15 Reviews

Why do people buy boxed macaroni and cheese when you can easily prepare it at home?
Macaroni and Cheese is one of the best examples of comfort food: creamy, rich, satisfying, delicious. I reduced the cheese to about 4 cups shredded and used a combination of Oregon-made Bandon sharp cheese/New Zealand white sharp cheddar and increased the breadcrumbs to 1 cup. A light sprinkle of paprika on top for color and contrast. One suggestion-slightly undercook the pasta because it works better in the long one. Served with steamed romanesco and a simple tossed salad with vinaigrette. Thanks for posting, Katzen. Reviewed for Veg Tag/October.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl October 29, 2011

I halved this recipe and it fit perfectly in my little 6 1/2 x 6 1/2 corning ware casserole dish, but after tasting it I wished I had made the full amount. I made exactly as written, except that I added a slice of Velveeta cheese over the sauce on each of the layers. I have never made mac and cheese where you sprinkle the cheese over the macaroni and then pour a white sauce over it. I had always added the cheese to the sauce and then poured that over the macaroni. I must say this made for a creamy and delicious macaroni and cheese. I made half the recipe and ended up with about 2 1/2 servings. The leftovers reheat very nicely and doesn't lose any of its creaminess. My MIL loves mac and cheese, but has never made homemade mac and cheese. I will have to make this over at their house and give them a special treat. Thanks for the great recipe, Katzen, and thanks for recommending this recipe, Baby Kato. Made for Best of 2010 Cookbooks Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 February 18, 2011

I halved the recipe and kept the measurements proportionate. I used shredded cheese for ease, and found that this seemed to work. Loved the white sauce....almost let it get too thick. :) Only thing I might change is to leave the breadcrumb topping off....I think I'd rather just enjoy the creaminess without the crunch! Thanks for sharing. Made for Best of 2011 tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 23, 2012

Wow, what a decadent treat this is! YUM! Its so cheesy, saucy and mmmm yummy! I loved having the differerent layers and cheese everywhere. :) However I found that 3 cups milk would have made the sauce soupy, so I only used 2 and I also reduced the cheese quite a bit as I thought that was enough for our taste. Even so this turned out very, very decadent and cheesy. :)
I also left out the breadcrumbs and added some spices and herbs to the sauce (paprika, black pepper, garlic powder, Italian herbs, cayenne pepper).
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing a real keeper with us, Kat! Ill definitely make this again and again and again. Next time I think Ill use half shredded and half cubed cheese just to see what a difference it makes.
Made and reviewed for PAC Fall 2011 - Youve been adopted! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula October 30, 2011

Well, for 10 servings, the 4 of us managed to wipe our plates clean again and again. GREAT dinner here. Loved the cheese too. I did leave the salt out though, and might use seasoned breadcrumbs next time instead of plain crumbs, but still a top 10 recipe for us here. Made for Zaar`Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker May 30, 2010

Made this to share with a housebound neighbor couple who would probably eat mac & cheese everyday if I'd make it for them, that is! One of these days, though, I'll make this just for the 2 of us & we'll be able to enjoy leftovers for several days ~ This is just that great tasting, for sure! I did, by the way, top it off with breadcrumbs from a nutty & hearty whole grain bread! Thanks for sharing your recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 10, 2010

This is a great macaroni and cheese recipe! It was rich and cheesy, without being too heavy. And the leftovers were great re-heated! Followed the recipe exactly. Will definately make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hkcurry April 06, 2010

This is the best Macaroni and Cheese I have ever tried. It was rich, creamy, cheesy and very light and airy. My dh & I were in taste heaven. This is similar to how my dad made his, except that he added cheese to the bechamel sauce. I used old cabiatta bread for the breadcrumbs. Sooo delicious. I can't wait to make this again. Kudos on a magnificent recipe Katzen. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 05, 2010

The kids throuly enjoyed this for their dinner tonight. I made it exactly as directed except I added some diced ham and peas to make it a full meal. It is usually the only way I get the kids to eat veggies. Thanks for a great mac and cheese recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seesko January 03, 2010
Old Fashioned Macaroni and Cheese