Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned Spice Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Spice Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2002

      Another classic cake recipe from Inez. It is easy to make and just yummy to eat. I made this cake on real butter and not margarine. It is so worth it. The balance of spice ingredients is perfect. As I ate this cake, it kept minding me of cinnamon roll. I iced this cake with Inez's Yummy Caramel Frosting # 21896. MMMM heaven!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      This cake is very yummy! I made it twice to try to perfect for my tastes. I like the spices doubled. I think it is a tiny bit dry the first day (especially for all the butter) but if you cover it and refridgerate over night it really moistens up to perfection. The spices become richer as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      I made this recipe on 9/26/12 for the " Cook-A-Thon " honoring MizzNezz. I wasn't going to make the full recipe,but decided to any way ( Read:wasn't paying attention and added the full amount of baking soda,& baking powder). Instead of baking in an 9 x 13 pan, I made a layer cake. But after cooling and frosting with Yummy Caramel Frosting,then cut a slice and found the cake to have a good flavor but slightly on the dry side. If this is made again, I just might add a touch of applesauce for a bit more moisture. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      LOVED IT! I made this up ahead of time for Christmas Eve (after baking and allowing to cool completely, I froze it.) The spices are absolutely perfect in this delicious cake. I brushed some simple syrup on it before freezing and frosted it after thawing with a French Burnt Sugar Frosting. Everyone raved about it, some saying it was the best cake they'd had in years. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks MizzNezz for a great recipe, please see my rating system.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      Yummy yum yum! I love spice flavored desserts and this did not disappoint! My cake came out nice and moist but took longer to bake than stated (about an hour). My oven tends to do that though! I topped the cake with your caramel icing which reminds me of the glaze that comes on maple bars! Can't wait to have a small slice with a nice cup of coffe in the morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      After reading that the cake was a bit dry for some I noticed how stiff my batter was so I thought that this would be a great opportunity to blend in some pureed zucchini and make a zucchini spice cake. I have to say that this is definitely my preferred way to eat zucchini! The cake turned out perfectly moist, perfectly spiced, just perfect! I frosted it with some cream cheese frosting, sooooo yummy. Thank you, next time I will throw in some applesauce and make an applesauce spice cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This is a really good cake! I topped it with cream cheese frosting and we just couldn't stay away from it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      Delicate flavor, moist cake. Very nice and I wouldn't change a thing to this recipe! I would add more cinnamon, but just as a personal preference but as it stands, follow to a "T" and you will be pleased with the outcome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      This cake rated 5 stars for flavor but was a bit dry...which may be entirely my fault, though. I made it in two 8" cake pans and they were pretty dark pans which may have affected how it baked. The flavor was wonderful though and I will definitely make it again. I used a cream cheese icing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

    • on October 23, 2007

      This was a beautiful cake! Very moist, rich in flavor, and my husband actually would not let me make frosting for it because he loved it so much as it was :) Only thing I had to change was using milk and vinegar instead of buttermilk (didn't have any on hand and couldn't run out to get some). I used apple cider vinegar, to see if it would add any extra flavor, and I think it did a little bit. Thank you for a great spice cake recipe!!! Updating Oct 23--forgot to say I cooked in two loaf pans so I could give one away. Baked about an hour, covering after half way through, and then frosted one with Penuche Frosting....the brown sugar flavor went great with the cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      yum! I halved the recipe and baked in one 8 inch round pan for about 30 minutes. I also multiplied the spices by 1.5, which is delicious, but probably only if you're going to eat it plain as it might be a little too strong with frosting. About using full-fat buttermilk, I always just use the conversion to add a tablespoon or so of melted butter to the 2% milk and vinegar. I used a little more than a teaspoon vinegar with about a tablespoon butter and 1/2 cup milk (use 1 T vinegar for the 1 cup milk). Mine wasn't dry at all. Thanks !! I'll be making this a lot this fall. I think when I frost it next time I'll use whipped cream, mixed with 1/2 package of cream cheese and maybe vanilla and cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      Delicious. Left out the cloves but added some extra cinnamon and nutmeg to compensate. Frosted with my "Vanilla Buttercream Icing" (Vanilla Buttercream Icing). I actually got 15 slices out of this lovely cake. A wonderful, perfect dessert!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      First time I made this cake it turned out dry. When I checked my ingredients, I discovered that my buttermilk was 'light'--not good for baking cakes! I baked it in two 9-inch pans to create a layer cake and frosted it with cream cheese frosting (Cream Cheese Frosting) Despite the cake being a bit dry for my taste, my friends loved it and devoured it! I have made this again with full buttermilk and what a difference! Love the spiced flavor of the cake--rich but not over powering. I used freshly grated nutmeg and freshly purchased cinnamon--think that helped the flavors to sparkle! Also, I loved that this cake is so easy to put together!! Thank for a great cake recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2006

      I made it again with 1.5t of all the spices and WOW! Spice cake nirvana!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Spice Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 412.7
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    38%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 103.4 mg
    34%
    Sodium 316.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 34.4 g
    137%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes