Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Settlers Baked Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Settlers Baked Beans

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2008

      I made this for the super bowl and it was fantastic. Everyone loved it and it was very easy to make. I only used 1/4 cup packed brown sugar, 2 Tbsp. molasses, 1 Tbsp. prepared mustard and added a 15 oz. can of great northern beans (all beans and juices from cans went into the baked beans). Thanks so much for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      We've used the recipe for years, i and any one else who eats loves it and always wants the recipe. Great for bbqs or party, after you bown the meat and onion just toss every thing in a crockpot let cook for a while then your good to go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      My husband's mom gave me this recipe as it is one of my husband's childhood favorites! He absolutely loves these and requests these whenever I ask him for dinner ideas, LOL! I drain and rinse the beans well to cut down on sodium, and I also use dried ground mustard (the recipe just says mustard, so I wasn't sure which one you meant). Never a lot of leftovers in our family and always a hit at potlucks, bbqs, etc!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      These beans are wonderfull. This is the second time I am making them at the familys request.I just realized I forgot to rate it. The only change I made was to cut back on the sugar.I used 1/4 cup brown sugar and half of 1/4 cup of white. The family prefers there beans less sweet.Also I did not drain any of the beans. Thanks so much we will make these many times more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Great recipe! My changes. Used Splenda for sugars to lower calories, added a little more molasses, 4 cans of beans total (Black, Kidney, 2 Great Northern), 1/2c ground carrots (my son loves baked beans, but not veggies), and 1 can of ro-tel (for the same reason), and a splash of liquid smoke. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      There is a reason why this recipe has 5 stars. Oh my these are good! I also used a bit less sugar (1/2 cup total) and I only used brown sugar. I followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. Perfect, perfect, perfect.....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      I made this recipe sometime ago and ran across it again today to discover I had never written a review! This recipe most definitely deserves a wonderful review. This dish is very flavorful and full-bodied, and could be served as a side or as a main dish. I am so glad I came across this recipe, because I am going to make it again : ) Thanks, Aunt Paula!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      I used to have a similar recipe so was happy to find this. These beans are great! My own tweaks include leaving out the white sugar (just too sweet for me)and rinsing and draining the kidney beans and baby butter beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      These were superb, and your not kidding, the best baked beans yet!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      My whole family loved these baked beans, even my husband, who doesn't usually eat them. They were very easy to make and well worth the time. I'll be making them again any time a bean dish is called for.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      I ate th whole dish by myself.Excellent.The best. You shall get the gold stare In my book Please try this and you will love It. Thank You

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      I cooked this exactly as described. We had company over for grilled chicken. It was so great that our friends asked if any was left over to take home. Sorry, it was all gone. Thank You

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2005

      This was wonderful!!. The first time I made this, I cut the sugars down to 1/4 cup each. Still a little too sweet. Next time I will omit the white sugar completely. The brown sugar and molasses will be enough sweetness for my family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2014

      Comforting delicious baked beans, i used a mix of beans in a can rather than the baby butter as i couldn't find them, otherwise made as directed. Great for a rainy day

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

      I had about 15 people come by to play cards. I made this dish. The restart of the card game was delayed because everyone was still eating this dish, until the dish was gone. I doubled the recipe. This is a delicious dish. I made the recipe exactly as written and would not change a thing. Aunt Paula go on and give yourself a hand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      These were really good beans and a nice change from the usual baked beans. I think I would leave out the hamburger next time, though. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      We loved this. It was almost like a meal in itself. I made this to go with our brisket dinner and it was hit. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Followed the recipe to the letter using the molasses option. Great baked beans. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      I make this only I also add cut up little cocktail smokies in it. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Settlers Baked Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (253 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 655.2
     
    Calories from Fat 272
    41%
    Total Fat 30.2 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 82.6 mg
    27%
    Sodium 1347.9 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.7 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 10.2 g
    41%
    Sugars 32.6 g
    130%
    Protein 29.3 g
    58%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    baby butter beans

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes