Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old German Rose Water Sugar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old German Rose Water Sugar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2005

    • on December 29, 2008

      This is a really great sugar cookie recipe for cut-out cookies!!! It is so easy to roll out and the cookies bake up perfectly!!! I love the baking soda being added to the sour cream, it puffed up the sour cream and made for a light and fluffy cookie! You get to see the real chemistry on this one!!!! I did not taste the rose water and I used limoncello liqueur in place of the lemon extract and I didn't really taste that either. They did add good moisture to the dough though. I baked my cookies for just 9 minutes because I don't like any brown or crunchiness about my sugar cookies. Frosted them too with the Frosting for Sugar Cookies recipe by Deb's Recipes. I am searching for the perfect sugar cookie cut-out recipe and this one is definitely in the running for one of the best!!!! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      LOVE the flavor of these cookies. The rose water and the lemon are perfect together. Very easy to make, too! I can't wait to share these with my family on Thanksgiving. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      These cookies are simply delicious. Since using rose water which I think has a very suductive tastes and sends a romantic message to the brain when it hits the pallet, I went along with the whole romantic theme. I rolled out the dough and used a small heart shaped cookie cutter. After baking I spread strawberry jam on half of my little heart cookies and then topped with another heart shaped cookie, with my end result (a heart shaped cookie sandwich with strawberry filling in the middle. This would be really cute for valentines or any special ocassion. How more romantic can you get with a heart shapped cookie that has a wonderful hint taste of roses with a strawberry filling! You have the strawberries, hearts and roses all in one! Needless to say these babies have all been gobbled! The cookies tasted even better the next day. After letting the them rest over night all the flavours really pulled through. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I always wonder how people measure their cups, so I usually go by ounces. At 4 1/2 oz per cup I still ended up going to about 16 oz and I thought it was perfect. So keep that in mind while measuring out your flour. For Rose Water I distill my own since we have our own roses. Should be able to search on a search engine for distilling rose water easily. The first time I made these, I went by the directions and they didn't last long. Gone almost before they cooled! The second time I rubbed a little sugar on them before baking them. Only reason they're not gone yet is because everyone is asleep! I baked for 15 minutes. I also made my own lemon extract for this using lemon peel and vodka. Very simple and wonderful! As soon as my vanilla beans come in I will make my own vanilla extract as well. Sehr gut!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2006

      Excellent cookies; the rose and lemon flavours pair beautifully. I made egg-shaped sandwich cookies for Easter, with a lemon scented white chocolate ganache as the filling (yuuuumm...). The dough was soft and I was afraid it would be hard to work with so I put it in the fridge for a few yours (but no, I didn't attempt to roll it before I chilled it, so I can't tell). I baked them at 350 degrees for around 9-10 minutes which was perfect, but I roll my dough very thin. Thank you for this GREAT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      Loved the old fashioned taste of these. I used swedish cookie cutters in the shape of gazelles, penguins, etc & they looked like the cookies from a box of animal crackers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2005

      Very good, found them even better after a day of mellowing. Just sprinkled with colored sugar before baking, don't need any enhancements to their flavor. Dough is very easy to work with. I will be making these often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      This cookie is Christmas for me.My mother just to make them,but I did not have a recipe and I am very happy to find it.I made some right away and they are delicious with the taste of rose water. Reminds me of Christmas in Germany.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

      These are really good cookies. If you like a hint of lemon, you will like these. I think icing on them would really enhance the flavor as well. Very easy to put together and make. The final product is a soft, buttery, lemony cookie! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old German Rose Water Sugar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (834 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 91.1
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    33%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 13.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 45.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rose water

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites