Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old-Fashioned Pan-Fried Pork Chops Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old-Fashioned Pan-Fried Pork Chops

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2011

      A must try!!! I mixed the seasonings in with the flour, adding Tony Chachere's and replacing a little red pepper with ground black pepper. DELISH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      I never fry anything but an egg for the hubby on Sunday mornings for breakfast. But when he brought home the most beautiful center cut pork chops today, all he could say was "pan fried pork chops", over and over. The hubby knows this is my favorite place to come for recipes, so he actually came here and searched for recipes. When he found this one he said "This is IT!"<br/>I started with 4, 3/4 inch center cut chops. I made 2 double batches of the seasonings. I put one batch in the flour and used the other double batch to season the meat. Hubby and I both like well flavored meat and we love both paprika and cayenne. I used sea salt and fresh cracked black pepper. The garlic being doubled is a given. :) <br/><br/>I put about 1/2 cup of vegetable oil into my electric skillet, as it is big enough to hold all the chops at once vs. my smaller iron skillet. And since I've never fried a pork chop, it was going to make it easier to manage the temperature as well. I dredged each chop in the seasoned flour and placed it directly into the skillet, one at a time. I cooked each approx. 3 mins. on each side and then set on paper towels for another 8-10 mins. We are not gravy people (not to mention I felt guilty enough "frying" anything!), so we skipped the bacon/gravy steps, but who needed gravy? These chops were absolutely the best either of us had ever made or eaten. They were so juicy and so tender. I firmly believe the added spices into the flour and doubling them made these the hit they were for the both of us. Hubby couldn't stop raving about how good they really were and hasn't stopped patting himself on the back for being the "genius" who brought home the chops and found this recipe! Lol! It truly is a keeper recipe and I'll even make the "sacrifice" and fry a bit more often if it's this recipe! Thanks Alan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Good thing to revisit pan-frying. As a farmer, this it the epitome of good ol' cooking. In moderation, this meal is wonderful! All aspects fell together, and I followed this exactly as written. There is no need to change anything, perfect seasoning, perfect timing on cooking, all which produced a truly succulent chop that was a joy to devour. Thanks for posting, this was a true treat from the past. And looking ahead in the future. Used my old iron skillet. Just wiped clean and I was done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2014

      These were hands down the best pork chops I have ever made. I had to try your recipe because it reminded me of the way my Grandma always made pork chops and chicken. Who knew what a difference it makes to let the pork sit for 10 minutes after dredging it in the flour mixture then dredging it again before cooking it. I did change a couple minor things like others I added the seasoning to the flour but I doubled the seasonings as we tend to like a lot of seasonings. The other thing I did instead of cooking bacon I used some bacon grease that I had stored in the freezer. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2014

      A good case for pan-frying! Center-cut pork loin chops are prone to dryness, but the 1/2 cup of vegetable oil with the bacon fat took care of that! These were well-seasoned, and prompted me to serve DH a "man's meal" with mashed potatoes and succotash. DH was in heaven, and I gnawed all the remaining meat off my chop! Made for I Recommend tag game based on the recommendation of ~Nimz~.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      Just terrific! First time in years that I've gotten pork chops "right".

      Son said his chop was just about the best he's ever tasted. Thanks for posting this recipe, Alan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      The spice combination in this recipe is perfect. I had a 1 pound pork tenderloin that I sliced into about 1 inch thick steaks and that worked out perfect. Missed the flavor the bone adds but still a great flavor. We don't fry food very often, but when we do, we appreciate a great recipe and this one will be repeated at some point. Great southern comfort at its finest. thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      Wow, these were AWESOME!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old-Fashioned Pan-Fried Pork Chops

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 724.8
     
    Calories from Fat 434
    59%
    Total Fat 48.3 g
    74%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 141.3 mg
    47%
    Sodium 451.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 45.3 g
    90%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites