Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Halloween Central >

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    Try These Petrifyingly Perfect Party Bites
    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    19 Boo-tiful Baked Goods
    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    A Tasty Snack For Your Little Goblins
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old-Fashioned Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old-Fashioned Vegetable Beef Soup

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 09, 2009

      This was my first time attempting to make a Vegetable Beef Soup, but this recipe made it so easy! And it was OMG delicious!! I omitted the hot pepper sauce for personal preference and added a half can of tomato sauce; I also added extra potato and some cabbage, and it came out wonderful! Thanks for this great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2003

      Wow! This was wonderful! It's so tasty and yet easy to make. I left the hot pepper sauce out for dietary reasons, but it was still great. I'll be making this again throughout the winter. Thanks, Inkling, for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      This is a great vegetable beef soup. I really liked the little touch of spice from the hot sauce. I did add a pint of canned green beans. Thanks for the keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      Finally! I found the recipe i've been looking for. Two small changes when i made it; used fresh garlic and instead of water used 4 cups v8 juice. SO GOOD. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      A delicious and satisfying soup. I used "Rotel with green Chilis" in place of the canned tomatoes. The heat was 'over the top'!! I wont be doing that again...unless maybe 1/2 can Rotel and 1/2 can tomatoes, because we like the heat. Thanks for a heartwarming recipe, Literary Mom!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      Absolutely to die for! I doubled this recipe for my man-sized eaters and it was fabulous! I used left over prime rib meat and bones instead of stew meat. I also used hot sauce with lime in it because that's all I had. I slipped in a sweet potato (peeled) along with a regular (unpeeled) potato. I omitted the celery and put in some cabbage. It was excellent!! My family loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2013

      Very good soup recipe! Very easy to put together and soooooooo tasty. Love it and this is a definite do over. Thanks so much for sharing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      Very good!!! Thanks for sharing!! I added cabbage!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      So delicious on this cold, snowy day! I , too had to change up the recipe a bit. I had decided to make a bigger pot of soup so when I realized I only had 2 cans of tomatoes I substituted a 10 oz. can of Rotel for the 3rd can of tomatoes the 6-8 servings recipe called for and omitted the hot sauce. Also, our family prefers green beans over peas so I substituted 1 1/2 cup of those. I added a little bit of salt to taste, and mmm-mmm-GREAT! Thanks for a wonderful Vegetable Beef Soup recipe ~ I doubt I'll ever use another.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      OMG!! This was the first time I've attempted to make Vegetable Beef soup so I was a bit intimidated. This was so easy and so delicious! I modified it a bit because I was lacking a few ingredients but it still came out wonderful. The recipe made quite a bit; so I had leftovers and boy was I glad. It was even better the next day. I would completely recommend this recipe especially for the first timer soup maker. Delish!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      This was tasty, most of the family liked. The kids not so much, but you know how kids can be about veggies. Served with rolls, some family members put the rolls in the bowl before serving the soup. We added a cup of frozen beans also.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      By golly, this is good soup!The pepper sauce adds a lot of zip. I used some left-over prime rib and left out the peas and potato (personal preference). Thanks for posting!!! Caroline

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2004

      inkling, Wonderful, hearty, easy to make meal, thanks, Darlene

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2014

      I don't know what went wrong. I followed this recipe to the tee. It has no flavor whatsoever. I was concerned about all the water that was called for in addition to the beef broth, but I followed the recipe anyway. The picture of the soup doesn't look anything to the watery mess I ended up with. I don't know what I can do to save this and avoid wasting a huge amount of food. Gross!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2014

      First time making vegetable beef soup. Used 1 1/2 lbs beef tips and added green beans.<br/>I also simmered for five hours the flavor was amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      this recipe is just ok. i omitted the hot sauce which is very un-needed.. in place of the peas i added roughly chopped baby spinach leaves, barley, and i added homemade tortellini. was amazing. this recipe has quite a few flaws but it's a good starting point..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2013

    • on October 23, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old-Fashioned Vegetable Beef Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (688 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 429.3
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    28%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 72.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1040.5 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 9.0 g
    36%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    42%
    Protein 34.8 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites