16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Another classic cake recipe from Inez. It is easy to make and just yummy to eat. I made this cake on real butter and not margarine. It is so worth it. The balance of spice ingredients is perfect. As I ate this cake, it kept minding me of cinnamon roll. I iced this cake with Inez's Yummy Caramel Frosting # 21896. MMMM heaven!!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissyo December 02, 2002

This cake is very yummy! I made it twice to try to perfect for my tastes. I like the spices doubled. I think it is a tiny bit dry the first day (especially for all the butter) but if you cover it and refridgerate over night it really moistens up to perfection. The spices become richer as well. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Jesika* April 20, 2009

My cake needed to bake longer than the 40 minutes to get done in the middle. I thought the cake needed more spices. Next time, I will follow advice of other reviewers and use 1.5 times the spices. Cake was moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doods January 31, 2015

I made this recipe on 9/26/12 for the " Cook-A-Thon " honoring MizzNezz. I wasn't going to make the full recipe,but decided to any way ( Read:wasn't paying attention and added the full amount of baking soda,& baking powder). Instead of baking in an 9 x 13 pan, I made a layer cake. But after cooling and frosting with Yummy Caramel Frosting,then cut a slice and found the cake to have a good flavor but slightly on the dry side. If this is made again, I just might add a touch of applesauce for a bit more moisture. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � October 01, 2012

LOVED IT! I made this up ahead of time for Christmas Eve (after baking and allowing to cool completely, I froze it.) The spices are absolutely perfect in this delicious cake. I brushed some simple syrup on it before freezing and frosted it after thawing with a French Burnt Sugar Frosting. Everyone raved about it, some saying it was the best cake they'd had in years. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks MizzNezz for a great recipe, please see my rating system.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup May 21, 2012

Yummy yum yum! I love spice flavored desserts and this did not disappoint! My cake came out nice and moist but took longer to bake than stated (about an hour). My oven tends to do that though! I topped the cake with your caramel icing which reminds me of the glaze that comes on maple bars! Can't wait to have a small slice with a nice cup of coffe in the morning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slatts June 03, 2010

After reading that the cake was a bit dry for some I noticed how stiff my batter was so I thought that this would be a great opportunity to blend in some pureed zucchini and make a zucchini spice cake. I have to say that this is definitely my preferred way to eat zucchini! The cake turned out perfectly moist, perfectly spiced, just perfect! I frosted it with some cream cheese frosting, sooooo yummy. Thank you, next time I will throw in some applesauce and make an applesauce spice cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec January 13, 2010

This is a really good cake! I topped it with cream cheese frosting and we just couldn't stay away from it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shwltr78 October 20, 2008

Delicate flavor, moist cake. Very nice and I wouldn't change a thing to this recipe! I would add more cinnamon, but just as a personal preference but as it stands, follow to a "T" and you will be pleased with the outcome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Duncan Mahogany September 17, 2008

This cake rated 5 stars for flavor but was a bit dry...which may be entirely my fault, though. I made it in two 8" cake pans and they were pretty dark pans which may have affected how it baked. The flavor was wonderful though and I will definitely make it again. I used a cream cheese icing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie March 16, 2008
Old Fashioned Spice Cake