103 Reviews

LIke going to heaven! Made exact with a little white wine! made twice this week!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmboulanger June 07, 2013

Can't believe how easy this was. I remembered I had a can of clam sauce that I bought for the first time and hadn't used yet, so when I saw this recipe I was thrilled. I didn't see that you needed 3 cans so I just made a smaller portion and it was delish! So simple. I used dry seasoning but fresh parsley. I like that it had a little heat to it with the pepper flakes. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlh314a April 19, 2013

Doubled the recipe, DH and in laws loved it! Finally a linguini and clam sauce that actually has clams! I did thicken the sauce a little with corn starch and some clam juice~~per another review. Lovely meal with crusty bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Mother Earth October 26, 2012

This is easy, quick, and delicious! I used fresh steamed clams & pot liquor, as that's what I had. Added a bit of corn starch to thicken the sauce just a little. Lovely recipe! A real keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
letarr September 02, 2016

A very nice version! I like a heavier clam flavor and added a full bottle of clam juice, reduced to a sauce consistency. But you should have some good crusty bread to go with, not to waste any of the remaining flavors. Very nice recipe, Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr. D July 17, 2016

First of all I'd like to say, "WOW!". Last night was the first dinner I'd cooked for my boyfriend and it was a hit! I definitely think he will trust my cooking from here on out! I omitted some of the clam juice and used white wine instead (I needed an excuse to drink wine while I cooked!) and I used fresh parsley and fresh basil. I cannot believe how much flavor the Old Bay added to this sauce. One reviewer said they added cornstarch to their sauce to thicken it, but I don't think the sauce needs to be thickened (purely a personal choice). I left the Parmesan in a dish so people could use it if they chose to, but I found no need for it. I served this with a sourdough baguette covered in garlic and parsley butter and a Caesar salad. Will definitely be making this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 27, 2016

By far my favorite recipe. I double the recipe, use angel hair pasta, add extra red pepper flakes, old bay and an extra can of clams. Perfect, fast, easy and everyone loves it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calia Am?lie L. February 04, 2016

Honestly, giving no stars to the recipe simply because 'no Italian would EVER put cheese on a seafood dish' is not only ridiculous but a bit pompous. We aren't all Italian. My picky eating teenagers LOVE this recipe. I bought a bottle of clam juice for added moisture but that is about all I changed. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Treysa C. December 21, 2015

Linguine and clams sauce is a great meal but your recipe is off. And why you call it "old fashioned" is a mystery. There aren't any noveau pasta and clams recipes that have trended beyond the standard ingredients. And speaking of ingredients, you may be one of those Old Bay addicts, but here, it has to stay in the cupboard. The spices in Old Bay have no place in this recipe. Ground celery seed? Ginger and dry mustard? Are you joking? And save the butter for tossing into the cooked pasta. Adding it in the beginning with the EVOO is not traditional.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Walt C. November 01, 2015

The sauce came out perfectly, I made this sauce for my mom's anniversary and it was just perfect!!! I loved it and so did they!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoldenGhost August 04, 2015
Old-fashioned Linguine with White Clam Sauce