7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

That's great that they have less fat than some other scones. The texture is a bit too dry. But they were great soaked in coffee. They're good with the raisins. Thanks Annacia :) Made for Zaar Star Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 19, 2012

These scones are wonderful! They have a flaky texture with a nice crunchy crust and the raisins are such a nice addition! The low amount of sugar used is perfect for me as I like my scones to be just slightly sweet with most of the sugar coming from the fruit added to the dough. I made only half the recipe for my sis and me and ended up with 4 big scones cut out with my Easter cookie cutters. YUM, YUM, YUM!!!! THANKS SO MUCH for sharing yet another winning scone recipe with us, Annacia! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #21 April 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula April 03, 2010

Very nice scones - just a tad cakey, but so much lower in fat that you cannot complain. I added some dried cranberries to them, and we really enjoyed them with clotted cream (how I prefer my fat on scones!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte March 09, 2008

Flaky, delicious scones. I used up the special dried strawberries i was sent in the "pink swap" instead of raisins and they were perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba August 14, 2007

DM loved these fresh out of the oven. I was a little disappointed that they did not rise as much as expected but they did have a nice taste. I did use sultanas as that is what I had on hand and would like to try with diced dried apricots and serve with an apricot conserve/jam. Will definately try again. Thank you Annacia. Made for 123 Hot Wonders. The reason for the poor rising was my fault, my baking powder was out of date and they also recommended 2 teaspoons per cup of plain flour (would need to use 5 teaspoons) will make again. Have made again with current baking powder (using 5 teaspoons as per makers instructions) and the scones rose very nicely and were thoroughly enjoyed - I got 11 scones using a scone cutter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 05, 2007

these are very nice light and fluffy scones, the kids enjoyed them with afternoon tea, and I had them at breakfast this morning with marmalade. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andypandy May 26, 2007

Great recipe Annacia. We really enjoyed these quick and easy to make scones. They were light and fluffy and had great flavour. We enjoyed them warm out of the oven with sweet butter & also toasted with applebutter. Very very yummy. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato December 07, 2006
Old Stone House B&B Scones (Ireland)