19 Reviews

Great cornbread to have with chili! Not too sweet, just like we like it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindymcleod62 August 13, 2009

This is delicious! Made exactly as stated and it turned out wonderful. I will make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 February 04, 2009

This is very good cornbread. A perfect accompaniment for chili or soup. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario December 28, 2008

This was a great bean soup cornbread -- crmbly, but not too crumbly, and great to soak up the bean soup. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe December 27, 2008

Very easy to make this GREAT TASTING CORNBREAD! Had it with a chicken dinner & the leftovers went well with a turkey chowder! A great recipe to keep on hand! Many thanks for posting it! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars Tag Game]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 23, 2008

I made this recipe tonight. I doubled the recipe and used stone ground yellow cornmeal. I used two old Griswold cast iron muffin pans. I will make this again it was good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Overgaard April 08, 2016

Been looking for a low calorie delicious cornbread. This is it. Tweaked a little. Olive oil, King Arthur's white wheat flour and reduced sugar almond milk. My husband and I both loved it. Will be making it from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen F. April 07, 2016

Thank you for the great recipe!! turned out great i did add just a little vanilla to it. the texture was terrific. thanks again. this recipe will be used often!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jandk2011 May 23, 2012

This cornbread has a lovely texture: its moist and soft on the inside with a nice crust to the outside. The taste is nice, only barely sweet and perfect to accompany a chili or a hearty meal. YUM! I think I would have liked some more flavour, though. Maybe some vanilla added or if youre going into the hearty direction some garlic or chilli powder.
All in all a very easy and quick to make recipe with good results that Ill make again slightly tweaked due to personal preference.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, appleydappley!
Made and reviewed on recommendation of Sydney Mike June 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula June 13, 2011

This was the best cornbread I have ever eaten! Sure beats Jiffy Mix!!LOL Loved it in the iron skillet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jh623 January 07, 2011
Old Fashioned Southern Cornbread