Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Time Baked Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Time Baked Beans

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2009

      Great recipe! I used the overnight soak method which seemed to work quite well. I had to split the beans between two dishes as I didn't have one single dish large enough. Be sure to keep a close eye on the beans as they do absorb the water while cooking, I added water about three times to my beans. Thanks for posting Paul!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      My DH is French of Canadian decent from Maine. He loves these. I put a whole onion in the botton of the bean pot and cook for up to 8 hours. Blackstrap molasses are best. Cover the beans with thin slices of salt pork for the best flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      THESE BEANS ARE THE BOMB! I cooked about a cup and a half of dried navy beans (enough to fit in an 8x8 Pyrex baking dish when cooked), halved the "sauce" recipe, added water to cover, and baked at 325 degrees, covered, for 4 to 4-1/2 hours. They went back in the oven the next day to reheat; I added a little bit more water so they wouldn't dry out, and they were F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S! The boyfriend and I can't get enough of them! Excuse me while I check out the rest of Paul Elliott's recipes - THIS one was AWESOME! Thank you so much Paul (and your French-Canadian mother)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      So glad to finally find a baked beans recipe that worked for me. This was fabulous!! I keep prepared beans in the freezer and after Googling for the correct amount I found that 8-10 cups prepared was equivalent to 2 lbs dry. I used a combination of small white beans, red beans, black beans, and butter beans. This recipe is easy and inexpensive and everyone loved it! I will definitely be making these beans again. I might try the crock pot next time to see if that works so I don't need to leave the oven on 6 hours. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      I cheated and used a crockpot (ribs were in the oven!) and these turned out awesome!! The only change I did was use red kidney beans (what I had on hand) and added a little garlic. I was craving baked beans that I didnt have to open any cans to make and these were worth the wait, there were no leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Very good! I added Worcestershire sauce, garlic and a little red wine vinegar. And more mustard. Also, in my household this would make 16-20 servings. Not bad thing to have leftovers, though. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      Too sweet for us, and rather bland compared to beans using salt pork or bacon. I would have to play around with the ingredients to make it to our liking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      These are very good. I made them tonight to go with bbq ribs and we loved them. I did add some crispy bacon (with some of the grease) to this but it didnt need it. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      Great recipe! I did everything but boil the beans after soaking them and they still turned out excellent. They have even more flavor the next day. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      These were quite good. I certainly recommend soaking the beans overnight as opposed to the quick stovetop method. Checking water level is critical! Mine dried out twice. Thanks for posting and I will definitely have another try at these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      These are in the oven now. I did have to add more water after 3 hours. I tasted them at that time and they were great! I can't wait to have them with dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Well, I think I'll have to try this again. I made the recipe per instructions, but put it in my crock pot and cooked on high for 6 hrs. It was very soupy even though I cracked the lid for a while so the liquid could evaporate, but it didn't. I even put smoked bacon in. It really didn't work well for me, and I'm assuming it was the crock pot. There really wasn't a deep flavor and it was really soupy. So maybe I'll try it again in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Very good! I used pinto beans and black beans, and cut back on the brown sugar as suggested. I also added a section of smoked pork ribs. These are probably the best I've ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      Hey,hey,hey another note from the frenchman....where's the pork ("Bajou" in french )?? ,the smoked ,salted pork pieces is a must in that recipe ,the only way to be authentic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      These were too sweet for our taste, and no one wanted to eat them. Extra salt really helped. Next time I would half the brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      I followed the directions exactly and pulled them from the oven an hour early and they were all dried out and inedible! The flavor was good and I could tell they would have been yummy, but they just were overdone. Not sure what I did wrong, but I will try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      OUTSTANDING! I can't believe that this is the second time I have made these but didn't review them! I soaked the beans last night and made up the sauce. This morning I boiled the beans for about an hour before I went to work, drained them, put them into the casserole dish,mixed them with the sauce and popped them into the over ! I had intended on using my crockpot but there were too many beans and not enough crockpot! Hubby took the beans out after about 4-5 hours and called to say they were great. They should be even better by the time I bring them to a bbq tomorrow! Thanks Paul....the first time I made these beans they turned out wonderfully...and each time after so I won't change a thing as I don't want to tamper with perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      These were so easy to make and delicious. I served them to a crowd at a family BBQ and everyone was amazed that I made them from scratch. I don't think I'll ever bother with canned beans again. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      i followed the recipe except cutting out most all of the sugar because i dont like sweet beans and i put in some chipotle flakes for some heat.. the beans were still too sweet for me.? they seemed a bit watery and weak..i cooked them for 6 hours and even put broth instead of water for the liquid but still had to add a lot of salt.. the results were mixed some people thought they were pretty good others wouldt dare a second bite? i love baked beans but i guess this one didnt work out for me. sorry. i;m glad others loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      OMG! I made these for a birthday picnic and they were the hit of the meal. As one eater said, "These beans are to DIE for." Wonderful flavor, easy to follow recipe. I won't ever go back to doctored up canned again! Plus, I can change the sweetness and spiciness as needed for my guests. Thank you for a great, great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Time Baked Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 337.5
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    53%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 839.6 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.9 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 12.8 g
    51%
    Sugars 40.7 g
    162%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites