Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old-Fashioned Gingerbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old-Fashioned Gingerbread

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2008

      These are pretty good. Softer than my original recipe i use. My recipe is more like a gingersnap. I did like the taste of these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This is so easy to work with, delicious tasting, and perfect results -- everytime! Thanks Reelani!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This is great. The end result is so authentic because they are so thick. They make great ginger men, old fashioned and good tasting. I think next time I'll decrease the ginger a bit. Just a little strong for my taste. Dough was easy to roll, and baked up nice and even, no soft spots, although with larger cutters, more time is needed. Chill time is a must. Thanks, this one is tops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      I loved these. I added extra cinnamon and rolled them in it as well:)Will make next year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      Everything a gingerbread cookie should be- soft, cakey and fragrant. I didn't have any allspice so I used ground cloves instead and it turned out beautifully! 12/15/07- I just want to add that a year after finding this recipe on Zaar, I still LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe! It's a winner every time and makes the best gingerbread cookies! This year, I did gingerbread pigs (for good luck!). The key to this cookie is to roll out the dough thick. Beautiful cookie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      Easy to make and you can use this recipe for almost everything made of gingerbread... from cookies, over gingerbread people to a gingerbread house. This gingerbread is not overheming spicy, gingerm cinnamon and allspice are well balanced. The brown sugar and the molasses give the cookies are lovely sweet taste. The texture is fluffy, but not too dry. You will ove this cookies. The icing is very different. It makes this recipe really different. Here you have the flavours of vanilla and nutmeg, wow. The butter in here makes is a bit more creamy, wonderful. If you don't like nutmeg, you could omit it. For the first cookies I have forgotten it and the icing came out with a fantastic vanilla flavour. You should try this old-fashioned gingerbread. And sure you will find it up-to-date. A wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      Great little cookies. Made these for Halloween and used my cookie cutters. Only thing we think this needs is alittle more spice. Next time I may add some cloves or more allspice to kick it up alittle more. The dough was perfect to roll out, I had no trouble at all. Great texture to too. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old-Fashioned Gingerbread

    Serving Size: 1 (1123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4477.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1478
    33%
    Total Fat 164.2 g
    252%
    Saturated Fat 100.7 g
    503%
    Cholesterol 622.5 mg
    207%
    Sodium 2818.1 mg
    117%
    Total Carbohydrate 721.4 g
    240%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 437.0 g
    1748%
    Protein 41.9 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites