Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old-Fashioned Rice Custard Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old-Fashioned Rice Custard

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2002

      Gayle, thank you, thank you, THANK YOU. I love my stovetop rice pudding and have been making it for almost 20 years, but for almost that long I have been searching for an oven-baked rice pudding that was creamy and custardy. And now I've found it! I don't usually like rice puddings made with long-grain rice -- they're usually too chewy and too dry -- but this was absolutely superb. It is very moist with lots of custard. The instructions are clear and simple and the recipe was easy to prepare. I sprinkled cinnamon on the individual servings as I dished it out. Now I know what I will be doing with all my leftover rice -- making this yummy dessert! Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      Wow!! Now this is rice custard the way my Great-Gran used to make. Never thought I would find a recipe even remotely close. Just brilliant. I agree with Lennie, very creamy, custardy and easy. My Great Gran used to sprinke hers with some cinnamon sugar so that is what I did. Delicious. Thanks Gayle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      I've never made rice pudding (or custard) before. This turned out really well! I added cinnamon and substitued in one cup of buttermilk. I needed to bake it for much longer than the recipe called for, but that is likely due to my prehistoric oven. I plan to make this when my mother comes to visit next. Thanks for posting...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      The cooking time as stated was just perfect. I added a bit of brandy along with extra vanilla for a kick and omitted the raisins as personal preference. The custard turned out rich and creamy and absolutely heavenly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Every time I try to search for a rice pudding recipe like this I can't ever find it. They all have pudding in them. Why? When this is far superior. My mom makes a rice pudding like this, every time I ask for the recipe she can't give me one, because there isn't one. She just throws stuff together and it magically works. Well, now I can make the pudding that I always had growing up too! Thank you so much Gayle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      This rice pudding turned out wonderfully!! I did make a few adjustments like I only added 4 eggs, and I doubled the rice. I loved it and I will certainly be making it again. Thanks Gayle for a great recipe to add to my collection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2011

      This brought back so many wonderful memories of when mom would have this waiting for us when we got back in from the barn. I made this yesterday and it was just like moms. I had to call her last night and tell her that someone else could make the same homemade pudding like she did. It made for a wonderful old fashioning chat and laughter. Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      I LOVE this recipe. I made it last night to have for breakfast this morning and can't stop eating it!!! I have been looking for a recipe like "Mom used to make" and this hit the spot. I did up the rice to 3 cups, just for personal prefrence, and added some cinnamon. I have never made a custard or anything with a custard and this came out perfect, not a problem. have already printed it out and put in the old recipe binder to keep forever. Thank You, Thank You, Thank You

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      I agree that this is simply the best recipe hands down for rice custard pudding. I made this for the first time on Thanksgiving 2007 and doubled the recipe without any problems.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      This recipe has received so many rave reviews, I know I must have done something wrong! I made exactly as written, but omitted the raisins, as I don't care for them, and followed the directions exactly. Somehow my "custard" was all on top (it had big chunks of egg white and wasn't very sweet), and the rice was all on the bottom (kind of watery and extremely sweet). I did stir it once after 30min. I can't understand why this happened! Can anyone shed some light? All I can think is that maybe my problematic oven messed it up (things seem to cook at odd timings in this particular oven - at a rental house). I ate it all anyway, a few days in a row, just had to stir it up first, but I love rice pudding and didn't want even a *weird* one to go to waste! :) Any suggestions would be great - I want to try it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      This was my fist attempt at making a rice custard and it is the easiest and best tasting dessert that I have tried in a very long time. My boyfriend said it was every bit as good as his mother when she was alive. This was absolutely wonderful and easy. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      Gayle, the flavor of this Rice Custard was good, but mine (unlike everyone else's :o(! ) didn't turn out creamy and custardy and I LOVE my rice pudding to be c & c! It almost looked like my eggs curdled or separated (?). I'm not sure why it didn't turn out as expected...the only changes I made was to add cinnamon and to omit the raisins...I don't think that should change the texture of the pudding, though. I kept the same temp and baked for 1hr 20min. M&Mers

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2003

      The cooking time was longer than given in the recipe, so the rice ended up on the bottom. It took at least 1 hr. 45 min. It tasted good though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2002

      My search is over! I've been looking for a delicious baked rice pudding recipe for a while and I am glad I found it. And with raisins yet; a plus. We have a weekly "Recipe Exchange" column in our local newspaper and a few days ago a local who wrote in was looking for a recipe exactly like this one. I forwarded it; hopefully they will print this in the column this upcoming week. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2002

      I grew up with this recipe and love it. It was also my Dad's favourite, really, he would pick it in preference to chocolate cake or just about anything.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2014

      This is REAL Rice Pudding-what I grew up on. Haven't been able to find a recipe with the right proportions to make it creamy, smooth and eggy enough to be called custardy until now. I only had 1 cup of rice left from supper, so I scaled the rest of the ingredients proportionately. I only had 1% milk so I used a combination of 1/2 & 1/2 and milk to make it richer. Added a little cinnamon and a smidgen of nutmeg. I also baked mine in individual custard cups - portion control for me, and I was also able to leave out the raisins on some of them for a hubby who doesn't care for them. I stirred the dishes after 30 minutes and then baked for 15 minutes longer (small dishes). The rice and raisins were perfectly distributed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2014

      Like many other reviews, my rice went straight to the bottom. I sitrred 1/2 way through, but it didn't matter. The flavor of the custard was good, but it ended up being a layer of rice and a layer of custard. I don't know how you could keep that from happening. The rice is heavy and sinks to the bottom. That is just the way it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2014

      First time making rice pudding and it turned out great. Was looking for a custard type rice pudding and this was just like my favorite rice pudding I buy at a restaurant. I did add a little cinnamon and nutmeg. Cooking time was exactly as stated in recipe. Thanks for a recipe I will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2014

      I have had a recipe for rice pudding that I thought couldn't be beat. BUT, Gayle, this is the best ever. My son-in-law loved it even more than my old recipe, so thank you so much for sharing. I did use 2 cups of rice and added dash of cinnamon over the top. It was so smooth and custardy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      When I originally found this recipe there were only a couple printed reviews of how wonderful it was. I don't eat rice pudding but make it stove top for my husband so I figured I would try this since it had such a great rating. The raisins were all in the bottoms as well as the sweetener even though we stirred it too. Ours curdled on top too as well as never cooked fully. I took it out after 1:45. Not one person at the brunch tried it. My husband the garbage pit who's family are bakers & he loves sweet stuff says it was way too sweet. What a waste of ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old-Fashioned Rice Custard

    Serving Size: 1 (202 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 391.3
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    21%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 203.0 mg
    67%
    Sodium 326.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.0 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 43.4 g
    173%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes