Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned Kettle Corn Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Kettle Corn

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on September 01, 2010

      oh wow!! this was wonderful!! i was skeptical that i could make kettle corn as awesome as any vender at a fair...but it worked and it was awesome! thank you so much. now i can make kettle corn anytime i want! thanks for another keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      Excellent. I did as others have suggested and added the sugar & salt after the first kernels started to pop. I had no problems with burning.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      This was very good and krispy popcorn. I did have a problem with the sugar mixture on the bottom of the pan burning, which got all over most of the popcorn when I was trying to mix in some extra salt. I might try someone elses recommendation and put in the sugar mixture after it's started popping.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2014

      I made this recipe for a second time. This time I popped half the popcorn with half the sugar, salt and oil at a time. I waited for the first few curnals to pop before adding the sugar and salt mixture. I used a stove top popper and stirred it all the time. Before doing the second batch, I washed the popper out so as to get all the sticky sugar out of it prior to doing the second batch. This way, I didn't get any burnt corn and all the popcorn popped. There was also room at the top so the popcorn wasn't stuffed to the lid. It is an excellent recipe and I will do it the same way next time so I don't get any burnt corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      I LOVE this recipe!! I always put the sugar in when the other kernels start to pop and the salt is a must! I also clean the pan (I think a Whirley-Pop is the only way to go with this) if I am going to make a second batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      This is the best Kettle Corn I have had since our Craft Day at our High School!! It is wonderful to be able to make the same great flavored kettle corn here at home!! My husband and I preferred at little more salt. My Mother can't eat salt, so the original recipe was perfect for her.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      Excellent Kettle Corn Recipe! Another winner from Kittencal. Used a Theater II stove top popper. Took it off too late the second time and had some slightly burnt pieces. Better to have a few old maids than to burn it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      This was really yummy! My only complaint is that it came out too sweet for my tastes, so when I make it again I will use a bit less sugar. Mine did burn a little bit, but I guess it takes a little practice to get it just perfect. Thanks for the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      Wonderful! Delicious and easy. I had tried another recipe on the site for gooey carmel popcorn, but I prefer the crunchy version from this recipe. I put the lid on the pot to speed up the popping and my three year old loved watching the kernels pop up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      Wow! Great recipe. I only used about 1/8 c. sugar and 3 Tbs oil and it turned out perfect! I used my stove top popper and did as recommended by others and shook the pan around every 15 seconds or so to keep the sugar from burning. I also needed my heat to be at medium-high before they would start popping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Very good. I will use more salt next time, but it was still really nice. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      I LOVE kettle corn, but am forced to enjoy it only once a year (when the local county fair comes to town). I never thought about making it at home, but when I searched for a recipe, I was *ecstatic* to find that Kittencal had posted her recipe (for those of you who don't know, her recipes are all 5 stars +). This is SO good! The microwave kettle corn is horrible...not crunchy or salty enough, but THIS recipe is about as close as what you can get at the county fair. THANK YOU! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Hot, fresh, kettle corn AT MY HOUSE anytime I want it?! Awesome!! Just made this with my stove top popper (that I have never used before) and I love it! My family is ecstatic, our mouths are happy and we have hot, fresh, kettle corn for our movie! Cheers! (does happy dance) :) **Forgot to add that to prevent the sugar from burning while the corn popped I did about about 8 turns or so of the popper handle then about 5 vigorous shakes, repeat. I don't think the stirring mechanism on the bottom of the popper is adequate enough to keep the sugar from burning. Happy Popping!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      I loved it and so did my kids. I added a little red food coloring to the sugar oil mixture to make it "pretty" for my little girls. I think the secret to not burning is to all the oil, then pop corn then just before it pops the sugar and stir stir stir!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

    • on July 16, 2009

      I thought there was far too much sugar and too much oil for the recipe. I don't want my kettle corn sticky. With this much sugar is was closer to carmel corn than it was kettle corn. I plan to make again but only use 1/8 cup of sugar and probably less oil as well. I plan to add the sugar after a few minutes of shaking (just before the kernals pop). Mine didn't burn, but I don't want it carmelized, either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      I thought about it, but there was no way I was gonna make just half of this recipe & instead doubled it for the 2 of us! This was my first trip down 'kettle-corn lane' but my other half has had it before! VERY, VERY TASTY & very much worth making again! Many thanks! [Tagged, made & reviewed in the I Recommend tag game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Oh yum! I halved the recipe and it was just perfect for me while watching Fringe on TV. Thanks Kit! Made for Zaar Stars game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      wow - fabulous. No need for stove top popper. I used my non-stick wok and it was perfect. Just shook it over the flame. Also added a shake of cayenne pepper when adding salt and sugar for a little kick. Wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Kettle Corn

    Serving Size: 1 (26 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 225.0
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    72%
    Total Fat 18.1 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 16.6 g
    66%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    unpopped popcorn

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites