Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old School House Yeast Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old School House Yeast Rolls

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2012

      Man oh Man....I love the texture of these rolls; they are soft, squishy, tender and the crust is lightly crunchy and perfectly brown. The dough is a dream to work with but it took longer to rise so beware of this to time your dinner. I thought 400 degree was too high. So, I baked them at 350 for 20 minutes. Boy, they are so good. The next time I will increase the sugar to 1/2 cup, personal preference, as I like sweeter rolls. Thanks sooooo much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      I made these for a Good Friday dinner. What a hit! I think they're going to make it to the Easter table, too! I proofed my yeast in 1/4/ cup of the water, then added all the ingredients at once in my mixer using the dough hook and let it run on the lowest setting for 12 minutes. It worked perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Wonderful! I used coconut oil (the only other oil I had was olive oil) and I used bread flour. I did cut the dough enough times so I ended up with about 32 rolls. After I cut them up I froze 20 of the rolls. I'm hoping that I'll be able to thaw them and then continue on with the second rise and then bake as per the recipe. I'll add a footnote to this review after I've done that. With the remaining 12 I put them in a stoneware muffin pan that I sprayed with a non-stick spray (just in case) and let them rise a second time and then baked according to the directions. They browned nicely on the bottom without turning. Wonderful! Very much like the rolls I remember from my childhood. Thanks so much for the recipe - I'm sure I'll be making these many more times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      This is an amazing recipe! Because there are only two of us and I was trying to conserve on eggs since I was low on them...I made 1/4 of the recipe. (I beat the egg then measured it for half.) When I took the dough out of the machine I new that I would have 4 small rolls...which was fine for just DH and me. I put the rolls in a small pyrex dish lined with parchment paper, covered it and went to my afternoon meeting. When I got home about 2 hours later my small pyrex dish was completely full of raised dough! I thought that the rolls would have big holes in them when they baked since they had been left to raise fo rso long! Not so! Beautiful fluffy tasty rolls resulted...with no holes! Made for Spring PAC 2010 http://www.recipezaar.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?t=327498&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      I saw this recipe on PAC 2010 so I decided to try it. WOW, will definately make again!!!! Thanks for sharing you lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      WowI! Easy and delicious yeast rolls. I already wrote a review but since it's not showing I have to think I must have not completed it correctly. (-; First I enjoyed a warm one out of the oven then I used a few of these to make little mini burgers to take to my daughter at work...they were a HUGE hit! Thanks for posting this Hoof Dr. Made for Pick A Chef, 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      Many, many thnx for sharing this recipe, Hoof Dr. This was my first recipe to try in my new bread maker. Loved the crunch of the crust. Made this to go with Broccoli and Lemon Pepper Chicken Alfredo With Bow Tie Pasta. I had to force myself not to eat more than 2 of your wonderful rolls. Made for PAC Spring 2010. You've been adopted! http://www.recipezaar.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?t=327498&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      I made these for Thanksgiving this year and they were a hit with everyone along with another roll recipe and this one won over!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old School House Yeast Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.0
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    22%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 23.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 301.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites