Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2013

      This is an amazing recipe! I did make a few changes when I tried it. Instead of shortening I used unsalted butter. For the sugar I used 3/4 c white sugar and 3/4 c light brown sugar. I added 1/2 more oats for a total of 2 1/2 cups of oats. I also reduced the oven temp from 400 to 375 and baked for apx 12-15 minutes instead of 10. Result was soft, cake like cookies with a crispy edge. These are almost like Grandma's (but better).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2013

      I have used this exact recipe for years and think it is the best oatmeal cookie I have ever tasted....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      I needed an oatmeal raisin cookie recipe that had no milk or butter, these worked!
      400 degrees is too hot for the oven. Reduce heat to 350 and bake for 8-10 minutes.
      We liked the cookies, but they could have used more flavor. Maybe next time I'll add some ginger and nutmeg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Well, I never can leave well enough alone! These are great cookies! So, the second time I made them, I subbed dried blueberries (DH & 2 sons) don't like raisins. I was worried about the blue color in the water until my friends daughter said 'HOW COOL!! PURPLE COOKIES!!" I guess we'll use them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Good, but these are more "cake-like" than I prefer. Nice flavors. I added a few extra raisins and nuts with great results. I guess I prefer the recipes that call for butter instead of shortening. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      These are the BEST oatmeal cookies I have ever made. The raisins reminds me of Mom's homemade raisin pie, the spices fills the house with such a wonderful aroma, and this is one recipe I am going to keep forever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      These are the first oatmeal cookies I have baked that I liked. My only suggestion would be to make sure you boil the raisins WAY ahead of time to give them time to cool. It seems like common sense, but the first time I tried them, it was late at night and I needed them for the next day. I poured the raisin liquid in the cream mixture immediately after it finished and it melted the cream mixture and the cookies were terrible. I did let them cool for the second batch (the next day when I was a little more alert) and they went off without a hitch. Also, it didn't specify quick-cooking oats or the regular kind, but quick-cooking works great. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      This review is from my husband , I don't like oatmeal raisin cookies , but he loves them, so I made them for him. He loved the cake like texture and said the spices were just right for him. I got a thumbs up and a "you're keeping this one, right" ? LOL Thanks for posting Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      Well, the smell of Oatmeal raisin cookies warms the air in my home as the temperature drops to -48 degrees F outside. These golden brown cookies cakey type cookies are very comforting to say the least. They have a great crispiness to the tops and a moist cake like texture in the middle. I followed the recipe exactly however I did add semi sweet mini chocolate chips to the last third of the dough so that my little one would eat them. Instead of dropping a teaspoon full on the parchment lined cookie sheet(like I was suppose to after re- reading the recipe before writing my comment) I used a rounded tablespoon. They are big fluffy cookies. It yielded 36 cookies. Next time I will add more cinnamon and cloves as a personal preference (passion) to cinnamon. Thanks for a great recipe Marie !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      I've made these for 40+ years (compliments of my old tried & true 1964 Betty Crocker Cooky Book)and love how they always turn out. My only difference (personal taste only) is to use pecans instead of walnuts. Thanks for posting this old friend of our family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      This receipe is amazing! Even our friends that are not big oatmeal raisin cookie fans love them! They turn out so nice and moist. Thanks for the great receipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      Very good. Simmering the raisins give them a very sweet taste. I felt that they could have used a little more oatmeal though. Next time, I think I'll add 1/2 cup more. Thanks, Marie, for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2004

      These cookies are Excellent. Thanks Marie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      I made these when I was visiting my new boyfriend in wi. Marie not knowing he didn't like oatmeal. So I got to eat them all myself the best cookie I ever ate thank you for the recipe. I just added 2 tea of pumpkin pie spice in place of the cloves and cinnamon. Was awesomee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      Oh, Marie! These are simply wonderful & very addictive! I only had to bake mine for 8 min. before they were browned nicely. Very, very yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1489 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4272.7
     
    Calories from Fat 3782
    88%
    Total Fat 420.2 g
    646%
    Saturated Fat 104.0 g
    520%
    Cholesterol 62.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 657.9 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 129.2 g
    43%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 65.0 g
    260%
    Protein 13.2 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites