook that this recipe comes from, and it is true that there is far too little liquid...I ALWAYS have to add an additional 2 cups of water, and some beef stock (or bouillon), otherwise it would not turn out well. When I add the water and beef flavor, the stew turns out wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heatherbailey727 December 07, 2013
Old-Time Beef Stew (Paula Deen)