27 Reviews

I made this for the super bowl and it was fantastic. Everyone loved it and it was very easy to make. I only used 1/4 cup packed brown sugar, 2 Tbsp. molasses, 1 Tbsp. prepared mustard and added a 15 oz. can of great northern beans (all beans and juices from cans went into the baked beans). Thanks so much for this great recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
livie May 12, 2008

We've used the recipe for years, i and any one else who eats loves it and always wants the recipe. Great for bbqs or party, after you bown the meat and onion just toss every thing in a crockpot let cook for a while then your good to go.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Varga Girl March 02, 2009

My husband's mom gave me this recipe as it is one of my husband's childhood favorites! He absolutely loves these and requests these whenever I ask him for dinner ideas, LOL! I drain and rinse the beans well to cut down on sodium, and I also use dried ground mustard (the recipe just says mustard, so I wasn't sure which one you meant). Never a lot of leftovers in our family and always a hit at potlucks, bbqs, etc!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmistakable1 February 25, 2008

These beans are wonderfull. This is the second time I am making them at the familys request.I just realized I forgot to rate it. The only change I made was to cut back on the sugar.I used 1/4 cup brown sugar and half of 1/4 cup of white. The family prefers there beans less sweet.Also I did not drain any of the beans. Thanks so much we will make these many times more.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef313633 April 10, 2007

Great recipe! My changes. Used Splenda for sugars to lower calories, added a little more molasses, 4 cans of beans total (Black, Kidney, 2 Great Northern), 1/2c ground carrots (my son loves baked beans, but not veggies), and 1 can of ro-tel (for the same reason), and a splash of liquid smoke. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefMei May 04, 2009

There is a reason why this recipe has 5 stars. Oh my these are good! I also used a bit less sugar (1/2 cup total) and I only used brown sugar. I followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. Perfect, perfect, perfect.....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Regina V. Smith April 26, 2007

I made this recipe sometime ago and ran across it again today to discover I had never written a review! This recipe most definitely deserves a wonderful review. This dish is very flavorful and full-bodied, and could be served as a side or as a main dish. I am so glad I came across this recipe, because I am going to make it again : ) Thanks, Aunt Paula!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev March 15, 2007

I used to have a similar recipe so was happy to find this. These beans are great! My own tweaks include leaving out the white sugar (just too sweet for me)and rinsing and draining the kidney beans and baby butter beans.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathyP53 May 31, 2006

These were superb, and your not kidding, the best baked beans yet!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crimper May 21, 2006

My whole family loved these baked beans, even my husband, who doesn't usually eat them. They were very easy to make and well worth the time. I'll be making them again any time a bean dish is called for.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherrya104 April 29, 2006
Old Settlers Baked Beans