Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned Slow Cooker Rice Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Slow Cooker Rice Pudding

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2014

      Soooo easy and really yummy! This is the closest to my grandmother's I have tried. I like making things by the recipe first before making any changes... This was definitely a little too sweet for my tastes. Next time I make this, I will definitely try a half cup, if not a third cup of sugar and add in raisins, just like my grandma used to. Recipe as is, is surely a great start to making rice pudding if you have never tried before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2014

      I got this recipe from food.com and love it as does my husband he had two bowls right after dinner today. I had not read any reviews before making it for the first time today and I wish I had. As others have said, next time I will cut down or eliminate the butter all together. There was lots of butter sitting around the edge of the bowl when it cooled. Sweetness was okay but may cut down on that too since we like to add whipped cream. Like the idea of turning off crock pot before it is done and letting it sit so it is creamier. Overall a five star keeper and will be making more of it. Thanks for the great tips all .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2014

      Excellent. As per some reviewers advice I added some cardamom and vanilla beans (my idea.) I also turned the crockpot off after it was almost done. It had a creamy consistency and then after cooling became hard as a rock. No worries there since there was only a teeny bit left and reheated with a little milk. I like the fact it didn't make my whole house hot being it is the summer. My kids hated it, but they don't like rice pudding so no surprises there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2014

      I've made this several times now, & I'm loving it. I did learn a few things, & try a few tweaks. I used medium grain rice instead of long grain, for a creamier pudding. I also swapped in some coconut milk in one batch for a bit of coconut flavor & it was epic!<br/><br/>I also learned don't forget the salt, or the sugar doesn't taste sweet enough. I also feel you should start out with maybe half the sugar (I use splenda BTW) and add more to taste.<br/><br/>The most important note though - when you scale up the batch size, you're going to have to scale up the time. I doubled the recipe once, and it took about double the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2014

      I took only one star away because in my opinion the recipe is not perfect, but very close to perfect! Still, the first time I made it it was a hit with everyone in my house because of flavor. Following the recipe to a T, It was simply too dense to be what I consider true rice pudding. You could EASILY mold a firm snowman out of this rice pudding if you wanted to for any reason. Next time around I got creative and replaced half the milk with melted vanilla bean hagen daaz ice cream. I used xylitol in place of the remaining sugar, as well as a bit of honey. I agree with other reviewers that you can easily cut the sugar content of this recipe down without losing flavor. Personal preferences there. And lastly, I took the advice of other reviewers and turned off the slow cooker after 2 hours and 15 minutes. PERFECT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      Thought it was very good. I only used half of the sugar called for and added vanilla extract and raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2013

      This is a nice dessert recipe to keep on hand for making over and over again. I did tweak it a little bit by adding only 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of 3/4 granulated sugar. After 2 and a half hours slow cooking, the rice absorbed all the liquid and turned sticky. I let it sit until cool down and served with vanilla ice cream. The texture and flavor was great! Will try to add more milk to cut back the thickness next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2013

      Taste good, but doesn't look great. The milk curdled a bit, so there was little lumps. How can I stop this from happening, next time?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2013

      I've never made rice pudding and it sounded good tonight. I used Jasmine rice (it's what I use) and reduced the sugar a tiny bit, but not much. It's perfect! I loved it! I would definitely watch it towards the end of cook time - mine was still all liquid, I stepped out and boom - done. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      GREAT RECIPE! Cooked 2-2 1/2 hours.... then turned off while still milky and let it cool covered 45 minutes. Thanks so much for this nostalgic awesome treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      Cheap. Easy. YUM. Just put three dots of butter on top of raw mix, cut sugar back to half a cup and threw in a handful of sultanas. Turned off while runny but rice cooked and let thicken. So simple. So delicious. My favourite ever recipe for my slow cooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      We had this today just as it was written. I doubled it so it did take longer to cook. It received many compliments from our guests. I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      With so many positive reviews and the easy convience in making this dish, we were disppointed how this turned out. Instead of using cinnamon, I used 5 small cinnamon sticks. The rice looked like it had overcooked eggs in it...probably from the butter. As with previous reviewers mentioned, I took the lid off, without stiring it, and even after 1/2 an hour it was still pipping hot. My SIL eats everything I put in front of him and even he backed off from this one. The five of us have decided... this will be a pass!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Gorgeous. Delicious, easy comfort food. I used 1/2 cup sugar, and 2 cups of milk/1 cup of single (pouring) cream). Mmm, I love rice pudding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Hi I tried this recipe last week and was very pleased with it. I added raisins during last hour of cooking and I think this made the pudding a bit too sweet. So when I make this again I'm going to cut back to 1/2 cup sugar. I also thought some butter flavoring/extract would be good. The cooking time was right on and the Uncle Bens Converted Rice I had worked perfectly. Thanks for a great recipe. Update 04/14/09: Cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and added about a teaspoon of vanilla extract and some raisins. I served with a splash of half and half on top completely yummy!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Made for the *Best of 2008* cookbook game, this pudding is pure comfort food pleasure & such an easy fix. I made the recipe exactly as written except for adding 1/4 cup halved raisins. After reading all the reviews, I decided on a cook time of 2 hrs & 15 min, but accidentally cooked it an extra 15 min. I think the combo of the liquid absorbed by the raisins & the extra cook time made it less creamy than expected, but the recipe is very forgiving. I just added 1/4 cup milk to the mixture & then let it have the rest time to cool & get creamy again. Using raisins does chg the colour to a light golden brown & the cinnamon flavour is truly wonderful. We ate it slightly warm w/spray variety whipped cream & a dusting of nutmeg. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. *Yum* ! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      5 Stars! I had no problems making this one at all. I did increase the cinnamon quite a bit, but followed everything else to the letter and 2 hours 15 minutes in my crockpot was perfect. I was delighted that I didn't have to stir it constantly or put my oven on for it. I was even more delighted when it came to taste... evenly cooked rice and creamy! Please see my Rating System: an easy rice pudding recipe that is creamy and so simple! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I made this for the Christmas dinner dessert... and no one ate it... Mine turned out like wallpaper paste! My guests actually discussed throwing it against the wall and seeing if it stuck in a blob or ran down... $$ was on sticking like a blob. The taste was pretty bland as well... I like rice pudding and I was so excited to try making it on my own! I think with maybe a little tweeking, I could make this recipe work for me and mine... but it will take some experimenting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      I love the simplicity of this recipe! The first time it came out not as creamy as we like, so I made some revisions the 2nd time and it came out perfect! I used 1/2 cup Splenda and 3 1/2 cups 2% milk, cooked it for 90 minutes and then let it sit in the pot for about 15 minutes until it was almost the desired consistency. Into the fridge it went and when cooled, it was perfect! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      This is exactly what it says; took 3 hours for me. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Slow Cooker Rice Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 350.3
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    38%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 44.1 mg
    14%
    Sodium 177.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 24.9 g
    99%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes