32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

oh wow!! this was wonderful!! i was skeptical that i could make kettle corn as awesome as any vender at a fair...but it worked and it was awesome! thank you so much. now i can make kettle corn anytime i want! thanks for another keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD September 01, 2010

Excellent. I did as others have suggested and added the sugar & salt after the first kernels started to pop. I had no problems with burning.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4sweeper August 28, 2010

This was very good and krispy popcorn. I did have a problem with the sugar mixture on the bottom of the pan burning, which got all over most of the popcorn when I was trying to mix in some extra salt. I might try someone elses recommendation and put in the sugar mixture after it's started popping.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse March 06, 2010

I made this recipe for a second time. This time I popped half the popcorn with half the sugar, salt and oil at a time. I waited for the first few curnals to pop before adding the sugar and salt mixture. I used a stove top popper and stirred it all the time. Before doing the second batch, I washed the popper out so as to get all the sticky sugar out of it prior to doing the second batch. This way, I didn't get any burnt corn and all the popcorn popped. There was also room at the top so the popcorn wasn't stuffed to the lid. It is an excellent recipe and I will do it the same way next time so I don't get any burnt corn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l.cheryl July 09, 2014

I LOVE this recipe!! I always put the sugar in when the other kernels start to pop and the salt is a must! I also clean the pan (I think a Whirley-Pop is the only way to go with this) if I am going to make a second batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy July 11, 2013

This is the best Kettle Corn I have had since our Craft Day at our High School!! It is wonderful to be able to make the same great flavored kettle corn here at home!! My husband and I preferred at little more salt. My Mother can't eat salt, so the original recipe was perfect for her.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna_J June 10, 2012

Excellent Kettle Corn Recipe! Another winner from Kittencal. Used a Theater II stove top popper. Took it off too late the second time and had some slightly burnt pieces. Better to have a few old maids than to burn it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Portugarians January 29, 2012

This was really yummy! My only complaint is that it came out too sweet for my tastes, so when I make it again I will use a bit less sugar. Mine did burn a little bit, but I guess it takes a little practice to get it just perfect. Thanks for the recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephanieNS May 22, 2011

Wonderful! Delicious and easy. I had tried another recipe on the site for gooey carmel popcorn, but I prefer the crunchy version from this recipe. I put the lid on the pot to speed up the popping and my three year old loved watching the kernels pop up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alecia Pearl March 05, 2011

Wow! Great recipe. I only used about 1/8 c. sugar and 3 Tbs oil and it turned out perfect! I used my stove top popper and did as recommended by others and shook the pan around every 15 seconds or so to keep the sugar from burning. I also needed my heat to be at medium-high before they would start popping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life August 26, 2010
Old Fashioned Kettle Corn