15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an amazing recipe! I did make a few changes when I tried it. Instead of shortening I used unsalted butter. For the sugar I used 3/4 c white sugar and 3/4 c light brown sugar. I added 1/2 more oats for a total of 2 1/2 cups of oats. I also reduced the oven temp from 400 to 375 and baked for apx 12-15 minutes instead of 10. Result was soft, cake like cookies with a crispy edge. These are almost like Grandma's (but better).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Sarah November 04, 2013

I have used this exact recipe for years and think it is the best oatmeal cookie I have ever tasted....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lyndjer August 06, 2013

I needed an oatmeal raisin cookie recipe that had no milk or butter, these worked!
400 degrees is too hot for the oven. Reduce heat to 350 and bake for 8-10 minutes.
We liked the cookies, but they could have used more flavor. Maybe next time I'll add some ginger and nutmeg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinaJohnson February 01, 2011

Well, I never can leave well enough alone! These are great cookies! So, the second time I made them, I subbed dried blueberries (DH & 2 sons) don't like raisins. I was worried about the blue color in the water until my friends daughter said 'HOW COOL!! PURPLE COOKIES!!" I guess we'll use them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RunninL8 December 29, 2009

Good, but these are more "cake-like" than I prefer. Nice flavors. I added a few extra raisins and nuts with great results. I guess I prefer the recipes that call for butter instead of shortening. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride December 17, 2008

These are the BEST oatmeal cookies I have ever made. The raisins reminds me of Mom's homemade raisin pie, the spices fills the house with such a wonderful aroma, and this is one recipe I am going to keep forever.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brwns612 January 22, 2008

These are the first oatmeal cookies I have baked that I liked. My only suggestion would be to make sure you boil the raisins WAY ahead of time to give them time to cool. It seems like common sense, but the first time I tried them, it was late at night and I needed them for the next day. I poured the raisin liquid in the cream mixture immediately after it finished and it melted the cream mixture and the cookies were terrible. I did let them cool for the second batch (the next day when I was a little more alert) and they went off without a hitch. Also, it didn't specify quick-cooking oats or the regular kind, but quick-cooking works great. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom24grlz November 21, 2007

This review is from my husband , I don't like oatmeal raisin cookies , but he loves them, so I made them for him. He loved the cake like texture and said the spices were just right for him. I got a thumbs up and a "you're keeping this one, right" ? LOL Thanks for posting Marie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marlene. October 14, 2007

Well, the smell of Oatmeal raisin cookies warms the air in my home as the temperature drops to -48 degrees F outside. These golden brown cookies cakey type cookies are very comforting to say the least. They have a great crispiness to the tops and a moist cake like texture in the middle. I followed the recipe exactly however I did add semi sweet mini chocolate chips to the last third of the dough so that my little one would eat them. Instead of dropping a teaspoon full on the parchment lined cookie sheet(like I was suppose to after re- reading the recipe before writing my comment) I used a rounded tablespoon. They are big fluffy cookies. It yielded 36 cookies. Next time I will add more cinnamon and cloves as a personal preference (passion) to cinnamon. Thanks for a great recipe Marie !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snowbaby January 12, 2007

I've made these for 40+ years (compliments of my old tried & true 1964 Betty Crocker Cooky Book)and love how they always turn out. My only difference (personal taste only) is to use pecans instead of walnuts. Thanks for posting this old friend of our family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ January 12, 2007
Old Fashioned Oatmeal Raisin Cookies