Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old-Time Beef Stew (Paula Deen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old-Time Beef Stew (Paula Deen)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2011

      Very good stew! The allspice and paprika is wonderful in this! I did add my vegetables after 1 hour of meat simmering and then simmered for an additional 45 minutes. There was only about 1 1/4 cups of hot liquid so use only half of the cornstarch/water mixture. Thank you Sweets Lady for sharing. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I liked the flavour of this dish, but there was far too little liquid - is there an error in this recipe?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I ADORE this recipe! It does end up with too little liquid at the end, so either enjoy it thick or add more water. I make this without the celery because my husband doesn't like celery, and I use 2 bay leaves, and 1 dash (make sure you don't use any more than one shake of the shaker) of allspice (haven't tried it with cloves). I ALSO make this with russet potatoes because I don't like red potatoes in a stew, they make everything taste sour. LOVE it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      We enjoyed this stew but I got the "why are you messing around with stew when it was great before?" No sense of adventure. I am not sure what threw him off. I thought it was quite lovely. I did add in some peas to make it look prettier. I also thickened it with flour as that is what I prefer. *Update: As my husband was heating the leftovers today I mentioned that I thought he hadn't liked it. Turns out it was 'spicy' which came from my liberal turn of the pepper mill (my falult). I guess this is a solid 5 star after all!! Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      GREAT STEW, thick & satisfying, the way I remember the stews my mom used to make! Don't think she ever cooked with garlic or bay leaves OR worcestershire sauce either, for that matter, but the addition of those in this recipe sends this stew right to the top ~ Definitely a keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders cooking game]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      Anything that DH literally scrapes the pot to make sure he gets it all is 5 stars in my book! It came out perfect and I omitted the sugar. It's very easy to make. Thanks very much for a stew that I'll use as my standard from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      This is a wonderful beef stew recipe. We all enjoyed it. Thanks for posting. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

      I have Paula Deen's cookbook that this recipe comes from, and it is true that there is far too little liquid...I ALWAYS have to add an additional 2 cups of water, and some beef stock (or bouillon), otherwise it would not turn out well. When I add the water and beef flavor, the stew turns out wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old-Time Beef Stew (Paula Deen)

    Serving Size: 1 (457 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 373.7
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    28%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 96.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 587.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 36.3 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites