7 Reviews

WOW! I made three different types of cookies today and these were by far the best. I luv their crunchy on the outside yet soft on the inside texture and their light vanilla flavour. I quartered the recipe and got 15 cookies out of it. I did reduce the sugar by half and thought they were still nice and sweet. Thanks for sharing this outstanding recipe with us, Toni! I will most definitely make it again. Made and reviewed for Potluck Tag Game March 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula March 26, 2009

Fantastic! I quartered the recipe and they turned out perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
orchid623 May 27, 2012

These are great home made, real old fashioned, cookies. The sort that kids will remember fondly, not to mention dh's, lol. Quick and easy to make but I found them to take longer to bake. They went for 20 mins on convection and were still quite soft, Dh says that they have a lot of flavor and and he gave 5 stars on the first cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia October 08, 2008

I was surprised that I like these cookies as much as I did. Normally I love the spices in my raisin cookies, but I found that I could not stop eating these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen November 04, 2007

My family is Acadian- some of the very first to the maritimes- and in my search for more family info, I decided to search for recipes too. It is the simple food that is the best, and these are up there. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lady Clare March 16, 2007

Very nice tasting cookies, & although I'm a raisin lover, I had a hard time NOT dumping more things into these [you know, like nuts, chocolate chips, etc]! However, I wanted to taste the final product as intended, so stuck with the recipe AND WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED ~ as I said, very nice tasting, very enjoyable. And, as is common around here, they didn't last any time at all! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 12, 2007

Oh my goodness these are great! I kept peeking around the corner to see if my Grandma was in the kitchen baking these cookies. What a trip down memory lane. I did mix the ingredients in a little different order ie; butter and brown sugar first, eggs (jumbo eggs) and vanilla next, flour,salt and baking powder next, and then the raisins- After the first pan I realized...I FORGOT THE MILK! Honestly, they did not need anymore moisture, maybe because I had used jumbo eggs? I used a 1 1/2 tablespoon scoop, and baked for 16 minutes on a parchment lined baking sheet. Next time I make these, I will probably not use jumbo eggs (I don't normally buy them) so I will add a little milk, maybe not a whole cup though. Again Toni, these were outstanding and are going right into my Personal Favs Cookbook. Nick's Mom

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. October 01, 2006
Old Fashioned Raisin Cookies (Acadian)