Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Spaghetti Factory Original Clam Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Spaghetti Factory Original Clam Sauce

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2011

      I have the ORIGINAL Old Spaghetti Factory Clam Sauce Recipe that was printed on their paper place mats when they first opened in the late 60's - early 70's. I cut it out and still use it. The differences are as follows:

      2 - 8 oz. cans of chopped clams with liquid
      4 - TBL Flour
      2 - tsp. salt
      1/2 - tsp. thyme
      1/2 tsp. white pepper
      Also, the celery should be peeled on the outside (remove "strings") and chopped fine

      All other directions are the same. The white pepper adds so much to the flavor and peeling the celery cooks it without "pulp" remaining in the cooked sauce. I like their "Original" recipe better than what I get today at the Old Spaghetti Factory. Even so, I like to add additional clams and garlic. This has become my House Specialty and I have to make double or triple recipe so I can send some home with my guests. Enjoy! Judy N. Vancouver, WA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      My search for a white clam sauce recipe is finally over. I cut the recipe in half but used 4 cloves of garlic and clams from 3 cans. I also added one tsp. italian seasoning and some parsley. Now I have to eat this at the Old Spaghetti Factory and see how it compares. Thanks for the post!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2013

      Very good! Brings back memories. Would, however, recommend a pint, rather than a quart, of half and half. And maybe cutting back a bit on the celery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      I have been going to the Factory since the '70's and ordered this dish EVERY time so I am a bit of an expert I would say...I really liked this recipe...is it exact? No, but very close, I like the other reviewers idea of only using the celery pulp as I do not remember tasting any veggies or seeing anything other than the clams in the sauce. I also agree to adding a bit more garlic to punch up the flavour. I will be making it again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      Excellent. My husband and I finally 'agree' on a clam sauce! We hadn't been able to find one that we both liked. I made this for dinner last night and everyone loved it. I have to admit, I've never tried the Spaghetti Factory version, so this review is for the recipe and flavor alone. It was wonderful. I did use 3 cans of clams and a little extra garlic, just because my family loves them. Thank you so much for the wonderful clam sauce recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Pretty good recipe, but I still think it needs a little more work to be the original! I used 3 cans of clams and was perfect. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

    • on April 25, 2008

      This was very good, I was surprised as I really like the red sauce version... I put it over whole wheat pasta and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      This was just WONDERFUL! My whole family loved it and my 9 year old son ate it *before* his garlic bread and said it was "better than mac and cheese". That's a lot coming from such a picky eater! We served over linguini fini with garlic bread and asparagus. I will definitely make this again... maybe adding more clams next time. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Aloha, I was hungry for a good clam sauce and looked at a lot of recipes that were boring. Excellent recipe just like the Old Spaghetti Factory Clam Sauce, very creamy, thick and hearty. excellent flavor! mahalo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      Oh my! It's almost just as a remembered. YUM! And really easy to put together, I made mine with a little bit of fresh chopped spinich (gotta get some greens into those kids) it added some nice color and flavor, I also used 2% milk instead of the half and half. I'd definately recommend it to busy moms, it didn't take much longer than opening up a jar of sodium enriched flavorless sauce from the local Circle K!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      I think it tastes pretty darn close to the Old Spaghetti Factory's Clam Sauce! Actually I always get the Potporri (with the 4 different sauces). My two children liked this as well. The only thing was I only had 1/2 pint of half and half left so I added that and some 1% milk and it still thickened up nicely since the roux did the trick. We served this along with an OSF side dish, Broccoli with Browned Butter and Myzithra Cheese #214388, and a salad. I just found the OSF signature Creamy Pesto House Dressing #105482, which we all love, so I will try that soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      I was trying to find a recipe for Linguini with Clam Sauce that had a creamy alfredo-like sauce. I was having a hard time finding one that looked good and thought "I wish I could find one like they have at the Spaghetti Factory." The lightbulb went on and I looked for their recipe and here it is! It was great and just what I was looking for. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Spaghetti Factory Original Clam Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 573.5
     
    Calories from Fat 414
    72%
    Total Fat 46.0 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 28.4 g
    142%
    Cholesterol 160.5 mg
    53%
    Sodium 1363.1 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 20.7 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites