Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned Sour Cream Salad Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Sour Cream Salad Dressing

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2002

      When I mixed this up, I was concerned because it is quite ---- no, I mean QUITE ---- tart! I thought perhaps that I'd read the recipe wrong (I didn't) or that Sue had meant more than 1 teaspoon of sugar (perhaps a Tablespoon?) I was wrong on both counts. While it might overpower some of the more mild-tasting greens, my usual romaine lettuce and onion salad benefitted quite nicely from this dressing. I imagine a spinach salad would be good as well. I also tried it with lime juice, which was very good (actually, I made that first, since I'd started the recipe before realizing I was out of lemons) I used up the last bit of the one with lime today, mixing it with some lightly steamed (still crispy) cabbage that was leftover from dinner last night. It was excellent. I was curious to see if it would work on fruit salad, so yesterday I tried some on a mixture of canned pineapple and sour cherries. That was also excellent. Thank you, Sue, for this versatile dressing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2002

      OMG Sue, this was GREAT! It sounded too easy, but it made a Wonderful Dressing, Great Taste! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      Reminds me of the sour cream dressing at Coco's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2014

      Just made up a batch of this and then whipped up an amazing salad with this as my dressing. Awesome. I follow a low carb/high healthy fat eating style so I use a full fat, pasture raised sour cream and then followed the rest of the recipe completely. I will be using this in my salad dressing rotation often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      I found it bland until I added some crushed garlic and Dill. Then it was amazing. Thanks for the base.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      Quick and easy, esp. with a cuisinart for mixing. However, I think it needed a little something extra and I threw a generous handful of parsley in and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      This sauce was great on sliced cucumbers and cherry tomatoes! I halved the salt and it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I added hot sauce, garlic powder, onion flakes and extra paprika. It was fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

    • on February 01, 2005

      This is terrific! Even my husband, the carnivore, loved the salad I made with this dressing. I used half the salt, but I added a pinch of garlic salt. It came out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2004

      Found this to be salty, and would reduce/remove salt from recipe next time. Quite thick, and kids enjoyed it as a dip vs. dressing. Great taste with extra paprika and a bit of garlic powder (just bc everything tastes better with garlic!). Thank you!! Steph in Ontario

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2004

      I added garlic to this one..my grandmother used to make this. Then I peeled up some cucumbers very thinly sliced let them sit in a little salt and squeezed out the liquid. I added the dressing and wow..I love cukes like this! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2002

      Oh, YUM! Loved your salad dressing, Sue L. Really easy to mix up and it went great on our tossed salad. Thanks for posting a dandy! Laudee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Sour Cream Salad Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (285 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 375.7
     
    Calories from Fat 327
    87%
    Total Fat 36.3 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 21.1 g
    105%
    Cholesterol 95.6 mg
    31%
    Sodium 2008.3 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites