17 Reviews

Very easy to make this GREAT TASTING CORNBREAD! Had it with a chicken dinner & the leftovers went well with a turkey chowder! A great recipe to keep on hand! Many thanks for posting it! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars Tag Game]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 23, 2008

Thank you for the great recipe!! turned out great i did add just a little vanilla to it. the texture was terrific. thanks again. this recipe will be used often!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jandk2011 May 23, 2012

This cornbread has a lovely texture: its moist and soft on the inside with a nice crust to the outside. The taste is nice, only barely sweet and perfect to accompany a chili or a hearty meal. YUM! I think I would have liked some more flavour, though. Maybe some vanilla added or if youre going into the hearty direction some garlic or chilli powder.
All in all a very easy and quick to make recipe with good results that Ill make again slightly tweaked due to personal preference.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, appleydappley!
Made and reviewed on recommendation of Sydney Mike June 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula June 13, 2011

This was the best cornbread I have ever eaten! Sure beats Jiffy Mix!!LOL Loved it in the iron skillet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jh623 January 07, 2011

This was a very nice southern cornbread and I knew we would like it because it had very little sugar. However, mine never did rise and I followed the recipe to the letter. Flavor was still there though. Went well with my beef and cabbage soup. Thanks Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ November 15, 2009

Great cornbread to have with chili! Not too sweet, just like we like it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindymcleod62 August 13, 2009

Nice cornbread. I made as directed but next time would need to add more sugar. I would recommend adding 1 to 2 tablespoons. Mine baked in 20 minutes exactly. Thanks AD. Made for win in The Best of 2008 Cookbook Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana March 29, 2009

Pretty good, but kinda gritty. Then again, that could have been my cornmeal. I, too, think a little sweeter would have been tastier, even if it is less authentic. Only took 15 minutes in the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny March 25, 2009

This went great with chili last night - I love the smooth texture of this cornbread! I did add a bit more sugar (actually splenda) because we like our bread a little bit on the sweeter side. I'd make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI February 08, 2009

This is delicious! Made exactly as stated and it turned out wonderful. I will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 February 04, 2009
Old Fashioned Southern Cornbread