45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe countless times over the last year as I was very ill and it was one of the only things I could eat. This is definitely a keeper for our family. Over this time I have tweaked it a little to suit myself so here goes: 1. I leave out the butter completely. I felt I could do without the added fat and cholesterol. It makes no difference to the taste or texture of this wonderful pudding. 2. I usually turn the slow cooker off while the pudding is still runny, but the rice is cooked. Makes it less thick and gives it a "creamed rice" texture! 3. Goes very well with any bottled fruits like apple, berries, nectarines, peaches, apricots etc. 4. I add a few cardamom pods - scrummy! 5. An alternate version I make is substituting the 3/4 cup granulated sugar for 1/2 cup dark brown sugar and a tablespoon of golden syrup (treacle would work well too if you aren't fortunate enough to have golden cane syrup in your country!) 6. If you don't like this pudding this sweet, just cut down the sugar to 1/2 cup..........yummy! Hmmm......I wonder how it would go with Chocolate milk instead of regular milk..........watch this space.......:)

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glennie Annie January 12, 2010

Easy & tasty (i did cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup figuring I could add but not take away & it was just sweet enough for me)! However, as others said, very thick (kind of like a solid after 2 1/2 hrs). I added about 1 1/2 cups of milk on the keep warm setting to make it creamy.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSULisa December 31, 2010

Easy to make and delicious! I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup Twin sugar, added a cinnamon stick (in addition to the ground cinnamon), vanilla, and 2 cardamom pods, I also only used 2 tablespoons of butter and served without the whipped cream. Next time I will watch over the crock pot more closely though. I left and came home after about 3 hours and it was bubbling over so next time I will either cook lower or stay home and keep an eye on it.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee November 06, 2010

I've made this recipe 4 times and this is the first review - it is soooo easy and sooooo good. A handful of raisins is the only addition I make. This is such a family favorite that my son requested it be served at his 17th birthday party instead of birthday cake!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CanadianFarmgal January 10, 2010

This is one fantastic rice pudding! As did the others, I loved the ease with which this can be prepared. Rice pudding is one of my family's favorites and with this convenient recipe I'll be making it a lot more. I used all of the sugar, and 2 1/2 cups whole milk and 1/2 cup of light cream. I cooked mine for 3 hours in the crockpot and let it cool down a little before serving. It was quite thick, so I made it a second time using reviewer Heath J's tip -- I cooked the pudding until it was still a little liquidy, and it thickened up quite nicely as it cooled and came out with a texture that was firm but not too thick. Thanks for posting this easy and delicious recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester October 11, 2009

Very easy to make and tasted nice, but I have to agree with Kat's mom, it was very sweet. When I make this again I will only use 1/2 cup of sugar as well.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NovaM April 18, 2010

A tasty dessert, but even better cold for breakfast! I reduced the butter to 1/4 cup. We found it to be a bit sweet, so next I will use only 1/2 cup of sugar. Thanks for sharing such an easy recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat's Mom March 12, 2010

This is really easy and delicious. I have a small crock pot so I cut the recipe down to 2 servings (which ended up being 3 servings) and I found it a little bit sweet for my taste so next time I'll cut down on the sugar. I also ended up cooking it on high for about an hour and then turned it down to low until the liquid looked like it was all absorbed because I was a little worried it was going to burn. I'll definitely make this again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Penguin Baker October 23, 2009

Yum! Although I dotted the butter over the top as I had this cooking on a timer while at work.... it still formed a lovely cinnamony crust! I also only used 1/2 cup sugar and added 1/2 cup of cream (substituted out of the milk measure). I also added some grated lemon rind - yum!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Gonewest February 05, 2009

My hubby LOVES a good old fashioned rice pudding just like his ma used to make... I LOVE to make him things he loves esp when they are this super fast and easy. So I looked for a rice pudding recipe that didn't require pre-cooking the rice and/or having left over rice, so I could make it regularly for him. I actually printed this out about a yr and a half ago and forgot to rate it. I've probably made it for him monthly since. I've used 1%, 2%, and whole milk in it, depending on what I have. His preference is whole milk first, and organic 2% milk a very very close 2nd. I usually use the 2% just to not have it be as high fat. The only thing I do differently is to throw in about 5 cinnamon sticks instead of the ground cinnamon. In my pot, it only takes about 2 - 2.5 hrs. I like to stop it slightly liquidy looking still (but w/ cooked rice, of course) - and then just let it be for a bit, as it does thicken up still as it sets. Otherwise, it gets too thick for his liking. Also, when you think it's done - resist the urge to stir. Just let it set covered a while so the texture stays right and it thickens up. It is truly perfect in my hubby's opinion :-) Thank you!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heath*J December 30, 2007
Old Fashioned Slow Cooker Rice Pudding