15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have the ORIGINAL Old Spaghetti Factory Clam Sauce Recipe that was printed on their paper place mats when they first opened in the late 60's - early 70's. I cut it out and still use it. The differences are as follows:

2 - 8 oz. cans of chopped clams with liquid
4 - TBL Flour
2 - tsp. salt
1/2 - tsp. thyme
1/2 tsp. white pepper
Also, the celery should be peeled on the outside (remove "strings") and chopped fine

All other directions are the same. The white pepper adds so much to the flavor and peeling the celery cooks it without "pulp" remaining in the cooked sauce. I like their "Original" recipe better than what I get today at the Old Spaghetti Factory. Even so, I like to add additional clams and garlic. This has become my House Specialty and I have to make double or triple recipe so I can send some home with my guests. Enjoy! Judy N. Vancouver, WA

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheetaah May 01, 2011

My search for a white clam sauce recipe is finally over. I cut the recipe in half but used 4 cloves of garlic and clams from 3 cans. I also added one tsp. italian seasoning and some parsley. Now I have to eat this at the Old Spaghetti Factory and see how it compares. Thanks for the post!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nostress March 29, 2011

I followed the recipe the way "Cheetaah" posted it. It's my go to comfort food and guaranteed to impress! The white pepper makes all the difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laney C. November 05, 2014

Very good! Brings back memories. Would, however, recommend a pint, rather than a quart, of half and half. And maybe cutting back a bit on the celery.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scottjkus June 01, 2013

I have been going to the Factory since the '70's and ordered this dish EVERY time so I am a bit of an expert I would say...I really liked this recipe...is it exact? No, but very close, I like the other reviewers idea of only using the celery pulp as I do not remember tasting any veggies or seeing anything other than the clams in the sauce. I also agree to adding a bit more garlic to punch up the flavour. I will be making it again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElleInVan August 28, 2012

Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzybob August 23, 2010

Excellent. My husband and I finally 'agree' on a clam sauce! We hadn't been able to find one that we both liked. I made this for dinner last night and everyone loved it. I have to admit, I've never tried the Spaghetti Factory version, so this review is for the recipe and flavor alone. It was wonderful. I did use 3 cans of clams and a little extra garlic, just because my family loves them. Thank you so much for the wonderful clam sauce recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheShields April 16, 2010

Pretty good recipe, but I still think it needs a little more work to be the original! I used 3 cans of clams and was perfect. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkylerFox February 01, 2010

This was very good, I was surprised as I really like the red sauce version... I put it over whole wheat pasta and it was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc April 25, 2008
Old Spaghetti Factory Original Clam Sauce