20 Reviews

Have been trying different shortcake recipes to find one like Mom used to make. Sister copied her recipes and definitely left something out on the shortcake recipe. This shortcake tastes just like what Mom used to make ~ just slightly sweet, dense and moist. It's the perfect compliment to the beautiful fresh strawberries that we're enjoying at this time of year!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
golfgirlt1217 July 05, 2012

Derf, This was the easiest and tastiest shortcake we have ever had. It was simple to make and not time consuming at all. In fact, I've made it 4 times this month already. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Summer Breeze July 11, 2003

this was old fashioned, simple, and downright delicious! So glad I took your dare! Mmmm-mmmmm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 July 03, 2003

This is a PERFECT classic shortcake recipe. I do not add any extra sugar to it because it is not meant to be sweet! The cake part is meant to be a biscuit; salty and slightly sweet. It is the whipped cream and strawberries that is meant to make it all come together. It is not meant to be a really sweet desert. I make this every Mother's day for my mom because she loves it (which is really saying something coming from MY mother! Thanks for sharing this treasure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen Clary May 13, 2012

De-lish! I loved this recipe - so simple, but wonderful. I also added 1/4 C of sugar to the biscuit mix to add a little sweetness to the biscuits. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juneaux June 10, 2010

I really want to make this, but I'm a bit unclear; most of the reviews mentioned adding 1/4 C Sugar, however the recipe lists 1/4 C sugar! Does this mean that you used 1/2 C total? Or has the recipe been edited since these reviews were made?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bopp September 01, 2009

Fantastic-i made this when the inlaws were here and they were very very impressed-easy to make ahead and assemble just before serving-a definate keeper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angel-mae & cleopatra's mummy August 28, 2009

Instruction seems a little difficult to follow if you are making it the first time. It also doesn't tell you how much butter to melt, or how much fat (butter) to cut in. I just cut in all butter in the dough. I didn't understand how to make it two layers with the butter in between, therefore I just made one layer, scooped into muffin pan. Luckily I added 1/4 cup suger with the dry ingredients, the flavor is great. I have never like biscuits, but this recipe is awesome! Please adjust the sugar in the dough according to your own taste. Without sugar it is rather bland. I also served it with light whipped cream bought from the store.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayarich July 15, 2009

Very good, but agree with some other reviewers that a couple of tablespoons of sugar in the shortcake would improve it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbmidura May 29, 2009

I liked this, but I thought the cake part was lacking just a bit. Maybe it needed just a bit of sugar like the other review said? It was still really good and our dinner guests raved about it and went back for seconds. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pismo April 26, 2009
Old Fashioned Strawberry Shortcake with Sweetened Flavoured Whipped Cream