Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / " Old Ladies on a Bus " Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    " Old Ladies on a Bus " Chicken

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2011

      Love this~ I had to triple the recipe because i had 3x the chicken, but i didn't change any of the proportions. I used chicken thighs, but the sauce became a bit fatty, i guess from the skin. I decided to skim the fat off, before i raised the temp. to 400* so i can get a good glaze on the chicken. I used Sweet Baby Ray's Hot and Spicy Sauce. Just a forewarning, this is an orange flavored recipe. it's not going to mellow out as you cook it. So if you do not like Chicken/fruit combinations, you are going to hate this. I think Pineapple Preserves would be a good substitute to Orange Marmalade.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      Giving it 5 stars, we really liked it. I doubled the sauce, used a whole package of thighs and cooked in my crock pot on low for about 5 hours.. Very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      This recipe is very easy to do. I used homemade bbq sauce. It's a kid-friendly recipe. My son liked it so much. Thanks Alan :) Made for Cookbook tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      We liked this, I really like the sticky sauce I used thighs as thats what I pulled out of the freeze.I used homemade orange marmalade as well. Thanks for psting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      This recipe was delicious! I cut up boneless skinless breasts and marinated them in the sauce for about 8 hours before I baked this. WOW! The flavor really soaked into the chicken and made it wonderful. I personally love citrus and poultry but if you're not a fan, I would avoid this recipe. The orange flavor really came through when I cooked it. My SO didn't care for it, but he is anti-citrus on any kind of meat. I will be making it again, whether he likes it or not! And my picky 6 yo loved it. She said it tasted like I put honey and oranges on her "chicken nuggets." It was a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      We did not care for this. We thought the orange with the barbecue was odd. I think the marmalade would have been better paired with asian spices. The chicken was pleasing to look at and I really wanted to like it. I also love the name of this dish--cute story.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      Very tasty and easy. This was perfect for a day when I was home so able to baste but did not have the time to commit to cooking on the stove top. Next time I would use more marmalade. It was plenty sweet but I loved the orange flavor and craved more

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      I took the advice of others and increased the marmalade and probably shouldn't of, I found the orange rind to taste a bit odd. The chicken was very pleasing to the eye and smelled wonderful, but the taste was just okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      This recipe is great. I doubled the sauce (cuz I like a lot) and added red pepper flakes for a kick. The orange rind in the marmalade makes it seem like it took all day. It also makes a very pretty presentation. So easy and soooooo good!! This is definitely one of my favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      I gave this 4 stars. This is such good chicken. This first time I made this chicken my 6 yrs old niece, 4 yrs old newphew, and future hubby said it was good and I loved it. We still loved it today as it's so good tasting. It smelled great cooking just like I was BBQing on the grill. The first time I used 6 big chicken thighs and this time I used 5 small ones. The first time I doubled the sauce as I like alot of sauce and my chix thighs were so big, but this time I didn't need as much sauce. The neat thing about the sauce it starts out thick but becomes runny and it still makes the chicken great. This time I used sugar free orange marmalade. Overall I will have this again for sure. Thanks to those 2 old ladies on that bus we have another great chicken recipe. Thanks for posting a yummy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      I made this to go to a friends house for supper and it was a hit with all 6 of us. I followed the recipe exactly and it was very nice, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      We liked this recipe very much. It has a wonderful flavor. I used lime juice instead of lemon, because that is all I had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      Quick and easy to make! The only alteration I made was to use only a pound of chicken so there was lots of extra sauce ;). Clean-up was a breeze too since the chicken was on foil in the pan--wouldn't have thought of that on my own since I infrequently cook! Thanks for sharing fellow Floridian! UPDATE: MAde it again with cut up pieces of breast...yuck! in comparison to the bone in version

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      This was delicious! All the kids (& grownups) loved it. I also cut my chicken (5 skinless, boneless breasts) into small pieces (standard in our house) so it would get the flavor on more of the chicken. I only used 1.5 tbsp since some others said 2 was too much. I didn't even notice it; so at least I know 1.5 isn't too much. I might try 2 next time to see if it changes much. I also might add more marmalade because I love getting the little orange rind pieces with the chicken. Thanks for a tasty & simple recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Delicious. I thought 2 tbsp of worcestershire sauce was too much though. So next time I made it i reduced to 1 tbsp. Also increased the orange marmalade to 1/2 cup since it came in 1 cup containers. (I simply used the rest next time I made the dish.) The whole family loved it. I always use boneless skinless chicken breast cut into small pieces so the flavor gets to more of the meat. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      This was a very tasty dish and yes ,will make it again. DH loved it. My changes.. I did use the only bbq sauce I will ever use again [ from # 57185]About a 1/2 tea of worcestershire. I did use my convection setting. 5 stars for a base that stays in my cook book. Thanks Alan for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      This recipe worked well, and everyone ate it and liked it okay, but I didn't find the taste to be very interesting...a little bland even.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      I will be making this again. It was very tasty. I may tweak the amount of orange marmalade a little, but other than that it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

    • on April 27, 2008

      This was very good. I think I might like it better with less Worcestershire sauce. Thanks for sharing. ~Lorie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for " Old Ladies on a Bus " Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 401.7
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    46%
    Total Fat 20.8 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 103.5 mg
    34%
    Sodium 371.1 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 22.4 g
    89%
    Protein 25.7 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites