Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned Luncheonette Hot Dog Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Luncheonette Hot Dog

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2013

      This was really simple and very good. Thanks for sharing. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2012

      Tasty, simple and special!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      North of you in Milwaukee, we've made hot dogs (and burgers) this way for years. They're call "Butter Dogs" or "Butter Burgers". Both are delicious. The buttered and pan fried/cooked buns are what make these truly special!! But--buy butcher shop hot dogs (not a commercial brand)--better taste and quality by far!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Yes-sir' ~ this is a hot dog. Absolutely how I remember it oh so long ago. I followed this exactly, except used "lobster-style" hot dog rolls (cut is in the middle on top instead of the side) which flattened out perfectly for browning. Yum, love the chopped onions on top. Boy, this is just perfect for a lovely Labor Day weekend. Thanks for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      I never had a luncheonette hot dog growing up. Now that I see what I was missing, this will be my only hot dog in the future. What a treat! Thanks for posting DiLo. Made for Fall 2009 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      Great recipe! I love a good hot dog! While watching Paula Deen on TV one day, she fried hot dogs using butter instead of frying them in oil! Delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      Great way to make hot dogs.. tastes like fried bologna.. love it, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      I've made this for dinner two nights in a row now. I used to love the hot dogs from the lunchcounters of my youth, and this easy recipe fit the bill perfectly! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I have made this 3 times and it is the only way I will prepare hotdogs. I have shared the recipe with others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      This was a quick and easy meal to prepare! I only would recommend that you use a larger pan to frying/toasting the buns then when you fried/grilled the weiners. I also recommend using a good tasting weiner such as ballpark or oscar meyer because the wiener is what makes the hot dogs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Very Good. Made these tonight for a simple dinner along with mac & cheese and baked beans. It's not so much the ingredients, but the method that made the hot dogs so good. I am sure we will be enjoying these again soon. Thanks for posting DiLo. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      i made these tonight for my mom after working a long 16 hour day and she loved them! followed exactly....next time i might use less oil but these were very good as is thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      We loved these. I made these for dinner and my DH and DS loved them. I also enjoyed these. Very easy to make. My son added cheddar cheese to his along with BBQ sauce, but he likes BBQ sauce on everything. We will be making these again. Made these for the PAC Fall o8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      I loved these! My Grandma used to make hotdogs for me this way all the time. Thanks for the memories. MAde for PAC Fall 08.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      AWESOME! I knew I had to make these when I saw the recipe. Truly a good old-fashioned, all-american hot dog! I used Nathan's hot dogs and topped it with my homemade relish, fresh diced tomatoes and French's mustard. WOW -- So good! Thanks for posting. I will never in my life make my hot dogs any other way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Oh gosh what memories this brings back. Woolworth's used to do this with hot dogs here in Southern California. I'm going to go out right now and get the ingredients. Thanks a lot for reviving a happy memory.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Luncheonette Hot Dog

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 547.9
     
    Calories from Fat 273
    49%
    Total Fat 30.3 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 47.7 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1439.0 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 18.5 g
    37%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites