32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good. I will use more salt next time, but it was still really nice. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamamain June 20, 2010

I LOVE kettle corn, but am forced to enjoy it only once a year (when the local county fair comes to town). I never thought about making it at home, but when I searched for a recipe, I was *ecstatic* to find that Kittencal had posted her recipe (for those of you who don't know, her recipes are all 5 stars +). This is SO good! The microwave kettle corn is horrible...not crunchy or salty enough, but THIS recipe is about as close as what you can get at the county fair. THANK YOU! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ewells March 20, 2010

Really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bexxx March 13, 2010

Hot, fresh, kettle corn AT MY HOUSE anytime I want it?! Awesome!! Just made this with my stove top popper (that I have never used before) and I love it! My family is ecstatic, our mouths are happy and we have hot, fresh, kettle corn for our movie! Cheers! (does happy dance) :) **Forgot to add that to prevent the sugar from burning while the corn popped I did about about 8 turns or so of the popper handle then about 5 vigorous shakes, repeat. I don't think the stirring mechanism on the bottom of the popper is adequate enough to keep the sugar from burning. Happy Popping!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisanne :) March 07, 2010

I loved it and so did my kids. I added a little red food coloring to the sugar oil mixture to make it "pretty" for my little girls. I think the secret to not burning is to all the oil, then pop corn then just before it pops the sugar and stir stir stir!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrapbook cook December 07, 2009

I thought there was far too much sugar and too much oil for the recipe. I don't want my kettle corn sticky. With this much sugar is was closer to carmel corn than it was kettle corn. I plan to make again but only use 1/8 cup of sugar and probably less oil as well. I plan to add the sugar after a few minutes of shaking (just before the kernals pop). Mine didn't burn, but I don't want it carmelized, either.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snowpumpkin July 16, 2009

I thought about it, but there was no way I was gonna make just half of this recipe & instead doubled it for the 2 of us! This was my first trip down 'kettle-corn lane' but my other half has had it before! VERY, VERY TASTY & very much worth making again! Many thanks! [Tagged, made & reviewed in the I Recommend tag game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 23, 2009

Oh yum! I halved the recipe and it was just perfect for me while watching Fringe on TV. Thanks Kit! Made for Zaar Stars game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 February 11, 2009

wow - fabulous. No need for stove top popper. I used my non-stick wok and it was perfect. Just shook it over the flame. Also added a shake of cayenne pepper when adding salt and sugar for a little kick. Wonderful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook doc December 28, 2008
Old Fashioned Kettle Corn