49 Reviews

I tried to make this heart healthy for me - I used half 2% milk and half water and used Splenda to sweeten and no butter. It still turned out wonderful! Creamy and fragrant with the plump raisins. I too turned off the crockpot when the rice was done with the mixture was still liquidy and let it stand until thickened. Oh my, so yummy! Thanks for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vicxstar February 05, 2013

I am not a huge rice pudding fan, because I'm funny about certain textures. Therefore I don't often make it, however I have made this, and it tasted fine to me, and is probably the rice pudding recipe I will continue to use in the future.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 July 23, 2010

I just dropped the dog at the kennels so really needed comfort food when I got home - this took 3 hours on high and was perfect - what a dream recipe not to have to cook the rice first !! Made for Holiday Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew September 12, 2009

Oh, YUM! I've never made rice pudding before, but I will be making it a lot from now on! If only I'd known before how simple it is to make and how much better it is than storebought! I followed Heath*J's suggestion and let the pudding cook for about 2-2 1/2 hours, then let it set in the cooker with the heat turned off for about 45 minutes or so. It was the perfect texture, creamy and soft and warm (but not hot). The sweetness and spiciness was just exactly right. Made with 2% milk, and it was nice and creamy. I topped it with sweetened, vanilla-flavored whipped heavy cream. Thank you so much for posting this simple and delightful recipe, appleydapply! Made for Holiday Tag game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve December 23, 2008

This worked well and was delicious! Creamy comfort food! I have an older crock and when I cooked for the time specified (3hrs) it was a little too done and slightly mushy. I made note of that and will make adjustments for next time and only cook it 2 hours. I followed Boomette's review and also used less sugar and it was still wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) November 29, 2008

This really hit the spot. I followed the recipe almost exaclty. I used brown rice instead of white and that worked out great. I also added some chopped apple and a little vanilla. The apple cooked up perfectly. Thanks for a comforting snack on a cold day. Made for Beverage tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seesko November 18, 2008

My friend posted this recipe to her Facebook page... Well it's the second time I've made this recipe in a week.. So easy, so tasty! 5 stars!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pklesley61 November 25, 2012

This rice pudding is SO good. I reduced the sugar to less than 1/2 cup. Perfect. I used almost a teaspoon of cinnamon. No salt. I had whole milk. And I used only 1/4 cut butter. Yummy as is without whipped cream. Thanks Appleydapply. Made for Beverage tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 13, 2008

This was fantastic and super easy. I made a few changes based upon my tastes and the other peoples' reviews. I used 3 1/2 cups milk and then added a splash at the end because I like it really creamy. I used about 1/2 cup sugar and 3-4 T butter. I also replaced the ground cinnamon with 7-8 green cardamom pods (to resemble kheer). I served it with some fat-free half and half and it is gone already! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomtoAJC August 06, 2008

Love this recipe! I have even measured ingredients and taken to work. I throw everything in the crockpot when I arrive and let it go. The office smells delicious and everyone loves the treat! I do make this "vegan" in that I use almond milk (vanilla unsweetened or sweetened depending on desired sweetness). I also use vegan Earth's Balance butter. Very yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlawsdeshields April 12, 2016
Old Fashioned Slow Cooker Rice Pudding